We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A Pure Delight.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Simplon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Simplon
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Baveno
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Pure Delight.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

My sister and i stayed at the Simplon for 10 night's in August 2011, a great experiance all round, beautiful large garden to relax in with a nice pool, fantastic food and service, comfortable clean room's.
The sister hotel the Dino could be accessed by an over/underground art gallery ith marble floor's-absolutely beautiful, the Dino also had an indoor pool which we were allowed to use , the staff in the Simplon seemed to be friendlier than the Dino,
The town was small and a bit quiet but relaxing , There are two other town's to visit which are accessable by boat for a few euro and are within easy reach only about 5 minutes away, all an all a great service.
Would i stay in this hotel again ? Yes please . A great experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank brantheman007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    112
    15
    7
    4
See reviews for
90
204
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

My husband and I stayed half board for one week and could not fault the friendly, professional service we received right from the start from the receptionists to the waiters and maids. The room was of a high standard and was cleaned daily and although we'd read previous reviews stating that the rooms at the front of the hotel were noisy (due to traffic), we had no such problems.The food was fabulous and the menu choices really good, although the drinks were a little expensive. On some occasions it was difficult to decide what to have for dessert because everything looked so tempting, but as the dessert was a buffet, a little of a few things was often the best way! The pool area was lovely with the use of free towels but you also could also use their sister hotel, Hotel Dino's indoor and outdoor pools. The underground tunnel through to their sister hotel was stunning and well worth a view. We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone or of returning in the future.

Room Tip: We had no problems with our room at the front although previous reviews had complained of traffic no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank D-INS90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

We stayed here for two nights on our driving holiday . The hotel reception is beautiful and very classy, we were impressed! .... We booked dinner bed and breakfast for two nights. We were disappointed to be given a twin room for the price we paid , we then went for dinner, very impressive room but the food was dreadful and the service very very impersonal ... For such a high class hotel we were very surprised to see everyone elses left overs on a trolley pushed past us as we ate our meal !! ... To sum up we were very disappointed , after dinner we foolishly went into the bar and had two beers... Bar bill - €16
next time will stay put on the beautiful Lake Garda.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank megan102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

There are not enough words to describe this beautiful hotel!! Stayed here as part of a Cosmos tour in October 2011.

Everything about this hotel was fantastic. Stayed on the top floor, had a private balcony facing the lake. Huge bathroom, nice room, fantastic, helpful staff. Breakfast was great!!! Best coffee I had at an Italian hotel.

The town was lovely. We found some nice restaurants to have dinner but the dinning room in the hotel was better!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

I really enjoyed my stay (3 nights) here, the rooms were clean and we had plenty of room space in our room. You can use the pool of the sister hotel next door (Dino) which is a very swanky affair with a nice indoor pool, but I think the outdoor pool is better at Simplon, it even has sun loungers in the pool.

The staff were really friendly and helpful. We didn't eat in the hotel at all so I can't comment on that.

A few useful things to know: you get your towel for the pool from reception, not from by the pool; the bar is really pricey and was very quiet (although we had a very pleasant game of scrabble after dinner there one evening); there is a really handy supermarket almost directly over the road from the hotel (turn right and cross the road as you leave the hotel)

Room Tip: I'd recommend requesting a lake view in advance, we didn't and weren't able to move to o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank miss_doyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baveno
0.2 km away
Grand Hotel Dino
Grand Hotel Dino
#4 of 15 in Baveno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#2 of 15 in Baveno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
3.5 km away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#2 of 36 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
2.3 km away
Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta
3.4 km away
Grand Hotel Bristol
Grand Hotel Bristol
#9 of 36 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Simplon? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Simplon

Property: Hotel Simplon
Address: Via Giuseppe Garibaldi 20, 28831, Baveno, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Baveno
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Baveno
#2 Luxury Hotel in Baveno
#3 Romantic Hotel in Baveno
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,325 - ₹ 17,493
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Simplon 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Simplon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baveno Simplon Hotel
Hotel Simplon Baveno, Lake Maggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing