We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Perfect spot for a family...Huge apartments...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence de la Gare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Residence de la Gare
Ranked #28 of 255 Speciality Lodging in Milan
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Perfect spot for a family...Huge apartments...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

We stayed there with 2 kids (9 and 12) 7 days into a 10 day tour of Europe. We loved it because it is so spacious and it gave us a chance to chill, relax and regroup before finishing the trip. The building and apartment are beautiful. The location is good in the sense that it is 1 block from the subway that takes you wherever you want quickly. It's not a thriving neighborhood for restaurants, etc.--more of a financial district. But the apartment was so nice, and it was so relaxing to have so much space, that we were thankful for the experience. If you are driving, you have to ask for parking in advance. We forgot to do that, but they worked to find a spot for our car.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bearcatMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    26
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
25
31
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fitzwilliam, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

The apartment was larger than expected, on a busy city street near the train station (we walked to it), and very well run. I left a dear piece of clothing in the closet, and they did not hesitate to return it to me (it was mailed back to me, in the states). I would recommend this place heartily!

Room Tip: We stayed on street level, but with shutters closed, the room stayed very quiet. And it was fun to o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

Stayed here for three nights in November 2011. We stayed with a two year old so had requested a cot to be provided, which it was. Good sized apartment with good facilities. Would recommend both the location and the Residence as both are convienent to everything.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Via Mauro Macchi rather than Via Brianza, as the former is much quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DublinStjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

We rented an apartment for the last leg of our trip in Italy based on the strength of the reviews here on Tripadvisor.
The location was handy - near to the Central Station.
The rooms were spacious, even if not ideally furnished.
We were however disappointed at some of the areas we experienced during our stay, namely,
1. On the day of check-in, we discovered exposed half-eaten food in the fridge. The decomposing food was NEVER cleared, and remained when we checked out.
2. In the bathroom, a large dirty draining hole with sharp jagged edges was left exposed throughout our stay; it was not only unsafe but unbelievably unhygienic.
3. Even though De La Gare is advertised as a serviced apartment, the kettle/utensils were dusty and dirty like they were not cleaned/used in a long while.
4. The aircon/ventilation unit broke down on Day 2 resulting in zero air circulation in the room.
5. Basic necessities like toilet paper was not replenished during housekeeping.
6. The walls were thin and there was no customer service to remind occupants to keep noise level low after dark; we were not light sleepers but were still kept awake through the night by occupants on the upper levels making a ruckus.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank achanjii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

I booked this accommodation for a base for the Italian Grand Prix simply because it was next to the central station. However if you are going to the next grand prix be advised most trains leave from Garibaldi station not Central Station. However this is still a great base as the apartment was nicely furnished and we had all the amenities we needed. The staff were helpful and we paid for secured parking and were given a fob if we wanted to move the car during our stay.The metro station to Garibaldi is 30 seconds walk away so it is really easy to get around.

Would recommend to anyone who wants a nice, clean, affordable base for Milan and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmabon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Bristol Milan
Hotel Bristol Milan
#192 of 432 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Colombia
Hotel Colombia
#157 of 432 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Starhotels Anderson
Starhotels Anderson
#61 of 432 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Auriga
Hotel Auriga
#158 of 432 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Starhotels E.c.ho.
Starhotels E.c.ho.
#39 of 432 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Milan Apartment Rental
Milan Apartment Rental
#61 of 255 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence de la Gare? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence de la Gare

Property: Residence de la Gare
Address: Via Mauro Macchi 49, 20124 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 255 Speciality Lodging in Milan
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,016 - ₹ 13,820
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence de la Gare 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Residence de la Gare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing