We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wasn't sure what to expect, but amazing!”
other traveller has booked this property
The view of Lake Como from Villa Gabriella balconies, living room and bedroom .Simply Amazing!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The view of Lake Como from Villa Gabriella balconies, living room and bedroom .Simply Amazing!
Exceptionally Romantic Independant and a Private  - Villa Gabriella - Photography by John Soule Master Bedroom with Euro King bed and private balcony w/seating  with French doors to lake views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
37 reviews
The view of Lake Como from Villa Gabriella balconies, living room and bedroom .Simply Amazing!
Exceptionally Romantic Independant and a Private  - Villa Gabriella - Photography by John Soule
Master Bedroom with Euro King bed and private balcony w/seating  with French doors to lake views
Balcony  Views from Villa Gabriella Master Bedroom Balcony w/ 180 degree Views of Lake Como
Incredible Views from all of  Villa Gabriella's Balconies
Enjoying local wine on the balcony of Villa Gabriella - by John Soule  Photography
Master Bedroom with private balcony with seating and spectacular Lake Como views
Master suite with romantic private balcony and French doors overlooking the stunning lake
Views from Villa Gabriella balconies in late spring, summer and fall
Master bedroom w/beautiful designer accessories
Warm inviting second bedroom with euro king bed.
Gorgeous second bedroom  with handmade beamed ceiling
Second bedroom with euro king bed
Lovely second bedroom with euro king bed.
Beautiful second bedroom with euro king bed.
Beautiful second bedroom with Euro king bed and skylight
Lovely second bedroom with euro king bed and timber ceilings with skylight
Beautiful second bedroom with Euro king bed and skylight
Welcome to Villa Gabriella
Stunning Designer furnishings and upscale quality decor. Beautiful eclectic feel with French doors.
Stunning eclectic living room with spectacular lake views. French doors opening to Lake Como.
Warm inviting living room with fireplace and French doors opening to the balcony and lake views
Part of Villa Gabriella living room with French doors to the private balcony w/ seating alfresco
Views from left side of the balcony towards Como in early spring.
Part of Villa Gabriella living room w/cozy fireplace. Balcony with seating & spectacular lake views
Villa Gabriella living room with French doors opening to the private balcony and Lake Como views.
Part of Villa Gabriella Living area looking in from French doors
Fully equipped kitchen with French doors to the private balcony and stunning Lake Como views.
Beautiful fully equipped kitchen with spectacular Lake Como views and seating for alfresco dining.
Villa Gabriella kitchen with French doors to private balcony with seating for alfresco dining
Villa Gabriella full bathroom with tub and shower
Full bathroom with bathtub and shower
Full Bathroom with tub and shower
Side View of  Private Villa Gabriella
Lovely garden and beachfront entry 20 ft away
Enjoy the lovely gardens at the resort and the beachfront where you can swim  or relax on the lido
Enjoy our beachfront facilities at the Lake Como Beach Resort as our guests
Rent a kayak or Motorboat off our dock or jetty and cruise the lake- great fun
Balcony views of Lake Como in early spring
Incredible dream views from the living room and the master bedroom balconies
Ferry passing by the Lake Como Beach Resort
Varenna by Seaplane- Photography by John Soule
Day Trip to Beautiful Lake Lugano, Switzerland - Photography by John Soule
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Como, Lake Como, Lombardy

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
David L
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Incredible view, good apartment but very remote for our needs.”
Reviewed 24 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a one week stay and it was our first trip to the lakes area after three months European travel. We had a car and it is essential if staying here. We are confident drivers but if not it's not for the faint hearted. There is a restaurant down a steep drive but it was not the best meal we had while staying here. We should have looked more closely at the position of the apartment to the places we were wanting to see. The apartment is clean and comfortable, really lovely. We did have issues with local noise and messaged the owner who was prompt messaging back and apologised. It is the perfect place if you have already explored the region and just want to relax, or you are happy to do day trip and head back at night

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2015
Thank you for your review. Your thoughts about your stay on Lake Como are very important to us. Villa Gabriella is in a quaint little village 10 minutes from Como Center and 15 minutes from Bellagio. We always recommend a car when guests stay with us as it is not recommended to stay there without one. There is plenty of parking around the villa as it sits on a cul de sac above the lake road. This is not the villa to choose if you want to be in a very busy tourist area. Our villa is perfect for privacy and for being in one of the quaint local villages. It is quiet and very private with amazing lake views. During your stay there was a rare local festival and we were very sorry that they were loud. Each town and village holds a local festival around the lake on the 15th of August each year. We did ask the locals to please keep it down so they did not disturb you while you were staying with us. Some things are beyond our control and we apologize if they kept you up that evening.
Driving around the terraced Lake Como roads can be challenging and fun, we agree. The roads are narrow and Lake Como is picturesque and very terraced, has many hills and mountains. The beautiful landscape has been the same for thousands of years and has been untouched by modernization. The setting is quite spectacular and unique. We are not in Como center nor in Bellagio, but just minutes away for convenience. If one truly wants to enjoy everything this Lake Como has to offer living like a local in a lovely private villa above the lake, Villa Gabriella is perfect. As far as the restaurant on the lake road, we have recommended it to may guests who have really enjoyed their cuisine. Maybe there was something in particular you would like to tell them about and we are sure that they will take it to heart and change it. The owners are a local family who have been in the restaurant business for years and am sure they would appreciate any constructive advice or comments so they can improve their guests dining experience. If you would like to let us know we can always pass along the comments to them. We had passed on one suggestion in the past and they quickly made the changes in the menu. We all work together on the lake to help make each stay a beautiful memorable experience. We are happy you enjoyed our little cozy villa that dates back to 1744. We do hope you will be back to visit again in the future.
Thank you again for your thoughts.
Ciao from Lake Como!

Eric and Robin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wasn't sure what to expect, but amazing!”
Reviewed 8 March 2015 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was our first time to staying at a private residence and our first time to Italy. We were not sure what we were going to find but had a general idea given the reviews (except for one seemingly crazy person) and history Eric and Robin have renting their properties. We had good communication with Robin from the time we received the reply to the day before we left. Their instructions were clear but if we had any questions they always answered. If you drive as we did make sure you get navigation as Italy seems to forget most street signs and without it life is almost impossible. Eric showed up at the door soon after we arrived to fill us in on how things work. Everything was pretty much excellent: clean, ample space, wifi, and quality linens. Villa Gabriella was beautiful and very comfortable. The views are something we will never forget. The locals are so friendly and the food is to die for. Eric and Robin went above and beyond to make us feel at home. Thank you Eric and Robin for allowing us to share your wonderful piece of world!

PS - Recommend buying trip insurance as the other couple we began the trip with had to cancel.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Exploring the Lake Como
Liked least: Stairs
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Mar 2015
Ciao JC,
We are so happy to be a part of your first visit to Lake Como and to know you had a good time. We look forward to seeing you both again. All the best to you both!
Eric and Robin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Being there is better than any picture”
Reviewed 4 March 2015 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

My wife and I spent a magical week on Lake Como and in Villa Gabriella. We found the villa by looking at the photos online and reading the reviews. Eric and Robin we very prompt, informative and patient with our many questions. The roads on the lake are narrow but was expected as explained by Eric. After the long drive we stopped at the local bar for Gelato and espresso. The owners pointed the way up the hill. Villa Gabriella was a wonderful sight. It was clean, furnished with all of our needs and decorated tastefully, with a bottle of wine on the table. Eric came the following day again answered questions and helped with directions. We love to walk and found the location perfect for exploring. Also we loved being able to drive or take the ferry to Bellagio or Como but also coming back to our little home to relax on the balcony watching the sunset. The experience is better than the pictures! Only negative was having to say goodbye!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and the villa
Liked least: the roads
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Mar 2015
Thank you for your very kind review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your return.
Eric, Robin and Jiselle
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KNRH
Ayr, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Location Location Location”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The Villa Gabriella is as described, very clean and comfortable with everything you need for a trip to Lake Como. The bedrooms and bathroom are very spacious and there is plenty of hot water. The main room/kitchen is very comfortable, spacious and fully equipped for your visit. We were very happy and relaxed we could happily have stayed longer.

The owners Robin and Eric were very helpful right from our first enquiry right to our checking out. Eric came over to advise us on the area, and point out George Clooney's villa across the lake, which was very helpful ( but no invitation from George LOL). We could have used the lakeside resort that Eric and Robin also own but as the weather was mixed when we were there we didn't get a chance. If it had been sunny all week it would have been great to have a swim.

The only negative is that the villa is up a very steep road and then there are two flight of steps up to the door. The owners did point that out when we made our first enquiry and recommended a car to get around. BUT the views are tremendous, you can see for miles and its well worth the climb. In fact most villas/apartments in the Como are are up steep hills there are very few that are on a flat area, and it is lovely eating your breakfast on one of the two terraces watching the boats on the lake. ( It was also very enjoyable to sit on the terrace with a glass of wine late in the evening and watch a summer storm on the lake) There is a good local shop in the village and the local people are very friendly and helpful. There are plenty of groceries/ supermarkets/ bars/ restaurants within a few miles of the villa and Como itself is a good shopping area.The villa is also in a perfect location for visiting any of the sights/ restaurants etc in the area. Eric will soon explain how to get there and what to see. He will also book restaurants, boats etc for you.

I would recommend this villa and its owners, as the house itself and the location is a super place to visit the Como area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and cleanliness
Liked least: The hill up to it.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2014
Thank you for your very kind review.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay.
We want to thank you for coming and staying with us in Villa Gabriella.
It was a pleasure to have you as guests and look forward to your return.

Ciao from Lake Como and Villa Gabriella.

Eric, Robin and Jiselle
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gerbault
ca
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“False Advertising for a Second Rate apartment”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

SENIORS BEWARE this place is DANGEROUS. Not for Couples with Young Children or People with Disabilities.

YOU ABSOLUTELY NEEED A CAR!!!! 30 minutes away from Como. This is an isolated town with one bad restaurant and a coffee shop. It doesn't offer anything. There are so many better places to stay in Lake Como.

This place is DANGEROUS, located on a Steep Cliff. You must walk down a dangerous walkway to get to your apartment. It is extremely dangerous especially when it rains which is often, rocks become extremely slippery. I had three people who injured their knees from falls, one was me. If you hurt yourself, there is NO way for you to get up the cliff. There are no available wheelchairs. You have to walk at your own risk.

STAY AWAY If you're afraid of heights. My daughter had to close her eyes when she took the elevator. You have to go down a cliff in a glass elevator.

If you enter from street be careful of the driveway, I got stuck. If you walk, you have to go down a steep uneven stone staircase for around 200 feet. Afterwards, you have to take a glass elevator. When you arrive below, you have to walk even further to get to your destination. Around another 200 feet to some 50's style apartments.

THIS IS NOT A RESORT, it's just an old apartment building converted into vacation rentals with a fake beach. NOT Romantic, except for the lake.

BEWARE of larger apartment. The room for four people is a bedroom on the second floor with a sofa bed below. To get to the bedroom you have to go up a a small metal spiral staircase. Bathroom is on the second floor. Not recommended for two couples or strangers since you have to enter bedroom to go to bathroom.

HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE!

Owner trying to strong arm me into paying money for rooms not used because people refused to stay there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View of the Lake
Liked least: The dangerous walkway and the ugly apartments.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2014
Hello,
It has taken us a bit of time to reply, merely because your review is the strangest we have ever encountered. It is impossible to reply to your criticisms as; Villa Gabriella does not have a beach, elevator, slippery rocks, etc. It is not an apartment, nor does it have a spiral stair case or a sofa bed. Villa Gabriella was built in 1744 not in the 50s. Simply put, you have chosen to defame the wrong property. Although we thank you for your opinions (of another property); your descriptions do not at all apply to Villa Gabriella. We do hope your next visit to Lake Como is better and the best of luck to you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing