We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best hotel experiences in Europe”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lancaster Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lancaster Hotel
Ranked #20 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“One of the best hotel experiences in Europe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

The title says it all: this is the hotel to remember in Europe. It conveys the atmosphere of a grand hotel of yesteryear, but with modern upkeep and impeccable cleanliness. We took a superior room; the size of the bathroom alone was larger than the size of many hotel rooms in Europe. The bed was extra comfortable, the linens were crispy fresh, and the room decor was most conducive towards rest and relaxation. Breakfast was plentiful, and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The only potential downside is the location: the hotel is not in the historical center of the city, but this is really not a big issue, as there are two different tram lines in both directions from the hotel. For us, the room size, the comfort and the appearance of the Lancaster has by far compensated for the extra 15 minutes one must spend to get into the historical center of Milan.

Room Tip: Superior rooms include free WiFi internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kutya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    303
    33
    7
    2
See reviews for
112
392
53
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

We travelled to Milan to celebrate our 4th wedding anniversary . Having researched hotels we decided on the Lancaster for our vacation. Our only concern was that the cost seemed crazy cheap for such a well rated hotel. However, our expectations were not only met they were often exceeded by the superb team of people running this hotel.

The welcome at check in was first class and we were given all the information that Milan " first timers" would need without asking. Our room was small but perfectly formed and most importantly spotlessly clean . Over the course of our stay we took regular advantage of the excellent 24 hour bar and aperitivo.

The hotel is situated in a lovely residential area with an excellent selection of restaurants and bars nearby. The recommendations given by the hotel staff were always good. I would recommend bar 442 for any football fans and beer lovers.

I note other guests have posted that the distance from the centre was a bit an issue. Personally, we felt it was ideally situated in a safe and attractive area of the City and away from the main tourist haunts giving us a better Milano experience. The walk to centre is a lovely stroll in the good weather we enjoyed during our stay.

Our chosen international hotel brand is normally Ritz Carlton who always excel at delivering first class service through great people. Well, The Lancaster team delivered the same experience for us and made our visit very special.

Andy and Pam . Edinburgh, Scotland

H

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Malta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

I visited this hotel in 2011 with a group of friends for a holiday; it's a great hotel with really helpful staff; it is clean and well kept; the only negative thing I can comment upon is that it is quite a walk from the centre (20mins) but you can get a tram from a station nearby.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
95 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

We booked this hotel on the strength of other TA reviews and were not disappointed. Very nice, well appointed bedroom and an even better marble bathroom with a good shower, bidet and double sink. All spotlessly clean throughout. Buffet breakfast with loads to choose from. Staff helpful, pleasant and quielty efficient. Hotel is in quiet part of town near the Peace Arch, a 15/20 minute walk to the station & metro but close to tram routes (1&19). Good selection of non touristy restaurants nearby. Recommended place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulww99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012 via mobile

Can confirm what all the other reviews for this hotel say. Nice room which is ultra clean, very friendly and helpful staff, nice breakfast with lovely coffee and in a great location.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Donncha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#13 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,204 reviews
Milan Suite Hotel
#24 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Grand Visconti Palace
#33 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Biocity Hotel
Biocity Hotel
#25 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Navigli
Residence & Hotel Aramis Milan Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Hotel

Property: Lancaster Hotel
Address: Via Abbondio Sangiorgio 16, 20145 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Milan
#31 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#47 Business Hotel in Milan
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,818 - ₹ 14,350
Hotel Class:3 star — Lancaster Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lancaster Hotel offers 30 quiet rooms, decorated in a classic-contemporary style and equipped with all amenities and services: fast and free Wi-Fi, air conditioning with temperature control, LCD TV with a wide selection of domestic and foreign channels, mini bar and safe. In the common areas, guests have a reception and lounge bar (open 24/7), lobby and breakfast room. Near the hotel there are affiliated guarded parking and a large choice of clubs, bars and restaurants. The strategic location, the family atmosphere, environments with attention to details and a professional and courteous staff make it one of the best 3-star hotels in downtown Milan. The Lancaster Hotel is located between the convention center MiCo, the exhibition center Fieramilanocity and the residential area of Sempione Park, just a few steps from the Arch of Peace, in a central location but at the same time very quiet, from where you can easily reach the main attractions of Milan. The Triennale, the Sforza Castle, the Duomo, Piazza della Scala, Brera and other points of interest can be reached on foot in a few minutes, by a pleasant walk through the park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lancaster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing