We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Even Off-Season is Wonderful at Casa Maddelena!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Varenna, Lake Como, Lombardy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Catji
Bellingham, Washington
1 review
“Even Off-Season is Wonderful at Casa Maddelena!”
Reviewed 10 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

I stayed in Varenna five nights, at Casa Maddelena in November. It was a wonderfully memorable experience. My lodging, right on the main square, was convenient to grocery shopping and access to several interesting walks around the town. Grocery shops were close by. I strongly recommend the delicious yoghurt at the macelleria. I ate every night at the Del Sole restaurant just downstairs where the food was delicious and the staff warm and welcoming. My wonderful hostess at the guesthouse, Marilena, picked me up at the train station from Milan, and deposited me there the morning I left. She was a wonderful resource for ideas of how to see and visit the best places. From the guesthouse it is only a ten-minute, downhill walk to the ferry for Bellagio and Meaggio. Although it rained almost all the time I was there, on the last day the sun--and the snow-capped mountains--came out. I was delighted with my entire time in Varenna and heartily encourage anyone looking for a comfortable, beautiful experience of the Lago de Como area to stay at Casa Maddelena.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen and washing machine
Liked least: Well, the church bells are charming and all, but there are a lot of them!
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valiant18
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just a Great Place to Stay!”
Reviewed 8 November 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Marilena is a marvellous host, living in the apartment below and happy to offer advice and recommendations when needed. She kindly picked us up from the station and dropped us off at the end of our stay.
The apartment is exceptionally well equipped and scrupulously clean, with a great location overlooking the square.
Varenna is a lovely place which is almost off the main tourist track so it's a bit less commercial than towns on the other side of the lake. There's a small grocers, a green grocers and the local fisherman sells newly caught fish out of his house (but you need to get there early to beat the hotels and restaurants). So, you can eat fresh and local if you don't feel like going to one of the good range of bars, cafes and restaurants. For the best pizza ever, get some plastic cups, a bottle of wine, a takeaway from Luigi's and sit by the lake on a bench near the marina, watching the sun go down.
We didn't want to leave and are dreaming of returning.
We'll definitely be staying at Casa Madellena again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Couldn't single out any one thing
Liked least: Leaving.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hank v
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Charming Varenna Apartment”
Reviewed 2 November 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We were very lucky to have chosen to stay at Marelina House in Varenna for one week. Our host, Marelina made us very welcome and gave us plenty of helpful tips for things to do and see as well as buying food etc. The apartment was very clean and comfortable and we did enjoy having the windows open and hearing the locals as they passed through or sat in the square below. It was great eating our breakfast seated on the little balcony by the kitchen each morning. Being only a short walk away from the lake we felt that it was an ideal location
from which to explore Varenna and other towns connected by the ferry service. It was a fantastic place to spend a week. We would have been very happy to stay longer.
Thanks Marelina. l

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendly owner
Liked least: We liked it all
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clive364
Tarporley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well-appointed apartment run by an exceptionally helpful owner.”
Reviewed 29 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We cannot overemphasise the warmth of the welcome and the practical assistance provided by the owner, Marilena. She is a very caring person whom we got to know very well during our two week stay. Having lived most of her life in the area Marilena is very well connected locally and was able to give us lots of useful information. She went out of her way to help us in every way possible.

Casa Maddalena is situated on the main square, Piazza San Giorgio, and is very handy for the businesses in the village, e.g. small grocer, deli, fresh fish seller, pharmacy etc. Like a number of Italian pharmacies this one stocks a small supply of gluten-free foods. The lakeside is only a short walk away and the village is well supplied with good restaurants and gelaterie. Transport links are good with rail, ferry and local bus services within easy reach.

The apartment is very well appointed and spotlessly clean. We really could not have asked for a better place to spend a pleasant fortnight.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wonderful friendly service
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazingly energetic and caring host!”
Reviewed 10 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed five nights with our children aged 11 & 9.
Marilena collected us from the railway station, whisked us to the apartment and then took us to the next village to shop for supplies.
She then gave us a thorough briefing on the apartment and facilities and then basically left us to our own devices for the rest of the stay....perfect.
We departed at 0700 but Marilena gladly transported us to the railway station.
The apartment itself is smallish for four, but immaculately clean, loaded with personality and has everything you need.
As an added bonus the windows open on to the main square - you can just watch local life pass you by.
Thanks for a really memorable stay Marilena...Ciao.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A host that goes the extra mile
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 123
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing