We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 307
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 360/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Olivedo(Varenna)
US$ 233
US$ 221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 346
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Monte Codeno(Varenna)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$ 133
US$ 124
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 191
US$ 186
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
B&B Il Bolentino(Varenna)(Great Value!)
US$ 132
US$ 95
B&B.it
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fio & Gio(Varenna)(Great Value!)
US$ 117
B&B.it
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (541)
Filter reviews
541 results
Traveller rating
380
108
35
14
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
380
108
35
14
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake comopartial lake viewsmall balconyan aperitifparking garagewonderful hotelshort walkking bedsmall hotelbreakfast servicetrain stationroom was spotlessbreakfast roomlovely terraceeach morningreception areaviews are spectacular
Filter
Updating list...
306 - 311 of 541 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Our Superior Lakeview room #11 had a great balcony that overlooked Lake Como with incredible views of the mountains. We have visited the Lake Como area many times often staying in Bellagio but this time, based on the helpful reviews found on TripAdvisor, we chose Varenna and the Hotel Du Lac. Each morning, the buffet breakfast was hot and delicious with almost anything you could want for breakfast. If you are planning a trip to Italy and Lake Como, I highly recommend Hotel Du Lac in Varenna.

Room Tip: Room # 11 is great!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

we loved this hotel and the location. The hotel had nice amenities in the room, good size room, very comfortable with balaony overlooking the lake. Perfect location in Varenna on the lake. Hotel spotless, staff helpful. We would definitely stay here again, may have been our favorite hotel of our three week Italy trip.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeppinoMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We had spotted this hotel in a previous trip around Lake Como and wanted to stay here at a future date. We were not disappointed. We opted for a lake view room and ended up on the second floor (room 24). The check-in process was smooth and the friendly concierge took us to our room. Opening the door we were greeted with a picture-postcard view out over the small balcony and onto the lake. The room was clean, the bed comfortable. Breakfast was OK, but the scrambled eggs were a bit watery. The cappaccinos were great, but you did need to order separately (free). There is parking available, but be aware that a small car is a lot easier to maneuver in the narrow spaces one finds in Varenna! We loved Varenna as a village and would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Room 24 for 2 people, beautiful views onto the lake.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AstroSwiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Staying at the Hotel du Lac was a great start to our trip to Italy. I can't imagine a better and more relaxed start to each day.....a really nice breakfast with sweeping views of Lake Como and the mountains. I thought the breakfasts were great...it was buffet, with scrambled eggs, cured meats, fruit, juice, yogurt, a large selection of pastries and of course a great cappuccino. The staff is completely professional....friendly and helpful, at the same time unobtrusive. Hotel du Lac also had a good assortment of welcome information.

My husband and I also had two lunches there...convenient and relaxing and we thought the food was great. We really enjoyed staying there and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Meg505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night in mid September. The hotel is friendly, with on site secure parking. We stayed in room 24 on the 2nd floor with an incredible double balcony looking out to Bellagio and all 3 'legs' of lake como. Breakfast was simple and about as good as you could hope for in Italy. Very clean, and while they have a 24hr laundry service, no irons are allowed in the rooms.
Varenna itself was the most relaxing place we visited/saw on either lake como or maggiore. Not many mention this but bear in mind- east side of lake (varenna) you get shady mornings, but afternoon sun & sunsets. West side, vice versa.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hensio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews