We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for sleepy newlyweds”
Review of Villa Magnolia B&B

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Magnolia B&B
Ranked #110 of 273 Milan B&B and Inns
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great for sleepy newlyweds”
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Villa Magnolia was our first stop on a two-week trip and we only stayed one night, so we were definitely working through some jet lag, and this B&B was a great place to do it. First, as others have noted, Pier and Ann really are super welcoming and personable. We got in earlier than expected and spent some time kicking around the neighborhood, including at a delicious focacceria around the corner. The B&B itself is fairly small, modern, and very well kept. We stayed in the Camere Verde, which has a giant, tiled bathroom and a nice full-length mirror where one could gaze at their body in its airplane-fouled glory.

It is a short-to-medium walk to the restaurant-packed section of the Navigli neighborhood, which had a distinctly neighborhood-y (as opposed to touristy) feel. Breakfast was barebones and in-room--yogurt, coffee, tea, and packaged pastries. Tram, bus, and subway (Romolo station) options are all nearby.

Tante grazie, Pier e Anna, e alla prossima!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank booksandplants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    13
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
16
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Madison, WI
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Villa Magnolia is a delightful B&B run by Pier and Ann, who are wonderful hosts. It's been my experience that the people who run a B&B can make or break a stay, and Ann and Pier definitely enhanced my visit to Milano. They are warm, welcoming, fun to talk with, and ultra-helpful. The rooms are immaculate and comfortable. Mine faced a courtyard, and it was delightfully quiet.

One plus that Villa Magnolia has is that it is a short subway ride away from the city center in an un-touristy, but interesting neighborhood near the canal. Another asset: there's a great gelateria a few steps down the street!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SayheyMadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2011

What a great B&B! Immaculate accommodations, minutes to canal and night life area, and very convenient to public transportation. Ann & Pier were wonderful, knowledgable hosts who made the stay memorable. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcfinnian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2011

Ann and Pier's Villa Magnolia B&B has 3 wonderful, very comfortable rooms with private bathrooms. Every space is spotless and we were very impressed with the entire B&B. We did have to walk a bit but that was the joy of Milan, just experience it! You could get to any of the famous sites of Milan, and it is in the Canal district, known as "Navigli" where they had a unique market place on Sunday for us to walk through. This area offers many restaurants, galleries, gelatto stands, and shopping. Pier has extensive knowledge of everything in their city and he set up all of our reservations and fullfilled our needs. Ann was in Boston when we visited but Pier went out of his way to make you feel lke you belonged there. We had five people in our party, one Sr., and two teens, all fit into the surroundings and Pier was able to accomodate all of the needs. People above complained of the breakfasts, but we found them a lovely addition. If you didn't like it, there are tons of places to grab fantastic options right out side the doors. Pier helped us with our lunch and dinner reservations and we were not disapointed with any choices. We were there for my birthday celebration and he sent us to the most fantastic place for the dinner! Loved it! The kids loved the pizza place across the street and wanted to live there. This was one of the most enjoyable visits we have ever made and will come back! Thanks to Pier! Not just a B&B but a home away from home!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoGlobeTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2010

First and foremost, Pier is a wonderful host and a very kind person. The location is 4 train stops from the city centre (Cadorna) and a 20 minute walk from the Romolo train station. There is a tram so you don't have to walk.

We booked and put a deposit on the verde room 6 months in advance but was given the red room. (hand held shower) i never got my questions answered as to why the switch, even though the red room was more money and we were not charged any more money. I'm still not convinced that the verde room would have been as noisy as the red room. It was only for one night, so we just never pursued the issue.

We were very disappointed in the breakfast. They claim they are a B&B, but the breakfast consisted of 4 pre packaged unhealthy pastries with juice (20% juice) and water in the fridge with some yogurt. There was also pre packaged dried toast that would expire at the end of the month. The room had a coffee machine and hot water maker for tea. This may be fine for some people, but for our basic standards, it was disappointing.

Not necessarily the most convenient location for quick access to the center of the city.

They are a smoke free property!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bklynguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Plus Welcome Milano
#304 of 427 in Milan
2 reviews
Hotel Mercurio
#366 of 427 in Milan
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
IH Hotels Milano Watt 13
#201 of 427 in Milan
746 reviews
Navigli
Art Hotel Navigli
Art Hotel Navigli
#85 of 427 in Milan
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Magnolia B&B? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Magnolia B&B

Property: Villa Magnolia B&B
Address: Via Ambrogio Binda 32, 20143 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 273 B&Bs / Inns in Milan
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,785 - ₹ 16,585
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Magnolia Bed and Breakfast is a typical villa built in the early 1900's and completely renovated, situated in the characteristic "Navigli" district of Milan known for its canals. The structure offers its guests three elegant and comfortable rooms each with private bathroom, hairdryer, mini-fridge, air-conditioning, satellite TV and free wireless internet connection. For comfort and privacy, breakfast is eaten directly in the room. 24 Hr access to the property is made possible through special electronic locks. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing