We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Loved everything about this apartment!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa Mary Varenna

the front lake position of the house 3 view from the lake
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
the front lake position of the house 3 view from the lake
the house from outside1 the house from outside2
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
54 reviews
the front lake position of the house 3 view from the lake
the house from outside1
the house from outside2
kitchen and living room
bath room
bed room
living room
view from inside3
view from inside4
out side the house 1
view from inside2
view from inside1
out side the house 2
the front lake position of the house 1 view from the lake
varenna from the lake 1
varenna from the lake 2
varenna from the lake 3
the front lake position of the house 2 view from the lake
varenna and its front lake walk
varenna1
varenna2
varenna3
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Varenna, Lake Como, Lombardy

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
XrayGill
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved everything about this apartment!”
Reviewed 9 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This is a wonderful apartment. The views of the lake and hills are stunning, the position is perfect - right by the ferries and a lovely walk along the coastal path to town. There are bars and restaurants on your doorstep and the station is 5 mins away. The wi-fi works well, the apartment is immaculate and very quiet. To top it all, the terrace is fabulous. And the owners are delightful, coming to meet you at the station, and then running us back. Be warned, it is up 60 steps - but that's how you get the views and means you can eat more gelato!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
991carmel...
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful apartment with amazing views!”
Reviewed 11 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We (family of 4) stayed here for 4 nights. It was such a lovely, clean apartment with all the necessary amenities. From every window there is a spectacular view of the Lake. It is perfectly placed for easy access to the ferry and train station.
The shops, cafés and restaurants are all just a short stroll away. The nearest supermarket is a 10 minute ferry ride away in Menaggio. There is a little playground just around the corner which was perfect for our children!
It is so quiet and peaceful here and we enjoyed every moment. Andrea and her parents are just wonderful hosts, they even picked us up from the station. They couldn't do enough to help and in true Italian hospitality they made us feel so welcome! We certainly hope to return again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ojmartin
Lewes, Delaware
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, great location in a charming town”
Reviewed 13 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My wife, Karen, found this place while searching on Trip Advisor. We had some idea of where Varenna was, and liked the prospect of staying right on the Lake Como. The whole experience, however, exceeded our expectations. The apartment had a great location, spacious, clean, adequately equipped. The owners were pleasant, available and helpful. Varenna is small, quiet, quaint, with a good variety of restaurants, magnificent gardens, a ten minute boat ride to Bellagio, Menagio and other adorable lake communities. Do not expect to see a supermarket. If you plan to cook, you need to supply yourself at a nearby larger town. Varenna has a tiny grocery store and a single, expensive delicatessen. Period.
However, don't let that stop you. We had an exceptional vacation there (4 days)
Highly recommended!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alster101
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing views and great location”
Reviewed 30 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were met at the train station by the lovely owners and delivered to the apartment. We were very impressed by the service and location. Lots of local information provided which was really useful. Would we stay here again? Sure would!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maddyWisb...
wisbech
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Utterly perfect, stunning views”
Reviewed 24 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

I could not have chosen a better apartment. It was perfect in every way. Mary very kindly collected me from the station and I couldn't wait to look out of the windows. It was just what I had dreamed of.
The bed was very comfortable and the chairs. You could be at the boat station in under a minute and at the restaurants in about five minutes. There are only 2 small shops for essentials in the town square but 'eating in' would be such a waste with such fantastic restaurants on offer. Have cocktails/light lunch at Varenna Caffe, Elisa is so sweet and the food/drinks/view exceptional. Don't miss eating at La Vista or the restaurant at Villa Cipressi, see my other reviews for other restaurants, all were fantastic.
Gardens at Villas Monastero, Mellzi, Carlotta, Balbianello are all breathtaking, go to Balbianello on a Tuesday and visit Lenno market first and buy a picnic.
The stairs were not a problem for me at all.
For my money this apartment must be the best for a single or a couple. Thankyou Andrea and Mary

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, the bed, the light and airiness, the location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing