We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good value, with clean rooms and a great continental breakfast.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Corte del Naviglio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Corte del Naviglio
Ranked #195 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Belfast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good value, with clean rooms and a great continental breakfast.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2009

Corte del Naviglio is in a working-class area relatively far away from the main points of interest for a tourist. Taking the quaintly bone-shaking linea 2 into the city centre from the terminus next to the hotel costs only €1, but we had to buy the tickets from the local tobacconist’s, which doubled as a bookie’s. The clients left me a little uncomfortable, not least because I was never sure whether they were queuing before me or waiting for a match to end, and the staff there were not always as friendly as those at the hotel itself. However, as Italian public transport operates the continental system of buying a blank ticket and validating it by “clocking on” at the time of use, there is nothing to stop you buying your tickets in bulk, and most tobacconists seem to do them.

While the area is not particularly appealing, the local restaurants are not cheap either (many of them were in any case closed during our stay in August). We found that the cover charges for bread etc. provided at the time food was ordered combined with overpriced soft drinks to make eating out an expensive business. Coperta charges are technically illegal, since they are for something that has not been requested, but we were reluctant to argue the toss. The Italians were generally very friendly, although not the best linguists. They clearly had a particular love of children, and the dishes on offer in restaurants were always good.

The hotel's own restaurant was closed when we were there, but there is a covered picnic area by the fish pond where you can eat your own food. One day we actually went to McDonald’s to save cash. On another occasion, we went to the unglamorous university refectory (mensa), which provided one of the best and cheapest meals we had during our stay. We are in our late 30s and arrived with a toddler, but there were no questions asked about our student status. Apart from the ubiquitous takeaway pizza, which most of the restaurants seem to do, buying one of your meals each day at a local mini- or supermarket is a good way of saving money; the local SMA is also well worth visiting if you have an interest in Italian cuisine. Even the table wine sold in cartons was good compared with much of what passes for wine at home. The connoisseurs among you may wish to pack a bottle-opener.

If you are staying in the hotel during the warmer months of peak season, to avoid raiding the mini-bar you will need to go to the supermarket to buy water. We went through about 1.5 litres each a day. It was very hot during our stay at the end of August and beginning of September, and the air conditioning system was never quite the match of the weather. Another point to remember is that the nearby canal means midges in the evening, and they do bite.

The room we were in was clean and well serviced, and we had no complaints about the all-you-can-eat breakfast buffet that the hotel provided. In layout it was more akin to a motel, with the rooms freely accessible from the street. Despite the proximity of the main road, ours was not noisy, but on one occasion my wife did have a man open the door to our room, apparently because he was looking for the next-door hotel reception. Our suspicions were raised when he asked her in the same breath if she had a husband! It is a good idea to remember the door chain.

Although not one’s typical idea of a four-star hotel, Corte del Naviglio provided good value, with clean rooms and a great continental breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScotsAnorak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    157
    83
    31
    22
See reviews for
46
139
9
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2008

The hotel was described as being close to the fashionable Navigli canal district, but in fact it was in a low working class area and a good tram ride to the canal district. The hotel staff were rude and unehelpful, the breakfast was horrendous consisting of tinned fruit, packet toast, instant coffee and was served in a room like a cave with no windows and cold and damp. The garden was so overgrown and scruffy, The restaurant and bar are closed on Sundays and there is nowhere else to get food or drink either. The rooms were clean though, but that is the only good thing. The traffic noise is terrible and you are overlooked by tower blocks of poor housing and building sites.

  • Liked — Rooms were clean and comfortable, but awful view
  • Disliked — The location was terrible, and the staff were very rude.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Travelbuddy310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Milan hotels

Manchester
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2008

More like a motel than a hotel. I dont understand why this hotel has 4 stars - it would be hard pushed to get one star. The area is very run down and didnt feel safe. Its on the main road so constant traffic noise kept us awake all night. The hotel is not close to the Navigli canal area but a tram ride away. The gardens are completely overgrown and rubbish strewn. Staff rude and unhelpful. Breakfast consists of packet toast, diluted orange juice and tinned fruit. Restaurant and bar closed Sundays. The only saving grace is that the room was very clean but basic. I wouldnt recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Liked — clean sheets on the bed
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnJowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PARMA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2008

I went in Milan for the fair BIT and I thought the city was fully booked.. It was not and the rate I found of 70 euro was very good for a 4****..
When I arrived at the hotel I was surprised since it'a a very particular structure with garden, fountains and very big fishes inside... It seemed to be in the countryside and not in Milan!
The room was ok.. a little old.. the breakfast very good and the location is ok even if it's not really in the Navigli area but 5 Km far circa.. Well, the Naviglio river is just in front of you, but the area around it's not so nice.. anyway in 5 minutes by bus or car you are in the famous hot spot of Milan full of bars and pubs...
Good choiche after all!

  • Liked — lovation
  • Disliked — it's no really a 4 star..
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ANDREA A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kilsyth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2007

i stayed at this hotel in march 2007 . It was part of a football trip planned by a friend so I wasnt involved in the planning of the trip or I may have went about it differntly .

The first thjing to note is that we arrived at " Milan" Malpensa airport which is about 35km from Milan . There is a good train service from the airport to Milan centre for about 10 euro but we had to get a taxi for the return flight due to the times which cost around 80 euro and the driver thought he was Mario andretti . There is another airport much closer to the city

I thought the hotel was very comfortable and quite unusually styled which made it quite attarctive once you were in the grounds . The rooms were basic but clean , there was a nice restraunt and the staff couldnt be more friendly or helpful but some of them struggled a bit with english ( maybe it was my strong scottish accent ) . I dont think this hotel could be rated as 4 star .

The only problem with the hotel was the location it was about 6km from the city centre which cost a bit if you were having to travel back by taxi late at night . There is a very cheap bus service running past hotel and also a tram service just along the road .
The nearest subway staion was about a 15minute walk or you could get the bus up to near by .

In terms of places , Milan is not a place i would hurry back to . Its a bustling busy place with horrendous traffic . Other than the area around Duomo and the designer shops , i thought the place looked grimy and run down , it probably didnt help that it was pissing down rain for the whole of my visit however most of my group , many of whom are not known for their architectural appreciation made similar comments which was very unusual The subway system in Milan was excellent and you could travel all round the city for a 2 euro a trip . The lasting memeory I have of the whole trip were the taxi journies paricularly the trip to the airport , there are very few white knuckle rides I have been on that could come close for thrills

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gazzac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
1.2 km away
IH Hotels Milano Watt 13
IH Hotels Milano Watt 13
#206 of 431 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
1.7 km away
iH Hotels Milano Lorenteggio
2.6 km away
Antares Hotel Rubens
Antares Hotel Rubens
#39 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Hotel Vittoria
Hotel Vittoria
#190 of 431 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
1.8 km away
Des Etrangers
Des Etrangers
#199 of 431 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
2.2 km away
Green House Hotel
Green House Hotel
#313 of 431 in Milan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corte del Naviglio? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corte del Naviglio

Property: Corte del Naviglio
Address: Via Lodovico il Moro, 117, 20143 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#132 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,875 - ₹ 17,462
Hotel Class:4 star — Corte del Naviglio 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Corte del Naviglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corte Del Naviglio Milan
Corte Del Naviglio Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing