We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (572)
Filter reviews
572 results
Traveller rating
381
156
20
11
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
381
156
20
11
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sister hotel lake maggiore art gallery dining room underground walkway reception staff hotel dino neighbouring hotel beautiful hotel indoor pool half board main course bed and breakfast basis hotel decor is great pool ferry terminal every evening
Filter
Updating list...
298 - 303 of 572 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Went for a week of peace and quiet, which is what we got. The staff at reception were particularly friendly and helpful. Our room was on the small side, but spotless and very well decorated; we don't spend a lot of time in the room, so we were not bothered about its size. The downside was rather firm beds. Service in the dining room was efficient, despite tour parties in an adjoining dining room. The food was the usual Italian hotel fare: a salad buffet, a good choice of served main course and a wide choice of pudding, so no complaints there. The lounges appear to have new furniture, indeed the whole hotel has had a tasteful makeover. We enjoyed relaxing in the garden or on the terrace. Its just a short walk to the ferry station to visit the Borromean Islands, Stresa or Pallanza. Overall we really enjoyed our stay at the Simplon and we wouldn't hesitate to return.

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RJA262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

My wife and I stayed here in June for a week on a Half Board package. The hotel is immaculately kept and the staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel had a good outdoor pool and access to the indoor pool and facilities of the huge Hotel Dino is via an amazing tunnel/gallery built only 6 years ago which is an experience in itself, The breakfasts are excellent anf the dinners were very good (only the vegetables were disappointing.)
The beds are on the firm side. An extra, softer pillow was provided, and the air-con was effective and near silent on its lowest setting. Drinks are expensive with the cheapest bottles of wine being 23 euros. However the luxurious surroundings have to be paid for!
The hotel is just a 5 minute wak to the boat terminal and the hourly bus service which goes to Stresa and eventually to Arona in the south and to Feriolo and Pallanza and beyond to the north. All these are worth a visit. The bus is a coach with air-con and is much cheaper than the boats (2.4 Euros Baveno to Arona.)

Room tip: Get a lake view room on second floor or higher. Avoid rooms on road side.
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank agrestic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Stayed one night on a tour at this hotel. The food was very good. My room was a loft-style with the bedroom upstairs - it was nice, but the TV was downstairs, so couldn't watch TV in bed. The pool area was nice, and the bar had a great view. Hotel has paid wifi ($5 per hour). The hotel was in a good location, and the breakfast was plentiful with lots of selection.

Room tip: Don't get a loft if you have mobility issues....
Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eyeluv2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

The hotel had very friendly staff and the food whether at breakfast or evening meal was of the highest quality. The position was close to a ferry terminal allowing easy visits to other parts of the lake.The gounds were pleasant and contained a large swimming pool. Bedrooms were well appointed and kept very clean.

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cliffDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Wonderful hotel with excellent facilities overlooking Lake Maggiore. Our superior lake view room had a 6 ft bed, bathroom with bath and shower, and sitting area with sofa and chairs. Great breakfasts, (including bacon and boiled or scrambled eggs ) a lovely outdoor pool, and use of the extensive facilities of the sister Hotel Dino linked by an art filled corridor. Conveniently located for the ferry to the Borromee islands and facilities of the town.

Room tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel are very close to the busy main road.
Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Minnou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews