We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream come true”
Review of Hotel du Lac

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel du Lac
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2012

I saw this place about three years ago and dreamed of a visit. I had high expectations and hopes for the Hotel and the town. We finally visited recently and I was not disappointed in any way. The Hotel was wonderfully appointed, our room and balcony, an absolute delight. The town was small and easy to stroll around; we ate at a few local restaurants which were also perfect. It probably helped that we were almost 'out of season,' as I'm sure the town gets very overcrowded in the high summer. None the less, this place and its surroundings are a delight. It was our experience that the people who work in the bars, cafes, shops and hotels are a credit to the town and themselves. Thank - you Varenna and the Hotel du Lac. Hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (489)
There are newer reviews for Hotel du Lac
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

258 - 262 of 489 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2012

Our Superior Lakeview room #11 had a great balcony that overlooked Lake Como with incredible views of the mountains. We have visited the Lake Como area many times often staying in Bellagio but this time, based on the helpful reviews found on TripAdvisor, we chose Varenna and the Hotel Du Lac. Each morning, the buffet breakfast was hot and delicious with almost anything you could want for breakfast. If you are planning a trip to Italy and Lake Como, I highly recommend Hotel Du Lac in Varenna.

Room Tip: Room # 11 is great!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

we loved this hotel and the location. The hotel had nice amenities in the room, good size room, very comfortable with balaony overlooking the lake. Perfect location in Varenna on the lake. Hotel spotless, staff helpful. We would definitely stay here again, may have been our favorite hotel of our three week Italy trip.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeppinoMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We had spotted this hotel in a previous trip around Lake Como and wanted to stay here at a future date. We were not disappointed. We opted for a lake view room and ended up on the second floor (room 24). The check-in process was smooth and the friendly concierge took us to our room. Opening the door we were greeted with a picture-postcard view out over the small balcony and onto the lake. The room was clean, the bed comfortable. Breakfast was OK, but the scrambled eggs were a bit watery. The cappaccinos were great, but you did need to order separately (free). There is parking available, but be aware that a small car is a lot easier to maneuver in the narrow spaces one finds in Varenna! We loved Varenna as a village and would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Room 24 for 2 people, beautiful views onto the lake.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AstroSwiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Staying at the Hotel du Lac was a great start to our trip to Italy. I can't imagine a better and more relaxed start to each day.....a really nice breakfast with sweeping views of Lake Como and the mountains. I thought the breakfasts were great...it was buffet, with scrambled eggs, cured meats, fruit, juice, yogurt, a large selection of pastries and of course a great cappuccino. The staff is completely professional....friendly and helpful, at the same time unobtrusive. Hotel du Lac also had a good assortment of welcome information.

My husband and I also had two lunches there...convenient and relaxing and we thought the food was great. We really enjoyed staying there and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Meg505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varenna
0.1 km away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
438 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Olivedo
Hotel Olivedo
#3 of 6 in Varenna
749 reviews
0.7 km away
Eremo Gaudio
Eremo Gaudio
#5 of 6 in Varenna
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Villa Cipressi
Hotel Villa Cipressi
#4 of 6 in Varenna
433 reviews
3.0 km away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
807 reviews
3.4 km away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Lac? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Lac

Address: Via del Prestino 4, 23829 Varenna, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Price Range: ₹ 14,773 - ₹ 21,932 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel du Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Lac Varenna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing