We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Olivedo(Varenna)
US$ 187
US$ 183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Monte Codeno(Varenna)(Great Value!)
US$ 131
US$ 123
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 217
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Albergo Beretta(Varenna)(Great Value!)
US$ 135
US$ 131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Orange House(Varenna)(Great Value!)
US$ 91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 692
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 392
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Fio & Gio(Varenna)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (551)
Filter reviews
551 results
Traveller rating
388
109
35
15
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
388
109
35
15
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake comopartial lake viewsmall balconyan aperitifparking garagewonderful hotelsuperior roomking bedtrain stationbreakfast servicesmall hotelroom was spotlesseach morningbreakfast roomviews are spectacularlovely terracethird floor
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 551 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2017

This was our first time to Varenna and Hotel du Lac and we were bowled over. Our room was in the middle of the top floor with a 180 degree view of Lake Como and the surrounding mountains. Such peace, beauty and tranquility was bliss. Blockout curtains, air conditioning and a firm but comfortable bed ensured rest. The bathroom was small but clean. The balcony was where you wanted to be to soak up that view! Breakfast on the terrace below was a treat each morning and along with cereals, yoghurt, juice, coffee made to order, eggs, bacon and breads etc. The receptionist was multilingual and very helpful. I will not forget the scent of jasmine drifting in the air from the terrace or those magical views. Did not want to leave!

Room Tip: Book ahead for a lake view room.
Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Aussie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

We come back here time and time again. Varenna is a gorgeous place, hotel Du Lac is special. The staff are super friendly and helpful. Its almost impossible to comprehend the vista presented to you from the terrace. There is nothing quite like taking your first beer and gazing out over the lake. Breakfast is pretty special, watching the swallows and the to and fro of the ferries. The location of the hotel is also totally fab,

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CallmeSteveStA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

This is a great choice right on the lake. The hotel is very much a boutique option and has a very welcoming ambience. With Varenna's size almost any accommodation is convenient, but this hotel is worthy of a slightly higher room rate being set right over the water The dining room where we had an excellent breakfast on each of 3 mornings overlooks the water with large windows / doors that open out onto the deck. If the weather had have been a little warmer I don't think we'd have left the balcony until half the day had gone.

Room Tip: Definitely pay a little extra to secure a lake side room - you will not regret it.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Diver_Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

The Hotel du Lac is situated on the Varenna waterfront. A taxi from the railway station will cost 10eu. A lot of people visit the Hotel du Lac just to enjoy the afternoon aperitivo on the restaurant terraces overlooking the lake which we did as well. It begs the question: "Is this what George Clooney experiences?" It has a perfect position in Varenna with a superb 180 degree view arguably the best in town. We stayed here for four nights as part of a Hidden Italy self guided walk around Lake Como. Our room was on the second floor with double opening doors onto a balcony which had a magnificent view of the lake. The room itself was lovely and it looked like the hotel had been recently refurbished.There is no lift in this hotel so you may need to ask for help if your luggage is heavy. The staff here are friendly and helpful if you need travel advice or restaurant bookings. The restaurant is open for lunch but not dinner and appeared to be quite popular. As we were out walking during the day we didn't have the opportunity to have lunch there. There are lots of good restaurants close by for dinner. I would stay here again if visiting Varenna.

Room Tip: Room on level 2 facing the lake
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ermil-Thea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

We didn't stay at the hotel but ate on the lake-side terrace. We had to move to the other terrace because someone started to smoke a cigar. Outdoor smoking at restaurants is, unfortunately, still tolerated in Italy. The food was fair. The ravioli was served "with mushroom salad". This was a few shavings of fresh mushrooms placed on top of each of the 4 ravioli. The filling of potato and sage was quite nice. We didn't know that "trout" refers to salmon. It was served with a very bland creamy almond sauce. The salad had pieces of cold potato in it and this we rather liked and will replicate in our own kitchen. Had we had time, we might have gone back to try some of their other dishes.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JWGrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews