We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Lovely hotel with a lake view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Flori

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Villa Flori
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Como
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel with a lake view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

I stayed in this hotel in September. It's a quiet hotel but our room was near to the road, it wasn't a problem if you close the verandah doors. People here complained about the service, it wasn't that bad, the Filipino porter is very helpful. The front desk staff are ok but maybe that's the Italian way. Don't forget to walk up the road for 20 minutes to Villa D'este for pre-dinner drinks, it's not very expensive and the view is marvelous.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nobody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    146
    62
    30
    17
See reviews for
51
212
11
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Westport CT
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

Yes, they renovated but they failed to change their dismissive, disdainful attitude. Just came back from three nights
in their 398 E/night junior suite which had no robes, slippers, turndown service, and when you called the front desk you got attitude. 25 E/per day for parking, 8 E per day/wifi, and the most pretentious restaurant staff ever. Interestingly, the entire hotel staff seemed to be quite unified in this "inhospitality."

This stay was at the end of a three-week tour of Italy. We stayed at B and B's, a Relais hotel and an airport hotel. Villa Flori was the only one that made us feel unwelcomed and glad to leave.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Regal328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

My family and I stayed at Villa Flori during a 2 and a half week vacation in Italy for 4 nights in September. All of the complaints listed in other reviews are exactly right. I have never been treated so poorly at what is supposed to be a "luxurious" hotel in my life. First off, when we arrived, we were told absolutely nothing about the hotel, it's facilities or anything for that matter. Throughout out stay it was as if we were being rude and ultra demanding. I say this because every request we made was met with attitude and bewilderment by the hotel staff. We called down one night for a corkscrew to open some wine. We were told that it would be up in 2 minutes by the staff. 2 hours later and no corkscrew. I called again and was told that it wasn't possible. So I then walked to the bar and borrowed the bartenders corkscrew, took it to my room and took it back to the bar. Not a huge deal, but a little irritating. We had dinner at the hotels restaurant one night. It was way overpriced and the food was not very good. That try so hard to make the restaurant so "high-end", but fail so miserably! Service was terrible and the head waiter was yelling a a busboy right in front of us for little mistakes. I felt terrible for him and it was very awkward. Overall, we just never felt welcome at this hotel. It has a very cold and detached feeling. I would never stay here again, even if it was free if charge. They need to get their act together and fix whatever is going in there because it truly is a beautiful property that is just broken.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank imacubsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in September. The property was very well taken care of, the
remodel was done very tastefully and brought the rooms and facilities very much up to date.
Our room was modern, and in excellent condition with an exceptional view of Lake Como.
Two negatives:
1. The location, while on the lake required an automobile and parking was 25/e day
2. In addition to paying for the room, they charge 8/e an hour for wi-fi!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andiamo24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011


This is the first time I have written a review on Trip Advisor. I use the website as a rough guide on what a hotel will be like. I've found that more often than not that most reviews are accurate, and do realise that some people can be very picky, which I like to think I am not.

Let me start by saying this was hands down the WORST service I have ever encountered in a hotel after many years off travelling.

Firstly upon arrival was given no information on the hotel or things to do around the Lake, which didn't bother me to much. On our second night after coming home after a great day exploring the lake, I asked a different lady at the front desk (even more unhelpful than the first) if they had room service. To which I was greated with a bewildered look followed by a no. No help to what other alternatives as to anything nearby. I then asked if I could get a corckscrew for a bottle wine I had bought in the town. I was asked to "go and ask the barman".

On the final day at checkout, I was greeted by a third ever unhelpful lady. Not even asked how my stay was, just for my credit card. I said goodbye after payment, to which she could not have even been bothered to reply to.

Was the room nice. Yes. Was it worth €500 for two nights. No. The staff here tried and succeeded in making me feel as unwelcome and unwanted as possible.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Claymation77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Como
1.9 km away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#3 of 32 in Como
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
0.6 km away
Sheraton Lake Como Hotel
1.9 km away
Borgo Antico Hotel
Borgo Antico Hotel
#2 of 32 in Como
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Albergo Terminus Hotel
2.0 km away
Villa d'Este
Villa d'Este
#1 of 7 in Cernobbio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel Barchetta Excelsior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Flori? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Flori

Property: Hotel Villa Flori
Address: Via Cernobbio 12, 22100, Como, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Como
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,906 - ₹ 25,229
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Flori 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Flori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flori Hotel Como
Hotel Villa Flori Como, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing