We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Moderno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Moderno
Ranked #22 of 35 Hotels in Stresa
Certificate of Excellence
California, USA
Level Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

Room was very large, simply furnished but a bright room and sparkling clean, with a large well fitted marble bathroom. We had a small balcony overlooking the town square. No noise from this square as it was mostly pedestrian. I would have liked chairs in the bedroom and a bigger tv as I like to keep up with the news. The tv was very old and only 12" and in a large room it was difficult to see.
Breakfast was ok. Yoghurt, fruit, cake with only one type of some sort of processed meat and cheese. Orange juice was watered down. If you like a light breakfast it was ok.
Best thing about this hotel was the location. Right in the center of the town with shops and restaurants right outside the door. It was also about 300 feet from the lake and ferries to the islands.
Staff at hotel very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whitewingsUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    52
    23
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
50
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
bucks
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

This hotel, ideally located in a pedestian street in the heart of Stresa, is located just 3 minutes walk from the lake shore and the ferry pier. The station is a 10 minute walk away and there are shops, restaurants and icecream parlours in the immediate vicinity of the hotel The rooms were spacious and very clean, and quiet due to double glazing, and our rooms had a balcony with chairs for sitting outside. The breakfast, which was included in the room rate, was lovely with several cereals, fruits, cheese and cold meats to chose from, several types of bread and a good selection of hot drinks. The staff were very friendly and professional, especially Marina at reception, who was extremely helpful. There is a bus service from Malpensa airport direct to Stresa (EUR9 each way) which stops 100 m from the hotel. For information, the bus back to the airport HAS to be booked by 11 AM the day before you leave. Stresa is a very clean, pretty town and has a lot to offer in terms of excursions and things to do and comes alive at night when the restaurants in the pretty town squares are teeming with diners. Both the hotel and the resort were wonderful, excellent value for money and we will definitely be going again.

Room Tip: Rooms 207/208 have balconies facing the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BB22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2009

Just arrived from hotel Moderno in Stresa. The staff were rather unfriendly, sour every morning and evening, and rather unhelpfull. Breakfast was the worse I´ve ever got in Italy. Bread was baked several days ago and selection was thin pieces of cheese, ham and jam. The rooms were nice and clean, and I´ve got a balcony out to the garden. There was nice and calm every night.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bipoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2005

My boyfriend and I stayed at Moderno when we stopped in Stresa to visit Isola Bella and Isola Madre. Although the location is great, the rooms are somewhat worn and look like they're stuck in the late '70s. The floors are linoleum and our balcony was tiny. The staff, however, was quite friendly and helpful. For 80 Euros, it was fine but more discerning travellers would be better off paying more for comfort.

It should be noted that although Moderno's website promises a lounge with internet access, it was not available when we were there. There was no sign of a terminal anywhere in the lounge area and we were told that it was not hooked up yet.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank lhung2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nybro,Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2003

Hello

My husband and I left Sweden by bus via Denmark to Germany.We spent our first night in Bad Brueckenau,Bavaria.
at a health resort hotel,beautiful and peaceful.
We went on to Bregenz,Austria, and to Switzerland,where we passed the Alps via San Bernadino tunnel.We crossed
the Italian border at Lake Maggiore and after about 60 kilometres we reached the town of Stresa.
We spent five nights at Hotel Moderno.It is situated 50 metres from the beach.A big church is located between the hotel and the strand.Our room was really calm at night.It was very clean and had beautiful furniture.The bathroom was tiled.
Our room had air-condition at night. The temperature out of doors was 35 degrees
Celsius in the daytime.
The staff was very correct and had a good knowledge of languages. The young people,who worked in the dining-room, spoke English or German.
We had good three-course dinners with wine or beer every evening.One day we ate lunch too.We got a fine calf-chop with new potatoes and a tomato sallad.Breakfast with bread ,butter,ham and jam.
We spent two days on the Borromeo Islands.At first we visited Isola Bella and the palazzo Borromeo with old furniture and paintings.The garden had ten terraces.White peacocks walked around below the terraces.After a lunch with trout and boiled potatoes we took the boat to the next island,Isola Superiore.Then we went on to Isola Madre with another Palace and a garden with the Palm Avenue and Ginkgo Biloba,which I have seen in the Botanical Garden of Lund,Sweden before.
One day we went by our bus to the Verzasca valley in Switzerland and visited the village of Sonogno,situated at a height of 900 metres. On
our way back we had a wonderful picnic with wine,bread,cheeses and
fruits at the river
We made a stop at Locarno,where I bought a Swiss made night-dress and underclothes (100 % cotton).
In Stresa we walked along the beach.This summer there were a lot of mosquitoes,so we could not sit outside in the evenings.
We bought red and white wines,almond cookies,peach-marmalade and leather-belts.I bought sunwests too.
After five hot days we returned back to Sweden with many beautiful memories.The temperature at home was 15 degrees Celsius.
Best regards
Inga-Britt Wångmar

  • Stayed July 2003
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank riblw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stresa hotels
0.1 km away
Milan Speranza Au Lac
Milan Speranza Au Lac
#4 of 35 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Elena
Hotel Elena
#14 of 35 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Luina
Hotel Luina
#24 of 35 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hotel Fontana
Hotel Fontana
#13 of 35 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.3 km away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#10 of 35 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Italie et Suisse
Hotel Italie et Suisse
#28 of 35 in Stresa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moderno? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moderno

Property: Hotel Moderno
Address: Via Camillo Benso Conte di Cavour 33, 28838, Stresa, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 35 Hotels in Stresa
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,194 - ₹ 10,525
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Moderno 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Moderno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing