We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (280)
Filter reviews
280 results
Traveller rating
187
60
19
11
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
187
60
19
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews winston churchill queen victoria dining room borromean islands lake view charming hotel grand old lady wondered why travelling independently swimming pool old fashioned charm public rooms hotel experience this family run hotel great holiday relaxing break classic style
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 280 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2018

Hotel in good position facing the lake, slightly further down the road from the centre of Baveno, but this is easily reached on foot in 10 minutes along a flat promenade. There is quite an incline up to the front door of the hotel.
Inside the hotel is traditional with large airy public rooms and a lovely terrace outside with comfortable wicker chairs facing the lake, giving excellent views.
The bedrooms are substantial in size - we had a lake view as we were upgraded by Paolo on reception the moment we arrived! He looked after us and all guests, nothing was too much trouble for him.
Breakfast was plentiful but limited in choice as it was only continental. There were no hot dishes at all.
We enjoyed our few days at this hotel and would recommend it.

Date of stay: June 2018
Thank DoggoneUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

It had been 28 years since we visited The Lido Palace and we wondered why we had left it so long - probably lack of packages or direct flights from Newcastle to Milan. This time were travelling independently with a hire car and were delighted to see that the D'Amico family are still running their family business here. This is a grand old lady of the lake so do not expect it to offer the spangled Disneyfied kitsch of hotels in nearby Stresa. Bedrooms and public rooms and large and help you relax completely. Few places on the Lake have such clear views of all three Borromean Islands and the owners and staff could not be more accommodating. It represents a charming and authentic Italian experience, whatever the length of your intended stay and we managed to take in the cable car up Mottarone, Milan, the 3 islands themselves and Villa Taranto across the lake, as well as using the stylish pool and gardens. All in all, we loved it - again!

Room tip: A lake view is a must for an unforgettable experience
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank waggy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

We stayed for a week in May and had a wonderful time. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff from maids to reception and restaurant. The food was the best I've ever had in all the countries I have visited. The rooms are on the small side but all are on suite. The view overlooking the piazza was great. The hotel is in the centre of town with buses going to Venice every half an hour. We will definitely be returning.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for the weekend, visiting our favourite lake and area. Hotel is old but this is part of its charm and character, set in a perfect location with views across the lake to the islands. About a ten minute walk into Baveno where you can eat and drink well, chose carefully ! Stresa in the other direction also a great place to visit, five minutes by car, safer than walking with lots of options too.
Very welcoming staff and will do anything to help make your stay perfect.
Definitely worth a stopover if you have the chance.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Momeypenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

the bones of the place are good. the service was really nice. But there are symptoms of the owners neglect everywhere. It was once a grand hotel and has so much potential, but as the price reflects, is rather average in many ways. Please do something about the pool area! Its starting to look like a haunted mansion.

Room tip: think about top floor
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LidoPalace, Proprietario at Lido Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Gentile Mrs Thorton. Thank you for your review and for considering us neglecting people. How can somebody who spends few hours in a place, choosing the cheapest possible rooms available in the internet and obtening instead a fantastic accomodations, in a unique settings overlooking the lake with dedicated service and lots of attention be so miserable against other people work , is something that i will never understand. Anyway our efforts and investment on the building are continuose so don't panic ! Concerning the pool it was closed during your stay ! Thanks God we had all summer fantastic customers who appreciated our work and when they did not they ve express their concerned with lots of elegance and respect, understanding our efforts .We thank them all. Good wishes,
Paolo D'Amico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews