We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Nicest Hotel in Europe”
Review of Lido Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lido Palace Hotel
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Baveno
Certificate of Excellence
Headcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Nicest Hotel in Europe”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We had a wonderful four night stay at this grand old hotel -with the most beautiful views all round. The staff, Roberto and Paulo and the ladies were amazing, I have never felt so welcome and looked after in a hotel. The room 136, was amazing, a standard booking but with lake view and a jacuzzi bath and such a comfortable bed. The hotel is full of old world charm, and what better recommendation than Churchill and Queen Victoria staying here in the past. (They are both famous for residence taste - have you ever been to Osborne House or Chartwell?) Love love love this hotel, will definitely go back and recommend to everyone.

Room Tip: All lake view rooms would be great. Winston Churchill suite if you want something special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annieretrolife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    48
    17
    11
    3
See reviews for
33
138
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

A lovely grand hotel, much more tasteful than the more 'spruced up' hotels in nearby Stresa. It could do with a lick of paint here and there but its a minor gripe.The boat terminal is a 10 minute walk away along the edge of the lake. The boats are by far the best way to get around this part of Lake Maggiore. The rooms are clean and high ceilinged, the bathrooms are marble, with a good shower and bath. Definitely get a lake view room. The views are stunning and it is so wonderful to be woken by the sun streaming through your window every morning.

Paolo, the manager, could not do enough to help us, from planning a trip to Ascona using boats and buses, to providing whatever we needed for our room. His fellow staff are less fluent in English than Paolo but no less willing to help.
Although the hotel caters for coach parties (like most of the large hotels along the lake), it never felt crowded at all. In fact, with all the coach parties out for the day, you could be forgiven for thinking that the hotel was closed! That suited us, although those looking for more buzz in a hotel might want to look at the hotels in Stresa.
Breakfast was limited in terms of fresh fruit options and pastries but eggs and bacon was available on request and was very nice. We did not dine in the evenings in the hotel but the menu looked good.

Baveno is much quieter than Stresa, so those of you who want to be out wining and dining will need to use taxis. There are some nice little restaurants in Baveno though.

Overall, this hotel is just a lovely peaceful place to be, with well appointed rooms and attentive staff. and we will definitely be going back next year.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamBagPuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I made a reservation at this hotel for 1 night before embarking on a longer journey. After the reservation was made, I wrote to the hotel to make a request. The response I received was so rude, I was stunned. I travel often and everywhere and I have never received such a response to a simple request regarding parking. Needless to say, I have cancelled my reservation and will be staying elsewhere. They have made us lose our taste for the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rositala1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LidoPalace, Manager at Lido Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2013
Dear Guest , still no news and no reply from you on how and when this " suppose "exchange of email concerning "parking "- happened. I have no records of it. Please double check in case it is the wrong hotel.

With my best wishes

Paolo D'Amico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levittown, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2013

this place is beautiful and romantic...too bad i was there to see a car factory and museum with an uncle! seriously,this place is very elegant and the staff are charming and gracious. the breakfests were much better than typical continental fare and the evening dining was exemplary.the location is excellant; a few doors down from the bialetti villa and adjacent to the borromean islands...easily within walking distance to the metro station of baveno and the cafes of stresa.tour buses are available locally to escort travelers to biello in peidmont and the other popular attractions such as tremezzo,bellagio and lake como.day trips to museums like the duomo,la scala and la brera are suprisingly affordable and shopping in the galleria emmanuele much more entertaining than i expected!

Room Tip: try to get a room on the end if you don,t require too much space...the bathroom is a little small bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2013

If you want to get a feel of how the Italian Lakes were a century ago, this is the hotel for you. It was built in 1857 as a private villa and in 1879 Queen Victoria and her daughter Princess Beatrice, staying nearby, visited the villa because their entourage were being accommodated there. By 1908 the building had been expanded into a hotel and Winston Churchill and his wife Clementine spent their honeymoon in Room 124, now the hotel's largest suite. In the pretty hotel gardens there are statues of both to mark these visits, and there is plenty of information on display in the public rooms if you are interested to find out more. There is a definite atmosphere of the past here. We were assured that there were no ghosts, but instead a " mystery room" in the basement that has not been opened for years!

The hotel's public rooms are vast and opulent and almost make you feel as though you are letting the place down if you are not dressed in dinner jackets or ball gowns. The outside terraces, overlooking the pool and the glorious lake and mountain view, are the perfect setting for an evening aperitif.

Despite its size, the hotel is family-run and the staff are unfailingly cheerful and helpful. The front rooms, overlooking the lake (well worth booking) have huge French windows opening onto a balcony, from which you can watch the plying to and fro of boats between Baveno and the three small islands nearby, and the constantly changing light over the water. Our bathroom was slightly disappointing, being a little cramped, with rather dim lighting.

We had one breakfast (in the room) and two dinners at the hotel, and would rate these reasonably highly, though on the expensive side.

The hotel's location, just a short walk from the village centre, the station and the boat terminal,
is excellent. It is just a pity that one can no longer experience the tranquillity of the past, given the amount of traffic that has to pass along the lakeside road. This does, however, die down by late evening.

The Lido Palace will give you a most enjoyable experience, and we highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Second or third floor, front rooms overlooking the lake offer the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthYorkshireArran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baveno
0.9 km away
Grand Hotel Dino
Grand Hotel Dino
#3 of 15 in Baveno
1,247 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#2 of 15 in Baveno
472 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Simplon
Hotel Simplon
#4 of 15 in Baveno
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta
0.6 km away
Hotel Beau Rivage
Hotel Beau Rivage
#6 of 15 in Baveno
241 reviews
2.6 km away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lido Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lido Palace Hotel

Property: Lido Palace Hotel
Address: Via Nazionale del Sempione 30, 28831, Baveno, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Baveno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Baveno
#7 Family Hotel in Baveno
#8 Romantic Hotel in Baveno
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,465 - ₹ 10,537
Hotel Class:4 star — Lido Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Lido Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lido Palace
Lido Palace Baveno
Lido Palace Hotel Baveno, Lake Maggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing