We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOTTA LOVE DINO”
Review of Grand Hotel Dino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hotel Dino
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Baveno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2012

What a magnificent hotel this is. My wife and I along with our son stayed here for 1 night during our Tour with Trafalgar in absolutely loved it. The room we stayed in was very large. The hotel dining was out of this world with views directly onto lake Maggiore in the middle of an attractive village ,many views over the lake, and when the sun went down make sure to have your camera.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the lake side.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllenVirginiaBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,364)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Dino
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

460 - 464 of 1,364 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2012

Location, staff & accommodations ranked top notch. Dining room view lovely, Food was very good & plentiful.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maddiebMiddletown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

What a magnificent hotel this is. My husband and I stayed here for 2nights during our Cosmos Tour in Nov 11 and absolutely loved it. We were originally meant to stay at its sister hotel the Simplon just down the road but as luck would have it plans were changed and we stayed at the Dino. Room was great, spacious and fairly comfortable bed....(as we all know though nothing is like the comfort of your own bed) Furnishings at the hotel were nothing short of breathtaking.It certainly was top class. It is situated right on the lakes edge and you get a beautiful view of the lake whilst eating in the spacious dining room. Breakfast was plentiful and enjoyable. When you ask for coffee you need to say you want american style coffee and you'll get one just like home. We went exploring one night down some stairs and along a long well lit corridor filled with art. After walking for about 20 minuites we ended up at a staircase belonging to the Simplon Hotel which was not accessible because it was closed. I believe that both hotels are owned by the same family. There is a laundromat about 50 metres down the road from the hotel which was helpful to us as we could only find 2 laundromats on our whole tour the 2nd one being in Sorrento. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The glass display cabinets along the hall with items for sale were very reasonably priced in hindsight once we had finished out tour.
D & S Ryan
Ipswich, Queensland
Australia

Room Tip: You shouldn't have any trouble regardless of which room you choose. They are all great.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roxyandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Stayed June 2011.Large attractive and spacious hotel directly onto lake Maggiore in the middle of an attractive village ,many views over the lake.We stumbled across this hotel while looking for a bed for the night and ended up staying 3 nights,we were very surprised just how good this large striking hotel was,a true gem in my opinion in an area where there can be some very disappointing hotels.

pros :Very surprisingly reasonable rate (June).Staff very polite /efficient/very good language skills. Fantastic position with small beach,large manicured gardens,reasonable sized pool with grassy area for sunbathing overlooking the lake.Lots of intimate garden seating with very impressive lake views.Impressive lobby/bars restaurants,very well maintained building and grounds with very attractive decor.Rooms long and thin but immaculate and very attractively decorated with dark woods etc, good sized balcony in our room.Impressive immaculate driveway to hotel with parking or ungerground parking.Village Cafes/bars a few metres away.

Cons : Only the one,the main hotel restaurant has many outdoor seats along the lakeside with fantasitc views but...for some crazy reason you cannot eat outside at night to enjoy the evening warmth with the superb lake as a backdrop.To have such a wonderful position to enjoy a romantic dinner and not be able to use it is somewhat frustrating and the seats remained empty every evening.Needless to say we ate away from the hotel each night.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jnr641802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

I'm just back from a business meeting at this hotel, and was not impressed. It's huge, overly decorated and fairly garish, it takes 10 minutes to walk from one end of the hotel to the other. It's rather chilly -- both the meeting rooms (especially the ones in the basement,) and the staff. I asked to change rooms because my original room had weird sounds coming from the plumbing and was located near an elevator so it was very noisy -- the ancient woman stationed at the front desk who had bedazzled herself with way too many rhinestones argued with me about the noise level. When I asked for a soda in the dining room the waiter just shrugged and said they ran out, and then walked away, never offering any other beverage. Who needs that kind of attitude?

Room Tip: Bring your own toiletries -- the hotel does not provide any lotion, and only a combination "bod...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank H2where
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baveno
0.3 km away
Hotel Simplon
Hotel Simplon
#3 of 15 in Baveno
468 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#2 of 15 in Baveno
506 reviews
3.4 km away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Grand Hotel Bristol
Grand Hotel Bristol
#12 of 35 in Stresa
1,058 reviews
2.1 km away
Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta
3.6 km away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#3 of 35 in Stresa
1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Dino? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Dino

Address: Via Giuseppe Garibaldi 20, 28831, Baveno, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Baveno
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Baveno
#4 Family Hotel in Baveno
#5 Romantic Hotel in Baveno
Price Range: ₹ 8,135 - ₹ 19,328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Dino 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Dino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Baveno
Dino Hotel
Grand Hotel Dino Baveno, Lake Maggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing