We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel du Lac
Nearby Hotels
Royal Victoria(Varenna)
US$ 346
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 641
US$ 542
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Albergo Beretta(Varenna)(Great Value!)
US$ 106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 151
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence L'Ulivo(Bellagio)(Great Value!)
US$ 210
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 949
US$ 905
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 143
US$ 113
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Olivedo(Varenna)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Eremo Gaudio(Varenna)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (521)
Filter reviews
521 results
Traveller rating
362
106
34
14
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
362
106
34
14
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake comosmall balconypartial lake viewan aperitifhotel terracehear the water lappingparking garagewonderful hotelsmall hoteltrain stationking bedshort walkperfect spotroom was spotlessviews are spectaculareach morningreception area
Filter
Updating list...
251 - 256 of 521 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We had 3 rooms for 3 nights (six of us... family... all adults) in mid June, all with lake views. It was the first trip for all of us to Lake Como and our first stop on a 3 week trip. What a great way to start. We rented a boat with a guide for a day and visited many places on the lake. It was 450E (well worth it). Unless Richard Branson will rent you his place, the Hotel Du Lac might be the next best realistic option. First, Varenna was our favorite town on the lake that we visited and others indicated the same, including our boat driver (guide). And the Hotel Du Lac seemed to be the best hotel, in the best location in Varenna. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was good and you couldn't ask for a nicer setting. The rooms were nice with beautiful views but who wants to stay in your room when you are at a place like this! The ferry is close by and convenient for getting to the larger towns. We went to many great places on our trip to Europe, but none we liked better than our 3 days at the Hotel Du Lac in Varenna. We will absolutely go back if we make it back to Lake Como.

Room Tip: One part of the hotel has an elevator and another doesn't. If that matters to you, you will want to ask. We had rooms in both sections. The views were better based on the room position in the section without the elevator but the rooms themselves were nicer in the section with the elevator (more recently renovated it appeared). Of course this is based on just the 3 rooms we had.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kintahntee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

We did not stay at the hotel but enjoyed sitting on the patio overlooking the lake for a drink one afternoon. The patio has a trellis covered by vines which provide shade and the honeysuckle was in bloom filling the air with an amazing aroma.

Would highly recommend this
serene environment after a long day exploring the towns along Lake Como.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank CRSabol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We love this little gem of a hotel. We stayed here five years ago and were afraid we would be disappointed on our return visit - not so! We spent 4 nights in Room 22, which has a little balcony looking over the beautiful waters of Lake Como. Our room was clean and spacious, and our bed was very comfortable, with top-quality linens. The staff is absolutely outstanding and helped to make this a truly memorable stay. They went out of their way and way beyond expectations to take care of our every need (particularly Valerie, but also Guido and Connor). It is so peaceful and quiet, we loved sitting on our balcony or on the terrace for breakfast or afternoon or evening drinks. The water shimmers and truly makes for a magical experience. We hated to leave and will be back!

Stayed: June 2013
1  Thank dpierce5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This hotel is perfectly situated with a view in every direction from the terrace . We had a room above the terrace so we had a breathtaking view from our small balcony. We were on the third floor. This part of the building had no elevator but the rooms are perfeclty located. A small sacrifice for the view. The room was large, clean and comfortable. The staff was terrific. The breakfast was more than adequate. Tasty croissants, sweets, eggs, cheeses, meats etc. Varrenna has very good restaurants and is convenient by ferry to the other towns on the lake. I highly recommend this boutique hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ERK616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This hotel was our first stop in our family vacation in Italy. I wished we had ended here in order to wind down from the hectic nature of the large cities. Instead, we started here, and were mesmerized with the charm of Varenna, the beauty of the hotel's location and the hotel itself. The room well suited our family of four with a king sized bed in the loft and two twins downstairs. Huge picture window overlooked the lake. The room was not fancy by any standard, in fact, rather spartan, but it was clean and comfortable, and quiet. The air conditioning worked well. A tiny but clean and functional bathroom rounded out the room. (Europe seems to like small shower stalls.) The staff were always kind, pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was served in a windowed area that overlooked the lake. Heavenly. Breakfast was good with tasty scrambled eggs and a variety of meats, cheeses and pastries. Just right, just enough without being overdone or lacking anything. Coffee, any type at your request. We didn't want to leave the breakfast room. The elevator is tiny and doesn't quite always go up to the room (depending on the location) but it was only a matter of a few steps and we got well used to schlepping luggage. The bill was accurate, check out was efficient. We loved it. Peaceful and quiet, off the town square. Everything was walkable. Great restaurants abound in the city. I'd go back there in a heartbeat and skip the rest of the country.

Room Tip: A balcony would really ice the cake but I don't believe they had that available for the quad room.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tenr2th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews