We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (311)
Filter reviews
311 results
Traveller rating
158
96
26
15
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
158
96
26
15
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small palace junior suite charming small hotel boutique hotel walking distance to the duomo double glazing staff was extremely helpful small shower enjoyed our stay breakfast buffet spent nights lounge area comfortable rooms nice room visiting milan tram theft
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 311 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2017

We stayed here for two nights at the end of october. The staff was really friendly and the offered a very good service. Some small errors occured due to the different languages (wrongly translated on the website), they immediately fixed this issue without hesitation.

The hotel itself is really beautiful, decorated with a lot of taste and eye for detail. The history of this place speaks to mind.

We would stay here again.

Footnote: be aware of theft, keep your valuables in the safe whenever you leave your room!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank HeleenD135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maddalena F, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Petit Palais, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Thank you for your review and for the praises to our staff and the hotel. Our staff is always there to help our guests and to make them feel at home.
We always suggest to our guests to keep valuables in the safe to avoid all bad problems that can accour and waist the stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017

I think this hotel is good value, but it is in need of a little freshening up. (My room could really use some paint, the sheers on the windows could use washing, the WiFi was slow…) Having said that, the staff were all lovely and very helpful; the breakfast was very ample and served in a nice room downstairs; the windows in my room were double (triple?) glazed and my room was very quiet. The bathroom was a good size. I saw in the guest book that a lot of people are repeat visitors, and that says a lot.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank artnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maddalena F, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Petit Palais, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Thank you for your review and for having in few words resumed the top point of our Petit Palais: lovely staff, ample breakfast, quiet rooms and lot or repeaters. We hope you will bevame our new repeater in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

I really wanted to love this hotel, but I just couldn't. On first appearances you enter a beautiful entrance decorated in a plush old world style, but then we had to wait a solid ten to fifteen minutes before being acknowledged by the singular check in person who was checking in another guest. That's fair enough, but then the surly attitude leaves you feeling a bit unwelcome.
Next stop was our room. Initially we thought it looked really good, but the cracks appeared quite quickly. The furnishings were once beautiful, but look really old and jaded and in need of updating. The airconditioning, despite being cranked up to the max, was insufficient even on an Autumn night. The bathroom also looked great, but then when you actually used it, it was not good. We constantly soaked the bathroom when we showered, despite being careful, and there was considerable mould on the ceiling. The front door really had us laughing. When we tried to open it from inside the room it actually split and it was necessary to hold the door together to actually open it.
Breakfast was a reasonable continental offering in the basement.
This was probably an amazing property in it's prime, but there needs to be some serious money spent on it to make it worth the price paid to stay there now.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bali-dreaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maddalena F, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Petit Palais, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Thank you for your review and it's a pity we didn't meet your expectations.
I just want to fix some points of your review:
- As you know, our hotel is a boutique hotel and as you wrote, we have one person at Front Office. Before you, there were 2 rooms checking-in, so it took the phisically time to do it. We are sorry you waited, but as in big hotels also in small ones, if there are more rooms arriving more or less together, there is to wait a little to record all datas from everyone. We cannot skip some passages to go faster due to Italian law about privacy and Italian procedure against terrorism;
- The front door can be opened easilly using the key we gave you at check-in. It's a badge and you listen to a click. You have not to turn the handle. It could be a little bit heavy, but it's because it is fire break door;
- Our breakfast is composed by: multivitamine juice, blackberry juice, fresh milk, butter, salted butter, margarine, fresh bread, fresh brioches, 2 home made cakes, home made biscuits, muffins, muessli, corn flakes, bran tablets, fresh fruit, vegetables, fresh orange juice (made for every client at the moment), 6 kind of honey, 6 kind of jam, different kind of yoghurt, actimel, yakult, 4 kind of dried fruit, different kind of seeds, salami Milano, ham, roast turkey, smoked salmon, 4 kind of Italian cheese and a la carte, without extra charge, eggs. Also drinks are a la carte.
If this is a reasonable continental breakfast. I cannot understand which is the normality for your standards;
- All furniture have been reniewed by Brera artisans and they are in line with the charme of our hotel. Perhaps they cannot meet some tastes, but you can understand it easily looking to photos during your booking.
We are always very grateful for feedbacks from our clients in order to evolve in our service deliveries.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

Avoid this hotel at all costs. Where do I start? Surly people who work here. Then we were here in October and it was warm and there was NO air conditioning. And when we asked they told us no “they could not turn it on”. So we had to open the windows and we were in the middle of the most active, noisy, sirens and ambulances all night area of town. Unbelievably bad experience. Don’t make the mistake we did. 3 really bad nights.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maddalena F, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Petit Palais, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

We are sorry that your stay by us was not within your standards, but if you rated "poor" our front desk agent only because she tried to explain you that our AC system doesn't allow to be switch on for just one/two rooms and down for all the others, there is a problem of miscommunication at the beginning. I just want also to let everyone know that this problem with AC was told to our staff only during last night of stay and not immediately at check-in or the first morning.....it was not so bad the temperature in room, if you resist two nights before asking.
At the end of your conversation with our front office, you also used the "weapon" of a bad review on Tripadvisor.People in full right ususlly doen't need to use these mean tricks to obtain something...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

This is a very well decorated and maintained old house with the most indulgent helpful and beautiful staff. Busy roads but quiet inside. Very easy 10 minute walk to the Duomo and the undergound. 10 meals in 10 different nearby restaurants were all fantastic. Don't miss Basilica Sant' Eustorgio.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank martinphillips2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maddalena F, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Petit Palais, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

First of all I would like to thank you for the preferences given at the Petit Palais Hotel de Charme and for taking the time to leave your comment regarding your stay.
It is always a great pleasure for us to read that you liked our venue and found the service professional and friendly. This represents for us the personification of passion and constancy. Please be sure that we will keep doing our utmost to make your future stay memorable.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews