We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lido Palace Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$ 225
US$ 220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Alpi(Baveno)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Azalea(Baveno)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence Ortensia(Baveno)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (249)
Filter reviews
249 results
Traveller rating
165
52
18
11
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
165
52
18
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswinston churchillqueen victorialake viewpool areacharming hotelhotel experiencethis family run hotelgreat holidayrelaxing breakair conditioningrobertopauloposition
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 249 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We spent only 1 night at this lovely Hotel at the end of a week long tour. What a stunning Hotel! We were greeted enthusiastically, and the staff was extremely helpful and accommodatiing. Our room had a balcony in the bedroom, as well as in the bathroom, each with panoramic views of Lake Maggiore and the island of Isola Bella. The dining rooms and Terrace are exquisite, and the elegant wait staff equally outgoing and courteous. I wish we had another day or two here, but the experience was lovely, right down to a warm goodbye from a smiling reception staff at 6AM, when we left for the airport. Perfection! Don't miss a chance to stay here!

Room Tip: I doubt that there IS a bad room here!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eurogirl1454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

We arrived at Lido Palace to be told we'd been upgraded to the "Winston Churchill Suite". It turned out we were the only people there who were not part of a tour group so they were kind enough to spoil us a little. The suite was very spacious and the beds (two doubles, pushed together) were comfortable. There was a spa bath in a separate alcove that was quite luxurious.

We ate in the hotel restaurant the first night and had a lovely four course meal at a very reasonable price. The waiters were excellent - friendly and attentive, and happy to help us practice our Italian.

I had somehow managed to book this hotel without an included breakfast, so since I baulk a little at paying hotel prices for breakfast, we had our breakfasts in town and can't comment on the offering at the Lido Palace.

Staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay and their English was mostly very good.

The grounds and pool area are lovely.

It is about a ten minute walk into town, mostly on wide paths or in parks, but the initial section is on a narrow path next to a road that can get quite busy.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MHug58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Although old, this is a lovely hotel with a wonderful staff. Our room looked out over the Lake and was very quiet and comfortable. I would go back in a minute. It was pleasant just walking around the facility and sitting on their large veranda was amazing. Great value compared to other places.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are delightful.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We visited the Lido Palace Hotel for 4 nights in July 2013.This was our second stay at this hotel. We first visited it 2009 and loved it then.The hotel conveys the feeling of another era with its beautiful dinning room and common areas overlooking Lago Maggiore. We opted for a lake view room this time and our view of Lago Maggiore was spectacular. Lido Palace offers a lake beach and pool. Both are pleasant. The pool area faces the lake and was never crowded. In addition to the amenities available, there is a clear commitment to service. Paolo and Elisa were wonderful and especially helpful throughout our stay. Roberto who handles the food service and Ramona were delightful too. Breakfast at the hotel dining room was reasonably priced and included a wide range of buffet options including breads, pastries, cereals, yogurt, eggs (cooked to order), meets, cheese, various juices and waters and coffee, tea, cappucino, etc. Tables are set up at near open doors and the view of the lake from the dining room alone is worth the price of breakfast. Free convenient parking was a big plus as was easy access to the boat terminal for lake excursions and easy access by car to other lake town, e.g., Stressa, Locarno, Ascona. Baveno is actually a short distance from the Swiss boarder.

Free WIFI was available but we were not able to get our tablets to work. Paolo was extraordinary and even attempted to get a computer specialist to solve the problem. When that option wasn't available, he immediately offered to have us use the hotel computer so we could check email and check-in and get our boarding passes for our flights to the USA. The hotel is very clean. Rooms are equipped with mini bars and satellite TV but the beautiful furniture in the rooms could use a bit of restoring. Nevertheless, this all part of the hotel's charm.

Room Tip: Opt for a lake view with balcony.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SLA37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews