We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An old Palace that feels like home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lido Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lido Palace Hotel
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Baveno
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“An old Palace that feels like home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed here from 3 to 7 July to celebrate my husband's birthday, and as soon as the owner, Paolo D'Amico, knew that I want to organize a candle light dinner for the birthday when we were still exchanging e-mails for the booking he offered a complimentary cake and Prosecco! I was already sure we will have an enjoyable stay at a hotel that knows what hospitality is.
This was only the beginning! As soon as we arrived the nice Lady at the reception greeted us warmly and guided us to our room, we found out that they upgraded us to the Winston Churchill suite (we originally booked a deluxe) this was a delight! And as my husband loves history, it meant a lot to him to stay in the Sir Churchill suite :)
The place is really great and special, the in room Jacuzzi is a real treat, very relaxing and convenient... It was great to be able to have a hydrosonic massage at the convenience of our room not having to go to the Wellness or to watch opening times... A great way to get rid of stress and tiredness.
Roberto in the restaurant will always remember your favorite drink in the morning and how you like your eggs... He also knows a lot about the palace and the region, he would tell you many stories with great passion. He also proved to be a talented Tenor when he sang happy birthday in Italian to my husband :)

The fitness studio is basic but functional, you have what you need to exercise while enjoying the view!

The location is ideal because it's about 700 m away from Baveno centre, which makes it relatively calmer, and you can reach the ferry and the town in 10 mn walk. The walk along the lake is very enjoyable.

Thanks to everyone in Lido Palace for doing everything you could to let us enjoy our stay... We are delighted and will definitely come back.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christa81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    47
    17
    11
    3
See reviews for
33
136
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Headcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

We had a wonderful four night stay at this grand old hotel -with the most beautiful views all round. The staff, Roberto and Paulo and the ladies were amazing, I have never felt so welcome and looked after in a hotel. The room 136, was amazing, a standard booking but with lake view and a jacuzzi bath and such a comfortable bed. The hotel is full of old world charm, and what better recommendation than Churchill and Queen Victoria staying here in the past. (They are both famous for residence taste - have you ever been to Osborne House or Chartwell?) Love love love this hotel, will definitely go back and recommend to everyone.

Room Tip: All lake view rooms would be great. Winston Churchill suite if you want something special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annieretrolife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

A lovely grand hotel, much more tasteful than the more 'spruced up' hotels in nearby Stresa. It could do with a lick of paint here and there but its a minor gripe.The boat terminal is a 10 minute walk away along the edge of the lake. The boats are by far the best way to get around this part of Lake Maggiore. The rooms are clean and high ceilinged, the bathrooms are marble, with a good shower and bath. Definitely get a lake view room. The views are stunning and it is so wonderful to be woken by the sun streaming through your window every morning.

Paolo, the manager, could not do enough to help us, from planning a trip to Ascona using boats and buses, to providing whatever we needed for our room. His fellow staff are less fluent in English than Paolo but no less willing to help.
Although the hotel caters for coach parties (like most of the large hotels along the lake), it never felt crowded at all. In fact, with all the coach parties out for the day, you could be forgiven for thinking that the hotel was closed! That suited us, although those looking for more buzz in a hotel might want to look at the hotels in Stresa.
Breakfast was limited in terms of fresh fruit options and pastries but eggs and bacon was available on request and was very nice. We did not dine in the evenings in the hotel but the menu looked good.

Baveno is much quieter than Stresa, so those of you who want to be out wining and dining will need to use taxis. There are some nice little restaurants in Baveno though.

Overall, this hotel is just a lovely peaceful place to be, with well appointed rooms and attentive staff. and we will definitely be going back next year.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamBagPuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

I made a reservation at this hotel for 1 night before embarking on a longer journey. After the reservation was made, I wrote to the hotel to make a request. The response I received was so rude, I was stunned. I travel often and everywhere and I have never received such a response to a simple request regarding parking. Needless to say, I have cancelled my reservation and will be staying elsewhere. They have made us lose our taste for the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rositala1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LidoPalace, Manager at Lido Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2013
Dear Guest , still no news and no reply from you on how and when this " suppose "exchange of email concerning "parking "- happened. I have no records of it. Please double check in case it is the wrong hotel.

With my best wishes

Paolo D'Amico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levittown, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

this place is beautiful and romantic...too bad i was there to see a car factory and museum with an uncle! seriously,this place is very elegant and the staff are charming and gracious. the breakfests were much better than typical continental fare and the evening dining was exemplary.the location is excellant; a few doors down from the bialetti villa and adjacent to the borromean islands...easily within walking distance to the metro station of baveno and the cafes of stresa.tour buses are available locally to escort travelers to biello in peidmont and the other popular attractions such as tremezzo,bellagio and lake como.day trips to museums like the duomo,la scala and la brera are suprisingly affordable and shopping in the galleria emmanuele much more entertaining than i expected!

Room Tip: try to get a room on the end if you don,t require too much space...the bathroom is a little small bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baveno
1.5 km away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#1 of 15 in Baveno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.8 km away
Grand Hotel Dino
Grand Hotel Dino
#3 of 15 in Baveno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
2.9 km away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#2 of 35 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta
2.6 km away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
1.0 km away
Hotel Simplon
Hotel Simplon
#4 of 15 in Baveno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lido Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lido Palace Hotel

Property: Lido Palace Hotel
Address: Via Nazionale del Sempione 30, 28831, Baveno, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Baveno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Baveno
#7 Family Hotel in Baveno
#8 Romantic Hotel in Baveno
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,778 - ₹ 8,627
Hotel Class:4 star — Lido Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Lido Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lido Palace
Lido Palace Baveno
Lido Palace Hotel Baveno, Lake Maggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing