We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lake retreat”
Review of Hotel Simplon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Simplon
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Baveno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2011

We booked to visit here July/August 2011 after it was recommended by a friend. Our holiday was superb. The room overlooking the garden, pool and with a clear sight of the lake was immaculate and well maintained by the household staff. On our first night the maitre d showed me a side entrance (ramped) to the restaurant which was excellent as I am disabled and struggle with steps. The half board was well worth it. There were immense buffet breakfasts with cooked options available and in the evening, if there was not a suitable option on the table d'hote menu (which had 4 or so options on the first few courses) they provided a veg meal of my choice. The meals were 5 course but after the first night we didn't bother with the cheese course as we were "stuffed". The gardens were lovely. 10/10!

Room Tip: Pay for a lake view. Rooms overlooking the main entrance are on a main road.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank cheshirec0uple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (468)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Simplon
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

248 - 252 of 468 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2011

I just got back from a 6 night stay at the Simplon Hotel in Baveno. It was one of my best hotel experiences ever in Europe. I arrived jet lagged after a long trip from Canada and the staff was friendly and helpful from the start. I had a large room
on the second floor with a terrace overlooking Baveno and Lake Maggiore, It was wonderful to sit there with a coffee in the morning. The room was very clean and comfortably furnished. The bathroom was perfect. The service was exceptional throughout my stay. The hotel itself has one disadvantage: it is not on the lake. However, it''s connected by a walkway to
its larger glitzier sister hotel, the Grand Dino, which is situated on the lake and has a great terrace for meals and drinks. I had never been to this part of italy before and really enjoyed it. The lakes and mountains are beautiful and it's not crowded or touristy. Go to Baveno and the Simplon.

Room Tip: Lake view with a terrace rather than a balcony
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Proust101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Nice and friendly hotel with and a breakfast that was incredible good.

Room Tip: Stayed in a Camera Duplex.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LisbetM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We recently completed a coach tour of the Best of Switzerland and stayed at this hotel on Lake Maggiore. It is a member of the Zacchera Hotels group and we had a thoroughly enjoyable stay with first class facilities and just great swimming pools.

We stayed overnight and enjoyed the quality facilities in all areas of the hotel. It is a few minutes from the centre of Baveno township. It is situated within a park with beautiful gardens and has an extensive art collection and gallery which connects this hotel to the Grand Hotel Dino. Great views over the picturesque lake are a feature.

Rooms are a good size with all required fittings. Excellent air conditioning

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ken050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

excellent hotel for this popular area in the italian lakes. fantastic food, and even the basic rooms are a good size and attractively furnished.
The pool area is also pretty although the pool could be warmer, there is no pool service. there were many who were making return visits.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank billy052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baveno
0.3 km away
Grand Hotel Dino
Grand Hotel Dino
#4 of 15 in Baveno
1,357 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#2 of 15 in Baveno
505 reviews
3.4 km away
Grand Hotel Bristol
Grand Hotel Bristol
#11 of 35 in Stresa
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
4.0 km away
Regina Palace
Regina Palace
#5 of 35 in Stresa
1,380 reviews
2.4 km away
Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Simplon? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Simplon

Address: Via Giuseppe Garibaldi 20, 28831, Baveno, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Baveno
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Baveno
#2 Luxury Hotel in Baveno
#3 Romantic Hotel in Baveno
Price Range: ₹ 7,828 - ₹ 21,814 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Simplon 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Simplon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baveno Simplon Hotel
Hotel Simplon Baveno, Lake Maggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing