We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
NH Milano Grand Hotel Verdi
Ranked #73 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I stayed at this hotel during Easter for a week and enjoyed my stay there. The hotel is in good location with around 10-15 minutes walking distance to 2 metro stations (Gioia and Repubblica) and 1 major train/metro station (Porta Garibaldi - Malpensa Express direct to/from airport) which make access to centre and Malpensa Airport very easy.

The room is clean and large with good bedding. The breakfast is inclusive and with good variety. However, there is no kettle for hot water in the standard room which is very unusual given this is a four stars hotel. It means whenever you need hot water then you will need to purchase it from the bar on ground floor. I believe self making facilities for basic tea and coffee should be provided inside the room or at least with a kettle !

Overall, the hotel is good with good location, interior layout and modern. There is also a small gym on first floor which I used it daily before breakfast. Internet at charges and expensive but the hotel provide free wi-fi access for 30 minutes each day in the lobby area.

The surrounding area of the hotel is very quite, safe and clean and there are two streets nearby with good variety of local restaurants which are the "Via Solferino - for dining" and "Coso Como - for bar/clubs" within 10 mins walking.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HKTraveller2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,061)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

234 - 238 of 1,061 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2012

I am staying in this hotel almost on every trip to Milano. The reason is that i like the area very much, and it has really big rooms. Another important fact is that you can always find a parking place in the area.
During my last trip with my wife, i noted that it has been recently renovated, and I was really curious to see the hotel's new face. To be honest, no major renovation has be made since my last trip, except from the rooms, where the beds are new and some decoration has gone. I really love the fact that the rooms are very spacious, (specially in Milano this is a must when you plan to go for shopping and you need enough room for your new clothes :) Two negative things. First beware of the noise, especially in the lower floors, since the street is really noisy during day time, and the second thing that I have to mention regards the breakfast. I really enjoyed breakfast buffet on the hotel during my previous visits, since it offered a great variety of food. I must say that this time I was disappointed because the buffet was much smaller, with less variety in comparison with other years. Nevertheless i still consider it a good hotel and i will definetely go back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mickeytzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Other than Luca at the front desk and one or two of the female staff members, the people were not very welcoming. The breakfast was nice each day with a variety of juices, breads, eggs, etc. Then there was the day we came in a half hour before the end, sat at a table, I reached for the linen napkin and the waiter yanked it out of my hands to replace it with a paper one. Apparently, that table had already been set for lunch!

The rooms all face a very busy street because the hotel is narrow. If you are a light sleeper at all, like I am, this is not good. Even with ear plugs and the windows closed, it is very noisy.

The internet was high-speed wi-fi and worked well, if expensive (18E for 24 hours). Because I work virtually when I travel with my husband for his job, this is very important, so it was nice to find it reliable.

The hotel is a mile or so from the train station, but I wouldn't recommend the walk with luggage. It is maybe a quarter mile from the Metro, which is as easy to use as the one in Washington, DC. The hotel is close to restaurants, although we mostly chose to walk the mile and half into the city center and eat in that area.

The room had nice bath amenities and a nice shower. It was clean.

The hotel restaurant is very expensive. I was the only one having lunch there one day, had a caprese salad, bowl of soup and water and it was 26E. Yikes.

So, all in, it won't be my top choice on a return trip to Milan, but neither would it be awful to have to stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MurryG08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We stayed at the Grand Hotel Verdi for 4 days.

Location: excellent for Centrale, convenient for Cadorna, within the walking distance to Brera and a short taxi ride to the centre. Also this is not a tourist area so all restaurants and cafes near via Como or Garibaldi are frequented by the locals which gives a great feel to the area.

Room: go for the superior room as it is decorated in a better style than a standard. It was great to have a sitting area as well as the dining area. Certain things in the room did not work: i.e. lamps - we reported to the Reception and everything was repaired within a day. Sheets and towels were of a very good quality and changed daily. I would have wished the floor was mopped with a wet cloth but instead it was just "dusted" with a dry mop. Our room was on the street side and it wasn't noisy at all. The air conditioning worked well.

Breakfast: very good.

Coffee: very good.

Professionalist of the staff: very good.

Bathroom: clean with excellent supplied of shampoos, shaving kits, sponges, etc. etc.

Walk-in closet: absolutely excellent!! it was great for getting changed, storing clothes and keeping suitcases out of sight.

Notes: our stay would have been excellent if the room had been given a more thorough clean, especially the walls. As usual with hotels, there were dirty marks all over... a simple lick of paint every now and then would do the trick: it doesn't cost much, doesn't take much of an effort but the results would be worth it. Also the couch was not particularly clean which made a bad impression.

Overall: very good and comfortable hotel. I just wish the management inspected the rooms more often and took action to ensure there are no multiple unpleasant dirty marks on the walls all over the room.

Room Tip: Ask to see the rooms before choosing the one you like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna_von_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We were spent 4 days May 2011 and we were satisfied all facilities of NH Grand Hotel Verdi. Especially breakfeast was very very good.
During our visit we had very good Italian foods (pasta, pizza, tiramisu...). Weather was so good for Milan.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AykutErgezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
NH Milano Palazzo Moscova
Brera
NH Milano Touring
NH Milano Touring
#48 of 428 in Milan
1,077 reviews
Stazione Centrale
NH Milano Machiavelli
NH Milano Machiavelli
#53 of 428 in Milan
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Windsor Hotel Milano
Windsor Hotel Milano
#52 of 428 in Milan
1,944 reviews
Stazione Centrale
AC Hotel Milano
AC Hotel Milano
#98 of 428 in Milan
977 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Tocq
Hotel Tocq
#144 of 428 in Milan
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Milano Grand Hotel Verdi? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Milano Grand Hotel Verdi

Address: Via Melchiorre Gioia 6 | Porta Nuova, Porta Garibaldi, Corso Como, 20124 Milan, Italy (Formerly NH Grand Hotel Verdi)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale , Isola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Milan
#49 Family Hotel in Milan
#59 Business Hotel in Milan
#60 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range: ₹ 9,565 - ₹ 26,707 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Milano Grand Hotel Verdi 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Milano Grand Hotel Verdi is a modern and stylish hotel located right in Milan’s Garibaldi-Repubblica commercial and financial district, near the Porta Garibaldi train station and within short walking distance to the Gioia underground station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Milano Grand Hotel Verdi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Milan
Grand Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing