We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quiet, spacious, well equipped apartment in a...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa Margherita 2

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
62 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Como, Lake Como, Lombardy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Russian first
Any
English first
OzTravell...
Buderim, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Quiet, spacious, well equipped apartment in a peaceful location”
Reviewed 19 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We were pleasantly surprised when we walked into this apartment. It was spacious and well equipped and in a very peaceful location. It is located just outside the busy tourist area on the side of the hill leading up to Brunate. The 5 to 10 minute walk from the middle of Como was not a problem for us although I guess it could be difficult for the elderly.

The apartment was very bright and airy, with large windows opening out over the city. There is no airconditioning but our wonderful hostess Gigliola ensured we were comfortable with plenty of fans. The church bells on the next block were beautiful to listen to throughout the day.

A car is not necessary, but if you do have one, parking in the streets around the apartment can be a daily challenge. We soon got the knack of finding vacant free carparks and only had to pay twice in four weeks.

Our hostess Gigliola was an extremely friendly and gracious lady who went out of her way to be of assistance if required. Living in the building next door allowed her to always be on call if needed but if not we didn't see her. Thank you Gigliola.

We would certainly be very happy to stay in Casa Margherita 2 again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and very helpful hostess
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2012
Dear friends thanks very much for your friendly stay and for your nice review. Best wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JT38_12
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Delightful, spacious and quiet apartment that feels like home”
Reviewed 19 July 2012 for a stay in May 2012

Casa Margherita 2 is a very spacious, comfortable, well-located and quiet apartment owned and managed by a very friendly, helpful and organised woman (Gigliola). The three of us (spouse, myself and my sister) would all happily stay there again. It had something special about it that made you feel instantly "at home" and relaxed. The apartment is a "whole floor" apartment and has no adjoining apartments on the sides, so it is very light and bright and there are views out, including to a church tower, hills and gardens. It is a short walk (about 10-15 mins) to the centre of the town and Lake Como ferry departure points. You are close to the action, yet feel you are returning to a quiet haven each night. We found it very comfortable for 3 adults and the security was very good too. We arrived at Como Lago Station (Como Nord) and got a taxi for the short ride (with luggage) to the apartment. It would be a good idea to have a street map with the apartment marked on it to show the taxi driver, since the apartment is not on a main street. When it was time to leave, we found that, knowing the way, we could walk back to Como Nord station quite easily. (I didn't try to use the internet / wi-fi, so I don't know if it worked well or not. Other people might know.) Gigliola is a very gracious, helpful host who lives very close by, and she goes out of her way to help her guests and make their stay memorable. Thank you, Gigliola, for a lovely stay at Lake Como.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The special, relaxed feeling of the apartment, its quietness and the elevated views
Liked least: I should have got myself a map of the apartment's location to show the taxi driver
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2012
Dear friends thanks very much for your friendly stay and for your nice review. Waiting for you another time, best wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goobs17
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect location; wonderful experience”
Reviewed 4 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012

I travelled here with my parents. There was everything in the apartment that you could need. You are a close walk into town, but most things can be found within a few mins walk - deli with fresh pasta/bread; local cafe/bar (giulianos) and a great eatery (osteria di via monti). We had a car and were able to find parks despite high season, but unless you plan on driving around Italy, you won't need one. Train station, ferry station and funicular are close by to walk or short taxi ride. The place is a little tough to find the first time, but it is at the corner of via monti and via zezio. Wifi Internet worked well for our needs.
All in all a wonderful family home with gracious hosts...creating a great Italian experience!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location but very close to amenities
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2012
Dear friends thanks very much for your friendly stay and for your nice reviw
Waiting for you another time, best wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PanoramaG...
Helsinki
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful old apartment with everything you need”
Reviewed 3 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012

A very friendly, helpfull and welcoming landlady welcomed us in a beautiful old building with excellent privacy and in the kitchen with every possible utensil you could think of needing during your vacation. Two bedrooms - one with large double bed and the other with two single beds - large livingroom with sofas and a dinner table, nice interior with old furniture. The floors are of old parquet or large tiles, the windows new and well isolating. One toilet/bathroom with shower. The good feeling of a home faraway from home!

Parking on the street running above was free but the parking lots quite hard to find. We were very lucky and only once had to leave the car to the lower streets and pay for parking. The house is built in the hillside and there are quite a few stairs but on the other hand that is the charm of these old italian towns.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the apartments atmosphere
Liked least: I liked it all!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inke B
Rijkhoven
1 review
“We loved staying at appartement margherita”
Reviewed 23 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012

The appartement is bright and spacious, situated in à calm and peaceful area. It only takes a few minutes walk to the center of Como, the lake or to the railwaystation to Milan. We definately woud like to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, Calm, spacious
Liked least: Not sultable for people with , many staren
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing