We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Pleasant stay in Milan” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Lancaster

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Lancaster
Ranked #20 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay in Milan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

We had a very good stay at Hotel Lancaster over 3 days. The 4th floor room was quiet, clean with an excellent bathroom. For breakfast there is a great choice of food and the staff are happy to give you a second capuccino. It is easy to walk to most areas or jump on the number 1 tram which goes everywhere you may want to visit. Good for the price. Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adamb99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

719 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    285
    32
    7
    1
See reviews for
104
366
49
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

location: This hotel is outside the main City centre, but we walked to and from the centre without any problems. Takes 15-20 mins to walk. Threr are plenty of trams that can take you into town ( but then you miss out of seeing some nice shops and eat gelati on the way). The train station cadorna ( with direct trains to Malpensa) is ca 900 m away, also walkable. I felt safe walking to e hotel at night (walked with my boyfriend, but saw many young women walking on their own, which indicates to me thst it is a safe area).

Hotel: its clean, the room we had was large compared to other rooms we have stayed in. Our room (425) had a balcony. Our room had a fridge and a couch ( nice to know). The breakfast was ok, cereal, breadrolls, sweet stuff (cakes). The service was great too. Smiling and welcoming staff.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MSBNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

The title says it all: this is the hotel to remember in Europe. It conveys the atmosphere of a grand hotel of yesteryear, but with modern upkeep and impeccable cleanliness. We took a superior room; the size of the bathroom alone was larger than the size of many hotel rooms in Europe. The bed was extra comfortable, the linens were crispy fresh, and the room decor was most conducive towards rest and relaxation. Breakfast was plentiful, and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The only potential downside is the location: the hotel is not in the historical center of the city, but this is really not a big issue, as there are two different tram lines in both directions from the hotel. For us, the room size, the comfort and the appearance of the Lancaster has by far compensated for the extra 15 minutes one must spend to get into the historical center of Milan.

Room Tip: Superior rooms include free WiFi internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kutya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

We travelled to Milan to celebrate our 4th wedding anniversary . Having researched hotels we decided on the Lancaster for our vacation. Our only concern was that the cost seemed crazy cheap for such a well rated hotel. However, our expectations were not only met they were often exceeded by the superb team of people running this hotel.

The welcome at check in was first class and we were given all the information that Milan " first timers" would need without asking. Our room was small but perfectly formed and most importantly spotlessly clean . Over the course of our stay we took regular advantage of the excellent 24 hour bar and aperitivo.

The hotel is situated in a lovely residential area with an excellent selection of restaurants and bars nearby. The recommendations given by the hotel staff were always good. I would recommend bar 442 for any football fans and beer lovers.

I note other guests have posted that the distance from the centre was a bit an issue. Personally, we felt it was ideally situated in a safe and attractive area of the City and away from the main tourist haunts giving us a better Milano experience. The walk to centre is a lovely stroll in the good weather we enjoyed during our stay.

Our chosen international hotel brand is normally Ritz Carlton who always excel at delivering first class service through great people. Well, The Lancaster team delivered the same experience for us and made our visit very special.

Andy and Pam . Edinburgh, Scotland

H

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Malta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

I visited this hotel in 2011 with a group of friends for a holiday; it's a great hotel with really helpful staff; it is clean and well kept; the only negative thing I can comment upon is that it is quite a walk from the centre (20mins) but you can get a tram from a station nearby.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Milan Suite Hotel
#24 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#14 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,025 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Biocity Hotel
Biocity Hotel
#25 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navigli
Residence & Hotel Aramis Milan Downtown
Grand Visconti Palace
#33 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,634 reviews
Enterprise Hotel
#30 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lancaster

Property: Hotel Lancaster
Address: Via Abbondio Sangiorgio 16, 20145 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#23 Best Value Hotel in Milan
#28 Family Hotel in Milan
#31 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#47 Business Hotel in Milan
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,184 - ₹ 13,642
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lancaster 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing