We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kept walking by this ruin...so stopped by!”

Cripta di San Giovanni
Ranked #104 of 1,028 things to do in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 5 July 2017

We walked past this every day. it looked just like a wall, but it was on the other side of the street. We finally took the time to walk over and we are glad we did. It was an amazing crypt with a very helpful staff. Take the time to go in....spend 30 minutes.

Date of experience: June 2017
1  Thank keithflow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"touring club"
in 2 reviews
"crypt"
in 7 reviews
"volunteers"
in 4 reviews
"italia"
in 2 reviews
"century"
in 2 reviews
"history"
in 3 reviews
Filter

2 - 6 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2017

Only went here as my husband and I were staying the Hotel Dei Cavalieri and this crypt is directly in front of the hotel. It is the site of an ancient church which has been built over but a dedicated band of people have recovered what they can and display it in this crypt. Not an attraction that you probably go out of the way to see but if you are passing by probably worth a look inside.

Date of experience: December 2016
1  Thank Fellowtraveller00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017

The relics that left of IV'th century ancient church right in the center of Missori square. It called San Giovanni in Conca. Not really there's much to see, sadly.

Date of experience: April 2017
1  Thank yegorb306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2017

This crypt is in front of the Dei Cavalieri hotel we were staying in so I decided to have a look. It is quite small crypt but is part of a church that was on the site in about 600. For various reasons the original church was dismantled in parts since about 1870. It is maintained by volunteers and contains some remains of previous Roman occupation as well as some other exhibits that have been found on the site. It is not far from the city centre and entry is free.

Date of experience: December 2016
1  Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

Nice to see, but it was closed when I arrived. Good to see and take pictures. It is very closed to the city center, but small and surrounded by modern buildings.

Date of experience: July 2016
1  Thank erica_nogueira_sp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cripta di San Giovanni also viewed

 

Been to Cripta di San Giovanni? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing