We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,241)
Filter reviews
7,241 results
Traveller rating
4,930
1,890
304
79
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,930
1,890
304
79
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews central station rubber duck carrot juice the main hotel mini bar free soft drinks breakfast buffet excellent hotel free wifi room temperature milano centrale superior room minute walk tea and coffee single room malpensa airport lake como
Filter
Updating list...
326 - 331 of 7,241 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2017

this is a great hotel in top location everything was excellent room, buffet breakfast outstanding. Staff first class and very well priced. Location is very close to Railway station. and the Airport bus cheap 5 euro's goes straight to Station front gate hotel easy to find with luggage. No extra costs to get around. Milan very big place to move around so this has underground rail 50 metres away. Hotel provides plenty of information to move around. Free drinks in the bar fridge a nice touch.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank nbrown99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

Stayed here for 3 nights in August. Package, booked on the hotel's website, included parking - always a bonus in large cities. Parking is provided in a garage opposite the hotel and staff always valet park your car. Recommend booking directly through the hotel's website as there are often better packages and cheaper rates.

On this occasion we had a reasonably sized room on the third floor looking out onto other buildings but this was Ok as we were hardly in the room. Room had a queen sized bed with bedside tables, a wardrobe with reasonably sized safe, a desk with chair, TV and bar fridge with free soft drinks and two good alcoves under the windows to store bags.

Bathroom was a reasonable size with a stand alone shower. The shower pressure was good.

Room and bathroom were very clean and the free WIFI was excellent.

Breakfast was a very large, but mainly cold, buffet of cereals, quiche, meats, cheeses, vegetables, pastries, fruit, yoghurt, juices, tea and coffee. There was generally 2 hot dishes being scrambled eggs and frankfurts/sausages. Some additional hot dishes or a change in variety would definitely enhance, what is already a very good, breakfast experience.

Free tea, coffee and biscuits along with a couple of computers and newspapers are available in the comfortable lounge area on the ground floor. They also have a very good aperitivi in the bar in the evenings.

We have always found the staff on the front desk, at breakfast and in the bar to be very friendly and helpful and this visit was no exception.

One of the features that attracts us to the Berna is its closeness to the metro, with the entrance to the metro about 150 metres away at the end of the street. The Duomo is only 4 metro stations away. It is also only about 400 metres away from Milan Central Railway Station. The surrounding area also continues to improve in appearance.

Would absolutely stay again as it is a very good value for money stay.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fontana-GM, Direttore generale at Hotel Berna, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Dear westy54,

Thank you very much for having stayed again at Hotel Berna and for having spent part of your precious time writing a review. We understand you are an experienced traveller with high expectations.

We enjoyed to read your detailed feedback. You are definitely a careful observer, who also in the flaw find a rationale and objective explanation.

We are very grateful for your appreciations on our hospitality and customer service. This means really a lot to us.

Waiting for your next visit.

Best regards,
Carlo Fontana GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

This hotel is 5-8 minutes away from the train station and buses to the airport, although pretty far from the tourist center of Milan. As soon as we booked it, they asked us what room temperature we want on our arrival, which is a nice gesture. Unfortunately, when we came, the temperature was much higher because they do not run A/C in September. It was very warm September, and the room temperature was too high. They have a ceiling fan, but it's in the opposite to the bed part of the room. Every day they were giving us free water and pop. Breakfast was excellent, with some items the same every day, and some changing daily.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ysiNovi_Mi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fontana-GM, Direttore generale at Hotel Berna, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear ysiNovi_Mi,

Thank you very much for your precious feedback: we really care about the opinions of all our guests, positive and negative, and will always try to improve from feedbacks such as yours.

Actually, during the lasts weeks the city of Milan has experienced a very unusual and unpredictable climate for our latitude, with temperatures almost always over the seasonal averages. At the beginning of September, the Major of Milan had given the authorization to start the central heating to the whole city. Following this authorization, all hotels in Milan decided to turn off the air-conditioning unit.

Being our priority to make the experience of our valued guests the most positive possible, we are really sorry for this uncommon situation. As your feedback is anonymous, we are not able to retrieve any record about your discomfort: if informed, the reception desk staff would have offered you our assistance putting a portable air-conditioner, which can mitigate the room temperature.

However, we are happy you could enjoy our convenient location, our reach breakfast buffet and our free amenities.

Hoping you will allow us the opportunity to delight you in the future.

Best regards
Carlo Fontana GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile


Christ hotel. Great location next to central station. Clean room great staff. Complementary buffet each night. Spacious room. Would recommend s this hotel. Close to shopping and walking to exhibits. Staff were very helpful. Rooms are all upgraded and modern.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dennis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fontana-GM, Direttore generale at Hotel Berna, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Dennis L,

We thank you very much for your beautiful review: your opinion is very important to us and it’s also a source of inspiration!

Hoping to welcome you very soon again in Hotel Berna.

Best regards.
Carlo Fontana GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

A little dated but this pales into insignificance when all other benefits are taken into consideration. Stayed at Berna twice during September - first stay one night, second stay five nights. Firstly, the hotel is extremely well positioned for the Milan Central Rail Station and Metro. On both occasions the reception staff and doormen could not have been more helpful. The rooms are clean, quiet and comfortable, the Wifi strong, breakfast gives a huge array of choices and the staff helpful and friendly. Max, the barman goes above and beyond to help with nearby restaurant choices and advice. It is a pity not all European hotels can compare with Hotel Berna.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveljanice47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews