We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful villa in a stunning location”
other travellers have booked this property
The view from our roof top terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The view from our roof top terrace
Ca' Livia, Immersed in a luxuriant garden The lift
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
The view from our roof top terrace
Ca' Livia, Immersed in a luxuriant garden
The lift
Terrace outside living room
Dining area
The kitchen
Double bed room
Twin/double room
Balcony of the two rooms
Lower level room with sofa-bed
Roof top terrace
Varenna, a pictoresque village on the shore of the lake of Como
The church in Varenna for marriage
Lake side view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Varenna, Lake Como, Lombardy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
cmcg141
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful villa in a stunning location”
Reviewed 7 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

A family group were in Varenna to attend our daughter's wedding and five of us stayed in Ca Livia. The villa is split into 4 levels providing spacious and comfortable accommodation. A lift allows easy access from the rooftop terrace at road level to the basement area and gardens at lake's edge. A walk through the gardens leads to a private gate opening on to the lake front walk. The villa is well equipped and spotlessly clean, balconies on all levels, and due to its central location, just a short walk from a variety of excellent trattorias and restaurants. Located a stone's throw from the ferry port, towns and villages around the lake are easily accessible. The main event here is location - the views are simply breathtaking, and no better way to enjoy them than relaxing on the wonderfully appointed roof terrace of Ca Livia. Thank you to the Messrs Villoresi and helpful housekeeper.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: No complaints
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wordwren1...
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise....we didn't want to leave!”
Reviewed 4 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My family - husband and two, adult sons - stayed at Villa Ca Livia for one week - not long enough. We were welcomed warmly, shown round and then allowed to get on with the business of relaxing. The situation of the Villa is perfect, as other reviewers have already stated, and there are insufficient superlatives to describe the views, which change constantly as the light shifts. We particularly loved the fact that every level of the house has a balcony or terrace, not to mention the exquisite, magical gardens - you can always find somewhere quiet to sit and take in the surroundings. The house itself is very comfortable and well equipped, and the air conditioning means it's an oasis on a hot day! We had a wonderful time exploring the local area, including a trip to a nearby beach; the cable car from Argegno to Pigra; Castello Vezia; the gardens of Monastero and Cipressi, and a day out in Milan. Most of all, we enjoyed the local bars and restaurants on the waterfront and in the town square, finding the locals very welcoming and the food delicious. And you can't beat having your own, private gated entrance onto the lakefront, not to mention a lift to take you from floor to floor, and a private parking space if needed! I also loved the fact that a little tortoise roams the garden - again, just part of the surprises in this outstanding villa. A holiday we will treasure - I very much hope we can come back! Thank you to the owners and the housekeeper, for a fantastic week in Varenna.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, views.
Liked least: No complaints at all!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acostajor...
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Spacious Villa with Great View”
Reviewed 15 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My wife and I stayed here for three nights with our two sons. The villa has three levels and is very roomy. The bedrooms were comfortable and the bathrooms clean with good water pressure and hot water when you needed it. We opened the windows at night and slept with the cool night air; there was not need to use the A/C.
The villa has three levels were people can separate and do their own thing. There are three separate balconies with spectacular views of Lake Como. You can sit and read a book or just watch the many ferries move across the lake transporting people and cars.
The villa sits on beautiful grounds with gardens, statues, and gazebos. It is just off the town center and very close to the ferry dock.
We were met at the train station upon arrival by the son of the owner, who took us to the villa and gave us a nice explanation of everything.
We were very comfortable and enjoyed our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and view
Liked least: TV was difficult to turn on, but we did not mind not watching any during our stay.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautifully Stunning Ca Livia, with exceptional views”
Reviewed 6 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Ca Livia, is fabulous and has got to be the most amazing villa in Varenna. It has direct water front access, luxourious private gardens and amazing views from 3 different levels.
Mr Alessandro meet us at the villa showed us all around explaining all aspects of the villa and made us feel very welcome.
We spent hours in the sun on the large terrace drinking in the beautiful views, watching the world go by. It is truly stunning!!
We are staying here now and I write this as I watch the boats and yachts Bob up & down the lake.. This is a fabulous Villa for a holiday in Varenna. The location is perfect and right on the lake – halfway between the main town with its delightful restaurants and cafes and the ferry terminal for access to Bellagio etc all within an easy few minute walk. The train station is within a 10min walk. The Villa Ca Livia has been tastefully renovated which includes a modern lift to take guests & their luggage from road level down to the first level which has 2 bedrooms and further down to another level of living/kitchen (with wood fire). Even though the Villa is in the middle of town it is surrounded by the most beautiful gardens – very private and secluded. Access to the town can be either upper entry (road level) or through the garden gate to the lakeside walkway. The hosts were terrific and nothing was too much trouble.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandri...
Alexandria, VA
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fabulous waterfront home - and wheelchair friendly”
Reviewed 19 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were planning an extended family vacation with my elderly mother who does not walk well, and needed a house that was elder and disabled friendly. This house was so beautiful, with balconies overlooking the lake. The gardens are exquisite. The house contains an elevator so it was easy for my mother to get around. I would have given the house a higher rating except that it contains many steps that were a bit slippery both outside and inside - necessitating younger members of the group to also use the elevator. I can highly recommend both the house and Varenna, lovely location and views, and easy access by train and ferry. We caught the ferry to many other lakeside locations, including Bellagio - and we liked Varenna best. We also took an overnight trip to Venice by train which was wonderful. Highly recommend.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing