We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (451)
Filter reviews
451 results
Traveller rating
304
128
15
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
304
128
15
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews day trippers isola pescatori tiny island private water taxi sound of the waves boats stop tourists leave small hotel a wonderful stay large terrace three nights overlooking the lake takes about minutes quiet at night lovely hotel breakfast and dinner half board
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 451 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2018

Incredible trip. So peaceful! The island is busy during the day, but if you stay at night, then you have the entire island to yourself in the evening. It's beautiful.

Also, there are no cars on the island so it is very quiet.

I got the room with the terrace- it is massive! I could host a wedding on that terrace.

Loved the trip. Definitely will return.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jacob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018

We had two rooms at the Hotel Belvedere, one with a lake view balcony. The rooms are of generous size, modern, and tastefully designed. This is a classy, well-run, very private hotel.

The service is very professional, and the attached restaurant overlooking Lake Maggiore is an excellent choice for dinner. The breakfast served int he mornings is also highly recommended.

The hotel is located on the small island Isola dei Pescatori, and while during the day the island has some day trippers coming for lunch or a quick stroll across the island, after 5 pm or so, the island becomes very quiet and private. Getting to and from the island will involve taking the ferry from Stresa during the day, or arranging for private boat transport.

For us, this seclusion surrounded by the lake and gorgeous views was a plus, but guests considering a stay here should know that the main ferries servicing the island stop service in the early evening. This makes getting on and off island in the evening a little more challenging, as boat transportation must be arranged by private water taxi or with the hotel.

Staying on Pisacori vs. staying in Stresa is a much different experience- Stresa is a full resort town, with all the basic services, tourist crowds, and large hotels. Piscatori is much more laid back, quiet and private, with the caveat that getting back and forth to Stresa and Isolas Madre and Bella will require more time and logistical planning.

This is an excellent choice for guests who want a peaceful lake side oasis, but is probably not a good choice for those who want to be surrounded by a lot of activity or who do not want to navigate through making boat transportation arrangements.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at hotel Belvedere for three nights when visiting Lago Maggiore. The hotel provides an excellent base from which to explore also the other Borromean islands.

Our room facing the lake was light and spacious. The view across the lake to the mountains could not be beat! Also, I can’t think of a better way to fall asleep and wake up than to to the sound of the waves...

Hotel staff was always courteous and friendly.

The hotel restaurant is a great place to admire the sunset. We both love fish and seafood and truly enjoyed the food and wine there.

One thing we also loved was swimming in the lake. There’s a small public beach right next to the hotel property, and you can also take a dip from the hotel dock. Ask for beach towels from reception.

I warmly recommend staying on Isola dei Pescatori and at hotel Belvedere. After sunset, the island was incredibly quiet and serene - unforgettable!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Marjo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2018

We stayed in the room with a large terrace overlooking the lake. Since we planned to have some relaxation after a busy tour of northern Italy by train, this suited us well. We could spend all day on the terrace, watching the XCAT motor racing boats going past (an unexpected addition). The island is very busy with tourists during the day but beautifully quiet at night - just lapping waves. The downsides are several. Firstly the hotel is lacking in certain amenities: room fridge and safe. Reception is not always manned. There are very few (and only expensive) restaurants open on the island in the evening. The waitress at breakfast was curt to the point of being rude when we asked for empty dishes at the self service buffet to be replenished. We ate two dinners in the hotel restaurant, which was OK but not special (not so much flavour). They gave 10% discount on dinner to residents, though.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

We stayed and ate at Hotel Belvedere in June 2018. All the staff were incredibly kind, friendly and spoke excellent English. We called to book and it was easy. Rooms are all newly remodeled and very comfortable. Dinner was great and breakfast was full buffet, not just continental. Hotel cost was very reasonable for the quality and if you book direct you get a discount to Booking.com rate. We would definitely stay there again. They also have one Suite available.

Room tip: Book directly by phone and save money and get a better room than online
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Adam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews