We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very central -- pleasantly surprised!”
Review of Gran Duca di York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gran Duca di York
Ranked #9 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and had a pleasant experience! Beds were comfortable, bathroom was spacious. Couldn't believe how close it was to everything -- we walked everywhere (chocolate shops, Laduree, Peck, and other sweet treats-- all of this just a block away)! Loved the bathroom amenities and the mini bar and the front desk was always so helpful (with our bags, questions about train stations/airport transportation, restaurant recommendations). The breakfast spread was pretty decent too- I enjoyed the granola and yogurt selections, fruits, and pastries. Husband loved the eggs, bacon and sausage. Made to order cappuccino and hot chocolate. No view from our window (room 301) but at least we got a lot of light. Aperitivo places are a little pricy but that's because we're so close to the Duomo. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ememef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

896 - 900 of 1,400 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2012

Moderate size hotel several blocks from Duomo. Nicely furnished, comfortable, very helpful staff. Relatively quiet, primarily independent travelers, peaceful vib. Recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dickanddoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Great spot a couple of blocks from Duomo, and easy to find. The staff were always helpful and pleasant. Breakfast had plenty of choices including good fresh pastries. Corner room offered excellent light and there were no street noise issues. Highly recommended, value for money. Not a five star hotel, but it does not pretend to be.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Phil_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We were in Milan for one night - so we wanted something close to the Duomo, metro and shops. For this, the hotel was perfect. We stayed in a room with its own verandah / balcony at the front of the hotel. This meant there was a little street noise but nothing that would keep a light sleeper awake. Our room was large and clean. We had issues with the hot water at first but a call to front desk saw this resolved within 10 minutes - great service. The breakfast in the morning was excellent - one could not fault it. Front desk staff were helpful in arranging taxis and for giving advice about the local area. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myles_Darryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Gran Duca di York for one night last weekend. I'd been to Milan before and did not particularly enjoy it. I found it expensive and overrated. This trip changed my opinion of the city and the starting point was our night at the Gran Duca. It is a simple clean and relaxing hotel to stay in. No fuss and glamour just nice, clean, quiet and functional, and close to all that Milan has to offer. The staff were exceptionally friendly and Marco, who doubles as a porter/barman was delightfully pleasant and made our stay there. We arrived late in the evening and wanted to head out to sample the delights of Milan as we were heading to Como the next day, We stopped for a drink at the bar before heading out and spent a pleasant hour with Marco. Frankly I could've stayed there all night. If you need any advice on where to go for food (and where to avoid) ask Matteo. He provided us with a map and recommendations and they were spot on. The first time I went to Milan I was charged 30 euros for one beer and a martini and lemonade (in 2003)! This time my girlfriend and I had a lovely meal and some wine for an additional 10 euros. This is a lovely hotel - sImple, clean, quiet and close to the amenities of Milan. Book a room with a balcony.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony. Essential for a morning in Milan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tomas1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
Hotel Spadari al Duomo
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 428 in Milan
724 reviews
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#13 of 428 in Milan
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Santa Marta Suites
Santa Marta Suites
#25 of 428 in Milan
332 reviews
Centro Storico
Park Hyatt Milan
Park Hyatt Milan
#5 of 428 in Milan
1,744 reviews
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Duca di York? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Duca di York

Address: Via Moneta 1, 20123 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Milan
#7 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#10 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range: ₹ 12,937 - ₹ 19,520 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gran Duca di York 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Gran Duca di York is a little charming hotel in Milan.An establishment set in an 19th century historic palace .It is located in a very quiet street just few steps from the city center.The Atmosphere is very relaxing and the lobby is decorated with a collection of authentic frescoes.33 guest rooms completely renovated with free Wi.Fi.connection and free water and soft drinks in the room minibar.The daily rates always include buffet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gran Duca di York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Duca Di York Hotel Milan
Gran Duca Di York Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing