We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can be recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
ADI Doria Grand Hotel
Ranked #107 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Europe
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Can be recommended”
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Excellent value for money! Comfortable rooms and good breakfast with good service. Decent location near 2 metro stops and within walking distance from main train station.

As others have said, old-fashioned comfortable luxury!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xTravellerx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

970 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    455
    175
    40
    32
See reviews for
127
351
59
243
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
santa rosa, california
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

This hotel is an easy 10 minute walk from the train station. This was my second time at this hotel. The rooms were clean and quiet, and the a/c worked. The breakfast was buffet-style with a good selection of hot and cold plates. The restaurant was good but pricey. The staff was professional and courteous. The hotel is two blocks from a major shopping street. Access to the underground is at the rail station and from there, it is an easy ride to the Duomo and Galleria and other sights. And while I was there, the wi-fi was free!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, off the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank santarita004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Extremely clean, respectful staff, good breakfast (very good coffee!) and so close to the central station and only steps away from a metro stop. The walk to the city centre is around 30 minutes but you can go through a beautiful park and is really worth it if you aren't in a hurry.
Supermarket, a great little cafe and a gelateria only steps away.

I will definitely come back to this hotel when I visit Milan next time. I agree with other reviews that say this hotel offers old-fashioned luxury, that's exactly what it's like. What I liked best is the sense of anonymity I felt whilst in the hotel, it's not one of those hotels where you feel you're disturbing or where you are disturbed by other guests or staff; in this hotel you don't know your neighbours and the staff doesn't bother you (to clean or else). Your room is yours for the time you're there.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SilviaandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florianopolis, SC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

The ADi Doria Grand Hotel was a good surprise. Good value for money. Good location, close to tube station and to the Milano Centrale train station.

We had a bit of an issue parking our Van, as the parking garage next to it wouldn't take big cars.

Hotel staff was very helpful, breakfast was not outstanding, but good. Free internet always helps.

Rooms are old fashioned, but spacious and clean. So is the bathroom.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank felipejendiroba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidcup, Kent
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

My wife, Julie, and I stayed at the Doria Grand for 4 nights from 30 May 2012, for a short trip to partly celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary.

We both cannot praise the hotel highly enough. From the moment we arrived the reception staff were fantastic and handled all our requests without hesitation. I unfortunately did not get the name of the main reception person we dealt with - I know he worked at the Hyde Park Hotel in London for about 6 years some time ago, so that will help identify him so that he can recognised by the Doria Grand management. He gave us very useful information about travelling around Milan and what we might like to see and visit.

With regard to sight-seeing, the hotel is very handily placed near to both the Red and Green line underground stations. You can get a 24 hour travelcard for 4.5 Euros - these can be bought from the news-stand in the underground itself, and the underground system itself is very easy to use, and we felt safe at all times - although the latest we travelled was about 10.30pm. Milan is a great place with lots to see - but take a very comfortable pair of shoes as you will walk a long way while there.

We flew into Linate airport from London, and I have to say it was one of the easiest arrival and departure experiences I have ever had. You can also get the 'Starfly' shuttle bus from right outside the airport straight to Stazione Centrale (Central Station) in Milan for 5 Euros - about a 20 minute trip. The Doria Grand is then only about 5 minutes walk away. We had emailed the hotel a couple of days prior to going and had asked for a high floor - this request was met.

The rooms are excellent and very quiet, and the bed was huge. The bathroom and shower were good. The hotel includes a full breakfast in the price, and this was great value with fresh fruit, yoghurts, cold meats, pastries, cereals, toast and jam etc., tea and coffee, and bacon, sausage and scrambled egg. Served from 7-10am every day. Only complaint is that the egg was a bit runny and not enough bacon!! But that is a very small complaint!!

We planned a trip to Lake Como and the fast train runs every 2 hours (at 20 past 8, 10, 12 etc) direct to Varenna from the Central Station (about an hour's journey time). There is another fast train (at 20 past 9, 11, 1 etc) but you have to change at Lecco and wait for about 10 minutes for the connecting train to Varenna - this is the one we caught and takes about 90 minutes in total - still not too bad, but would recommend the faster train. Ticket was about 20 Euros return - great value.

Varenna is a lovely town and there is about a 10 minute walk from the station down to the harbour. The fast train back is at 37 minutes past the hour, but with the last train at about 10.20pm I think - but check it out at the station when you get there to be sure.

At the dockside you can by single tickets for the ferry boat (about 4.60 Euros) or a one day rover ticket for 15 Euros if you are thinking about doing several trips to various places on the lake. We initially went to Bellagio and then to Menaggio (had to go back via Varenna on one of the trips but still only about a 10 minute ferry trip). We didn't see much of Menaggio and definitely recommend BELLAGIO as the main trip to go on. Lovely side streets to walk up - a bit of a hike up some of the cobbled streets though so be warned. We had lunch at one of the hotels right by the ferry station in the middle of the lake frontage - highly recommended - we had a large bowl of mixed tuna/egg salad each (only 7 Euros each), bread was provided free and we had a bottle of Pinot Grigio (18 Euros) as well as a couple of beers and pot of tea for Julie. Total cost was a fraction over 50 Euros which was fantastic value for a sedate 2 hour lunch overlooking Lake Como. There was also a guy playing guitar and singing some good blues/rock numbers. Excellent trip and cannot recommend it highly enough - and we wish we had booked about 2-3 nights in Bellagio.

Back to the Doria Grand - we went into the bar - just through to the back past the reception area.
Only another couple in there so we sat at the bar and started chatting to the barman on duty. He was so nice and interesting to talk to. His name is Francisco Javier Ramirez Noguerol. He is spanish and is working in Milan. He speaks very good english and we helped him with some more words and phrases. He was so friendly and as we were the only guests for a lot of the time he was able to talk a lot about himself and also about us and also Milan. The Doria Grand management should say a big thank you to Francisco as he is so nice.

Well, that's about it. Milan and Lake Como are fantastic and we will definitely return again one day. The Doria Grand is a fantastic hotel and we highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the back of the hotel - not much of a view but it was really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank althej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Andreola Hotel
Andreola Hotel
#99 of 428 in Milan
832 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Starhotels E.c.ho.
Starhotels E.c.ho.
#39 of 428 in Milan
1,289 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#76 of 428 in Milan
1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Starhotels Anderson
Starhotels Anderson
#56 of 428 in Milan
1,386 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Best Western Hotel Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ADI Doria Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ADI Doria Grand Hotel

Property: ADI Doria Grand Hotel
Address: Viale Andrea Doria 22, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Bicocca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#87 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#87 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#90 Family Hotel in Milan
#112 Business Hotel in Milan
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,846 - ₹ 21,939
Hotel Class:4 star — ADI Doria Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Milan's business and shopping district, close to Corso Buenos Aires and Central Station. Nearby the new Porta Nuova district, easily accessible with the three underground lines.Art and cultural events are hosted in the hotel. We are the ideal choice for business travellers and for tourists wishing to enjoy a nice vacation.124 bright and soundproofed rooms, white Carrara Marble bathrooms. Delicious buffet breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your ADI Doria Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doria Grand Milan
Hotel Doria Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing