We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (559)
Filter reviews
559 results
Traveller rating
372
154
19
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
372
154
19
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssister hotelart gallerylake maggiorereception staffdining roomhotel dinounderground walkwayneighbouring hotelbeautiful hotelindoor poolhalf boardmain coursebed and breakfast basishotel decor isgreat poolferry terminaltour group
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 559 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2018

We found the Hotel Simplon to be an excellent base on Lake Maggiore. It has the benefit of shared facilities with the very much larger Grand Hotel Dino and a very novel underground connecting tunnel/ art gallery. Our room was excellent and clean. Hotel staff including the reception desk were extremely helpful and friendly. Service was excellent thoughout the hotel and in the Hotel Dino. The breakfast was also extensive and very good covering both hot and cold options. We can thoroughly recommend a stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the pool and lake are best at or above floor 3
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank BobS1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2018

Stayed here for three nights pre-cruise. My mum and I travelled as part of a small group. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and a decent size. Lounges, bars, restaurants, gardens and pool areas were also very clean. Our only gripe was that there were no slopes or hand rails anywhere so anyone with walking difficulties (like my mum) found it difficult to get around. The bathroom had a shower but it meant stepping into the bath to get into it, which again which meant my mum couldn't use it. Breakfast was plentiful with self service choices from cooked to fresh fruit, cereals, pasties and yogurts. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis so can't really comment on the main meals in the restaurant although on arrival we did have an evening meal which was very tasty.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2018

We have just spent a brilliant week at the Simplon .This was our second stay - 1st was 2 years ago during week of brexit vote. We had a wonderful time then so we're a little nervous that going back wouldn't be so good .In fact it was better.! Francesco and his restaurant. staff (as were all the staff at reception ,bar - particularly Luca and even the cleaners )were just as warm and welcoming and the food especially the pastas was superb as before .We had half board and took every meal on the terrace overlooking the pool .What has improved is the outdoor swimming pool and surrounding area including the new poolside snack bar and the seating area on its roof. 2 years ago we spent most of the time in the inside pool of the sister hotel Dino (the underground walk tunnel joining the 2 hotels is amazing !) but this time all our pool time was spent at the Simplon. As I previously said all the staff are so friendly and are happy to help and provided excellent service with a smile.The hotel has a wonderful early 20th century character throughout and the only slight downside was the bathroom which was quite functional and cleaned, like the bedroom, every day and no had no problems other than climbing over height of the side of the bath ( however there is a hand rail attached ) when showering and perhaps needs modenising?.My only other slight critiscm is the pool side snack bar menu is a bit limited but it did only open the week we were there.There isn't any entertainment in the evenings only a TV room which was showing World cup matches and was obviously in Italian.As I previously stated our stay was better than before and have no hesitation in recommending Hotel Simplon

Room Tip: Room with balcony high up overlooking pool for lake view as some rooms overlook main road t o Baveno
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Philip J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018 via mobile

Five of my family stayed at the hotel for a week and enjoyed an amazing stay. Firstly, the staff across all departments were so friendly, helpful and attentive which was really impressive. The waiters especially looked after us really well. As a person eith a gluten intolerance they couldn't do enough for me. I enjoyed a wonderful choice and often felt like a VIP with the special meals made just for me. Special mention goes to Francesco and Massimo who were brilliant! The hotel is twinned with the So no next door which extends its already impressive faculties including 2 pools and fitness suite. Rooms are very clean and comfortable but the best overlook the outdoor pool and have view over the mountains. Wonderful indoor and outdoor spaces for social gatherings and relaxation. A brilliant place to stay.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank SJEAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

Stayed for 1 week from 30th June 18 on a bed and breakfast basis staying in a double room with mountain view. The weather was very hot and the room had very good air conditioning which was very welcome. Hotel gardens and pool were first class and it now has a pool snack bar. The hotel and gardens very clean and tidy. Staff very friendly and helpful. Really wide choice of breakfast from fruit, hot bacon, eggs, pancakes, sausages, various different breads and croissants and cold meats. I reported a leaking shower hose to reception and it was replaced within 15 mins!!! Hotel was not overly busy which was welcome as the sister hotel the Grand Hotel Dino was much busier. The sister hotel can be accessed via a tunnel which was stunning with marble floors. Could not fault this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a mountain view room on the road but had no problems with noise but a lake view with a balcony would of been nice.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews