We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcome surprise”
Review of Varenna Mon Amour

Varenna Mon Amour
Ranked #5 of 35 Restaurants in Varenna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 17 - US$ 34
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 13 August 2018

Visiting Varenna with friends we were looking for a quiet lunch spot. Varenna was in full summer mode and we were doubtful we would find a restaurant which would not be overpriced and overwhelmed. Then we spotted Mon Amour and thought the view down the alley way would be worth the premium we expected to pay. What we found was a very reasonably priced, authentic Italian bistrot with delightful staff and a quiet but beautiful location. I will definitely be back!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank PeterS527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (580)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 580 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2018

Our idea of a great restaurant experience is good food, good ambiance, and a friendly wait staff that is welcoming and makes a personal connection with you. Verenna Mon Amour checked all the boxes. Early in our traveling life we always felt that we should eat at a different place every night to get a variety of experiences. But we have since learned the if you find a place like this, you should go back another night if you are able. It's usually even better the second time because you are recognized and warmly welcomed back and often given a little special treatment. That's what we did at this restaurant and it was a lot of fun.
The waiter Raffaele was very personable, attentive, and enjoyable to talk to. He made great recommendations on desserts and wine. The pasta here is excellent. Our favorites were the Fusilli Salciccia and Gnocchi Mozzerella. The octopus salads with potatoes was very good. Raffaele's recommendation for dessert the delicious Lemon Creme Puff. The second night we had the Fusilli again and a sea bass. This time we went for Tiramisu for dessert and it was fantastic. There are only three outdoor tables and that's really where you want to sit with the atmospheric view down the alley to the sea. Highly recommended for a meal in Varenna with Raffaele.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

One of our favourite restaurants in Varenna. Delicious food (try the steaks) and great service. Very comfortable inside - also has outside tables with a view but it was windy when we were there.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank SuzanneSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018

Just another review echoing others about how wonderful this restaurant was. My seafood pasta was great. Service was a bit slow but we got the heads-up when we entered the place. Maybe they were short staffed but that slow meal was fine with us. Will come back again next time.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Zorro_ICW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

Quiet place off the touristic places seafront. Good service by Rafhael. Extra good mozzarella and delicious mussels and lobster.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank AnetteBergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Varenna Mon Amour also viewed

 
Varenna, Lake Como
Varenna, Lake Como
 
Varenna, Lake Como
 

Been to Varenna Mon Amour? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing