We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
Chiesa di San Maurizio al Monastero Maggiore
Book In Advance
US$ 65.15*
and up
Milan Renaissance Treasures and The Last Supper
Ranked #2 of 689 things to do in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Cinisello Balsamo, Italy
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Delight!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

I have discovered this incredible church more than 35 years ago, at that time was not in excellent condition and the paints needs a deeply restore. Now, after an huge restore work and thanks to all private contribution we can see in all their shining most wall painting attributed to Luini and other painter of his school. In the chorus area there is an impressive pipe organ and if you are lucky may be someone play on it. If you visit Milan you MUST go here.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mauro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,666 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,280
    339
    37
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Korneuburg, Austria
Level Contributor
62 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“beautifully frescoed church next to the Museo Archeologico”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

It is prominently located along the Corso Magenta 15 and located right next to the Museo Archeologico. It is worth a visit because of its beautifully frescoed interior.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank MissSharpMouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic gem of central Milano”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

Do yourself a favor, get into this church on your way from "The Last Supper" to Duomo. You will not regret for sure. Amazing 16th century frescoes.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank DenysM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
149 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Magenta "street" is great for a stroll--this 16th century building, shops, patisseries, cafes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Truthfully, we did not seek this church out specifically, but we wandered in due to the freezing temperatures and a desire to get out of the cold. We had been told that a stroll down Via Magenta or Corso Magenta provides a good cross section of Milan as there is such a variety of buildings and use of buildings in this area. It is a few blocks from San Maria d'Grazie (Leonardo's Last Supper), and in between is the oldest pastry shop/cafe in Milan, as well as art galleries, shops, cafes, bars, apartments and more. This church is being restored and they have learned that it was built for the wealthy, with paintings incorporating great amounts of gold leaf, and very colorful frescoes. There was no charge to enter the church and after we had explored the convent hall in back of the altar, we felt very lucky to have stumbled in on a lark.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank ChautauquaNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tianjin, China
Level Contributor
109 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Good stop on the walk from Duomo to Leonardo's Last Supper”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012 via mobile

I personally have very little experience with discerning the quality of old works of art, and normally avoid visiting too many churches when playing tourist.

That said, I accidentally discovered Chiesa di San Maurizio while strolling around the city, and was immediately impressed by the quality of the frescos. Learning afterwards that they are more than 450 years old, I was amazed at the preservation.

As entrance is free, it is more than worth a visit on the way to see Leonardo's Last Supper.

Helpful?
3 Thank Gotopinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chiesa di San Maurizio al Monastero Maggiore also viewed

 

Been to Chiesa di San Maurizio al Monastero Maggiore? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing