We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely Ideal with spectacular views from all...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of MARINAHOUSE

promenade by night
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
promenade by night
VARENNA night is  beautiful Amazing  lake view at sunset
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
promenade by night
VARENNA night is  beautiful
Amazing  lake view at sunset
castel Vezio
Varenna view
View from livingroom window
Kitchen
Livingroom
Sofabed in the livingroom
Window with lake view
Bedroom
Bedrooom
Bathroom
Balcony
St. Giorgio Church in the main square
Promenade on the lake
Promenade
Varenna typical alley
Varenna with snow
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Varenna, Lake Como, Lombardy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
59impala
NZzz
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely Ideal with spectacular views from all windows!”
Reviewed 22 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
4
people found this review helpful

Our travels included five nights in Marinahouse, Varenna. We left Milano Centrale an hour earlier than we previously had arranged and texted Lara that we were on our way. It was an easy one hour train ride. The walk from the station to Marinahouse is moderate with some small rises and falls and takes around 15 minutes and we meet with Lara in the very nice piazza in front of the church tower. Our earlier arrival didn't bother her as she showed us to the large yellow building and the central door. She took one our large suitcases and climbed up the two flights of stairs to the apartment. Lara is OK at English but not fluent however her friend Alessia speaks very good English. She helped Lara show us around the very clean and tidy apartment and treated us to a very welcome drink and cookies.

The apartment is very tastefully decorated with everything you need to stay as long as you want...dishwasher, washing machine and clothesline on the small deck and a very comfortable bed. There are shutters on the windows which block out noise and light assuring you of a great nights sleep...well, until 7am. It seems like a local event will really spark the bells into awesome song which we witnessed the morning of a wedding. The wedding party boarded a cruiser at the small jetty just down from our lounge room window actually. Lara and her family also live in this building and she leaves you to enjoy your holiday, but stressed that she is there if needed. We used the small dairy shop about 50 metres away for all of out grocery needs. It seemed to have all of the basics and we had very nice coffee in the nearby piazza and drinks and snacks at Varenna Cafe on the waterfront which was a delightful place to spend an hour or two.

Now, the views from this apartment are absolutely stunning and we could barely believe our eyes as to how beautiful this area is. It is very easy to board a boat to the other towns in the central Lake Como area to witness some of the worlds finest mansions and scenery and we even took a bus from Menagio to Lake Lugano in Switzerland for the day. Lugano is a stunning town with very different architecture to Lake Como and a very enjoyable experience. Varenna is not full of tourists like Belagio but they do come to visit during the day so evenings when they have gone is good...hmm we are those tourists too but you seem to fit in when you are staying there.

We travelled a lot of Europes top destinations including a Med cruise on this journey but nothing comes close to the fantastic holiday that we had in Lara's apartment (Marinahouse), Varenna, Lake Como.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole package..the ideal apartment and the location.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billynyc
New York City
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Location, Large Appartment, Beautiful Views”
Reviewed 18 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Huge appartment, super well appointed, great location just off main square. Attentive owners who live in building and available if you need. (Some Italian helps!) Very good value considering the size of the place and location. I'd happily stay here again. As others may have noted there are church bells at 7:00am I believe, but for me, I fall back asleep no problem. There are beautiful views from every window.
The appartment is not hard to find, but do ask for the address or specific directions. Google maps is not so helpful with the name only. Since the owners live there, its really no problem to arrange arrival.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
461Ann
Fowey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Eagerly awaiting our next visit.”
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We spent two weeks in Varenna in August with our four year old grand-daughter. We could not have asked for a better experience. The apartment is lovely with stunning views of the lake. It is spotlessly clean and in an ideal location for access by car. Lara and her family, who live in the building, made us feel very welcome and her daughter and our grand-daughter quickly became ‘holiday friends’. We were greeted at the door on arrival by Lara who helped with our luggage and our daughter, who was visiting us from Milan, was even offered an overnight car parking space belonging to the family. Lara would often leave fresh home-grown produce on our doorstep: tomatoes, courgettes and delicious home produced ricotta cheese. In short, nothing was too much trouble. We would definitely stay in this apartment again and cannot recommend it too highly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wonderful setting and friendly reception
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canucks45...
Siena, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely Lake Holiday”
Reviewed 28 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This spacious apartment was the perfect accommodation for a visit to the Lake Como area. Friendly manager gives a warm welcome. Super clean, comfortable bed, cute kitchen for breakfasts and teas. Washing machine and outside clothesline makes it a great place to get refreshed. Location is perfect with lots of ferries to all the other lake towns and villas but the evenings are quieter here than other places which was ideal after a day of mingling with the crowds. We had excellent dining experiences. Topped it off with a day trip from Menaggio to Lugano Switzerland. Perfect holiday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solsen81
1 review
“A perfect Easter holiday.”
Reviewed 23 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Very friendly and helpfull host! Amacing view and really great location in Varenna!
Nothing to complain about at all.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;