We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lido Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lido Palace Hotel
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Baveno
Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Everything is lovely here. Although large, with some very grand public rooms and good facilities, it has a family feel and the staff are consistently kind and helpful (with excellent English). There are magnificent uninterrupted views of Lake Maggiore and the Boromean Islands from the bedroom balconies, and the hotel has a fascinating history illustrated with photos and memorabilia, which makes it feel really rooted in the area.
For anyone who likes the outdoors this is a particularly good base. There's a private beach allowing swimming in the lake. It's ten minutes walk into Baveno, a quick bus or taxi ride to Stresa, bike hire and the cable car to Mottarone. Best of all, paths to the mountains start just behind the hotel. I spent many wonderful hours hiking on well-marked paths, rewarded with amazing views from the peaks right into Switzerland. Then back to Lido Palace for delicious meals of Italian food. If you want, you can make plenty of interesting trips to locations round about, but it is entirely possible to enjoy a week or two without stirring far from the sunlit pool and shady gardens.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alex w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    47
    17
    11
    3
See reviews for
33
136
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

One of the most majestic hotels we've ever stayed at, with sweeping views across Lake Maggiore. The room we stayed in was first rate, with a lovely balcony that we spent time on just drinking in the spectacular scenery. Staff were excellent, particularly the dining room staff at breakfast, the breakfast itself was marvellous. Just a few minutes of walking brings you into the beautiful harbour of Braveno with a large variety of shops and restaurants. We really hated leaving here after a wonderful two-night stay and would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Astr0Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We spent only 1 night at this lovely Hotel at the end of a week long tour. What a stunning Hotel! We were greeted enthusiastically, and the staff was extremely helpful and accommodatiing. Our room had a balcony in the bedroom, as well as in the bathroom, each with panoramic views of Lake Maggiore and the island of Isola Bella. The dining rooms and Terrace are exquisite, and the elegant wait staff equally outgoing and courteous. I wish we had another day or two here, but the experience was lovely, right down to a warm goodbye from a smiling reception staff at 6AM, when we left for the airport. Perfection! Don't miss a chance to stay here!

Room Tip: I doubt that there IS a bad room here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eurogirl1454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

We arrived at Lido Palace to be told we'd been upgraded to the "Winston Churchill Suite". It turned out we were the only people there who were not part of a tour group so they were kind enough to spoil us a little. The suite was very spacious and the beds (two doubles, pushed together) were comfortable. There was a spa bath in a separate alcove that was quite luxurious.

We ate in the hotel restaurant the first night and had a lovely four course meal at a very reasonable price. The waiters were excellent - friendly and attentive, and happy to help us practice our Italian.

I had somehow managed to book this hotel without an included breakfast, so since I baulk a little at paying hotel prices for breakfast, we had our breakfasts in town and can't comment on the offering at the Lido Palace.

Staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay and their English was mostly very good.

The grounds and pool area are lovely.

It is about a ten minute walk into town, mostly on wide paths or in parks, but the initial section is on a narrow path next to a road that can get quite busy.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MHug58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawfordsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Although old, this is a lovely hotel with a wonderful staff. Our room looked out over the Lake and was very quiet and comfortable. I would go back in a minute. It was pleasant just walking around the facility and sitting on their large veranda was amazing. Great value compared to other places.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baveno
1.5 km away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#2 of 15 in Baveno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.8 km away
Grand Hotel Dino
Grand Hotel Dino
#3 of 15 in Baveno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
2.9 km away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#2 of 35 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta
2.6 km away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
1.0 km away
Hotel Simplon
Hotel Simplon
#4 of 15 in Baveno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lido Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lido Palace Hotel

Property: Lido Palace Hotel
Address: Via Nazionale del Sempione 30, 28831, Baveno, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Baveno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Baveno
#7 Family Hotel in Baveno
#8 Romantic Hotel in Baveno
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,782 - ₹ 8,633
Hotel Class:4 star — Lido Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Lido Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lido Palace
Lido Palace Baveno
Lido Palace Hotel Baveno, Lake Maggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing