We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Cool, modern, noisy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel STRAF

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel STRAF
Ranked #99 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Brasil
Level Contributor
75 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Cool, modern, noisy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

Very comfortable bed, beautiful modern room. Good breakfast too. I did not like the black bathroom and the noise that comes from the hotel bar. Would stay there again, but not in the first floor.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franbrasilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

751 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    319
    111
    33
    31
See reviews for
97
295
45
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

You either hate it or love it. It is a boutique hotel and personally, i really like it. I had a wonderfull stay at this hotel. Stayed here for 3 nights with my boyfriend.

Location: Excellent!
Hotel service: Excellent! (i think the guy who served us at the hotel reception named Fabian, he is very kind. He gave us directions of where to go for foods, shoppings and attractions)
Breakfast: It's OK

Overall, I had a wonderful stay at this hotel. I highly recommend this hotel to everyone whos looking to stay in central of milan (Piazza del Duomo).

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissMichelleW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrafHD, Direttore at Hotel STRAF, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Dear MissMichellW,

thank you very much for the lovely suggestion left, thanks to the top resume "You either hate it or love it", it makes my life easier and I strongly agree with that opinion.

Thank you once more and hopefully you will introduce yourself next time.

Best regards

Max Ferrara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

I've booked this hotel using the designhotels.com site. This together with trip advisor reviews I was pretty confident it would be a pleasant stay. The staff is rude and challenged to speak english. the room was not very clean, and the backyard was...just terrible. When requested a pressing table, was not available and even though initially concierge mentioned the ironing was complementary, in fact they presented a bill. The Wi-Fi internet only works if the door of the room is open, so it was like a big hostel. Everything for 780€ for 3 nights. Never again! Terrible

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rui C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrafHD, Direttore at Hotel STRAF, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Dear Rui C.,

I appreciated your observations and advice and assure you I will make good use of them.

I am therefore most grateful to you for your time and interest.

Best Regards

Max Ferrara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
72 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

Hotel has a great location, but thats it..... is very expensive for the quality of service that provides: the staff is not very nice, the room is not very clean, poor view to a backyard under construction, the free wifi in the room is only possible with open door to the corridor because of the loss of signal..... Also there's no iron in the room, and the concierge told us that ironing was complementary provided by housekeeping, but for our surprise we ended up paying 48eur for 6 shirts.... quite frankly i'm surprised it is a member of design hotels.....

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrafHD, Direttore at Hotel STRAF, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Dear Daniel I.,

I would like to express my sincerest thanks for the observations you have left on Tripadvisor regarding services and experiences at our hotel.

I am quite sure it has been a misunderstood, since the staff and the standards procedure are well built to satisfy different guest's needs.

I would like to point out that had notified me of your complaints during your stay, I would have been able to intervene at once to find the best solution.

I hope that I will be able to thank you in person for the trouble you took to write tto us and assure you that, if you give us the chance, in the future I will personally see to doing all I can to make amends.

Best regards

Max Ferrara
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

Staying at the Straf is amazing. If its within your budget, do it. I could never afford this place, but luckily my bff has a lot of miles. You can literally throw a rock at the Duomo and Galleria from the hotel.. its in the heart of everything. Not to mention beautiful to look at. Its like staying at the museum of modern art. Complimentary morning breakfasts: awesome. Added plus, the hotel bar is always packed full in very interesting looking people. Great for people watching. When i die i want to be cremated and have my ashes sprinkled all over this place.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HotelLover731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrafHD, Direttore at Hotel STRAF, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Dear Chnkylvr Traveller,

thank you very much for such an observation, we feel very proud about your gratitude.

We hope to meeting you once again, we remain

Best regards

Max Ferrara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#11 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Centro Storico
Starhotels Rosa Grand
Starhotels Rosa Grand
#48 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,558 reviews
Centro Storico
Sina De La Ville
Sina De La Ville
#138 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Sina The Gray
Sina The Gray
#203 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 430 in Milan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Centro Storico
Hotel Spadari al Duomo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel STRAF? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel STRAF

Property: Hotel STRAF
Address: Via San Raffaele 3, 20121 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#81 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#82 Business Hotel in Milan
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,269 - ₹ 23,855
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel STRAF 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel STRAF is located only few steps from the Duomo cathedral, the fashionable Via Montenapoleone and La Scala Theatre. An inspired fusion of Italian fashion, original design and elegance, the STRAF combines minimalist design and classic Italian architecture. The 64 rooms and suites blend design and functionality, maximising comfort. Those seeking a stylish, urban hangout will enjoy the unconventional atmosphere of the STRAF Bar and the cool service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel STRAF reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Straf Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing