We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“could do better” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Excelsior Splendide

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Excelsior Splendide
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
kent
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“could do better”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

On approach on the ferry it looks impressive and a bit like the palace it used to be according to the hotels own flyer. The foyer looks very good and was normally found to be staffed by informative and friendly people with a good command of english. The first problem occurrs when you want to get your cases up to your room. Yes Sir there is a lift just around there. There is indeed but is rated as carrying four, very small, people. Two full size adults and two cases is all it can take so if you arrived as part of a group it can take some time. Yes of course there are stairs. The carpet has seen better days and looks grubby and worn. One evening I tripped going up them and put my hand out to steady myself against the stair wall. When I looked at it my hand was covered in dirt and dust. Onwards in search of my room, the room number was written on a piece of paper and stuck over the door. The bed was clean and comfortable. There was a cheap flat pack wardrobe, two similar bedside chests of draws and desk by the door. My wife went to have a shower that night and had to scrub the black mould off of the shower head before she could start. There was also mould in other parts of the cubicle. Room cleaning? Well there was a bird feather in the room corner all week. Also in the room was what looked like a small cupboard, it turned out to be a service area with loads of cut off wires in it. TV, yes there is one, it is on the wall right next to the wardrobe and about five foot six from the floor so if you turn away from the wardrobe without thinking you walk right in to it. According to the hotel paper work there MIGHT be some english SKY channels but I did not find them. The room curtains are for decoration only, they do not close. Yes there are nets but you can see through them. There is a shutter but as it is hot you do not want it shut although it might help to keep the noise from the kitchen vent fan and the noisy staff down. The restaurant looked bright and clean, and providing you dont want a cooked breakfast the food was of a good quality and in good supply. The only comment I have is that it could be a bit too Italian. I think that they should remember that a large portion of their guests are english and may like a litle less extreem a taste in Italian food. That said the staff work their socks of and will do their best to keep you happy. I am not sure if it qualifies as three star, its more of a restaurant with rooms above. It could learn a lot by looking at something like a Premier In site in Britain.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KentStarrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    183
    114
    46
    32
See reviews for
78
263
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

What a load of moaners some of the previous reviewers are! This hotel has an excellent location on the lakeside just 2 minutes from the car ferry and 5 minutes from the passenger ferry piers. OK, it's an old historic building with many original features still intact - marble staircase, beautiful ceilings etc. We stayed on a half board basis, and the buffet breakfast was very comprehensive but no hot food. The croissants were not stale! The evening meals were delicious, real restaurant quality food with a huge salad buffet. The staff were so helpful and friendly, always willing to help.
Our room was spacious, the ensuite was good with plenty of hot water and a powerful shower. Towels changed every day, and sheets half way through the week.
Bellaggio is an excellent centre for touring Lake Como and its surrounding areas, the hotel is placed in an ideal position for the town and accessing the ferries.
We had no complaints about this hotel, which is more than could be said about the rude officials at the ferry terminal and the funicular railway at Como (go on it - the views are to die for!)
Please don't be put off by the petty negative comments, after all, it is only a 3* hotel, what do people expect! We were more than happy here and had the best holiday ever!!

Room Tip: Use a package company rather than book independantly
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank old_hippyKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

What is wrong with these people? At the end of the day it is a 3* hotel what do you expect? From beginning to end we loved this holiday. We travelled with Thomson Lakes & Mountains, from the minute we arrived at the hotel, just to late for the evening meal, we were made to feel 'special', a tray was brought up to our room with a meal for 2. We found the food to die for, seriously enjoyed everything, the staff were always polite, helpful and had a sense of humour. The room was basic but extremely clean and comfortable, fresh towels every day and mid week change of sheets. We had a room on the side, which was lovely and quiet but we could see the lake. Bellagio is beautiful, by far the nicest town in that vicinity, little cobbled streets and lovely shops! I could go on and on.....did these moaners stay in a different hotel? I would not hesitate to recommend and would certainly go back!

Room Tip: We took our chance an d took the room offered .... no regrets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank archiebanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

When a hotel "bulks up" the muesli with rice bubbles, you know there is a problem. I cannot say anything positive about the "not at all Splendide". We were given an attic room - and couldn't even use the toilet without hitting my head. Much of the room was unusable. There is no bar fridge in the room and the faded orange quilt was very old. The breakfast was terrible - stale croissants, the orange juice is from a machine, the coffee was awful, staff didn't provide clean plates, etc. If you get a lake view room, be prepared for live music until midnight.

Room Tip: Recommend you look at reviews of other hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rickylee207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bellagio hotels

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

I have never seen such a run down hotel in such a beautiful location. You can see that once upon a time it must have been gorgeous in there - high ceilings, amazing French balconies on so many rooms, beautiful Persian carpets and marble. But that must have been in the 50s. Or even 40s. The room didn't even have AC. The amenities included shampoo that came out of things that look like ketchup packets. The lights didn't even match. The bathtub was something straight out of the 70s. The bedspreads were about 1/10 of an inch thick and were bright orange.

At breakfast we asked for coffee and were told to press a button on a machine. This is Italy for crying out loud and we were supposed to get coffee from a machine!

The reservation system is really laughable. At the front desk they have a bunch of different colored sticky tape, and a big chart of the rooms, and they actually write in a name and put it on sticky tape over the room number to book the rooms months and months out. Have they heard of a computer program we wondered? It was like the abacus of hotel reservations. We joked wondering if they use clocks or sun dials, or calculators or abacuses. It was like a bad trip back in time yet everything had 50 years of wear on it. Sad sad sad! I would add that while things were very dated VERY DATED that they did appear clean, or as clean as 60 year old rugs and furniture can look.

I don't know who is writing the great reviews about this place. Maybe they are used to staying in Days Inns or Super 8s or something. This is no place for a seasoned traveler who is looking for a bit of comfort. I kept wishing I had brought my last hotel's disposable room slippers (which I had just assumed the Splendide would have) because I didn't want to touch the floor. Sad!

I would say the staff working there were very friendly and helpful. I had contacted them in advance with many different questions and they always replied quickly and efficiently. While there the front desk staff was also very helpful with all our questions regarding airports, ferries, restaurants, etc.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel, or at least make sure you ask for the lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CruisingSwedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bellagio hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.3 km away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
2.2 km away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior Splendide? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior Splendide

Property: Hotel Excelsior Splendide
Address: Lungolario Alessandro Manzoni 28, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,889 - ₹ 13,438
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Excelsior Splendide 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ostrovok so you can book your Hotel Excelsior Splendide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Splendide Bellagio
Excelsior Splendide Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing