We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (279)
Filter reviews
279 results
Traveller rating
132
89
32
17
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
132
89
32
17
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spectacular views the owner cakes family suite a family run hotel min drive diving board plenty of loungers made us feel at home demi pension nice pool head waiter coast road hotel is located stayed for nights train station mario
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 279 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

We had a great stay at La Riserva Di Castel d'Appio. The views from the restaurant and the terrace of the room were spectacular.
The family suite was bright, airy and clean.
The food and wine were delicious and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Davide and Mario the two maîtres d'hôtel made us feel at home straightaway.
The hotel is child friendly, the pool is pristine and very often empty.
I thoroughly recommend the hotel. We will go back next year but longer!

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

I booked this hotel last minute and was disappointed to find out that it is very far from the town of Ventimiglia. It cost a 20 Euro cab ride each way to go down to the waterfront where the restaurants and bars were, and cab service is very limited in Ventimiglia so I could not stay out long as otherwise I might not have had a ride back.

The hotel itself is on a nice property, has a nice pool, and a restaurant that I did not eat in. The views from the grounds are beautiful, and my room itself was comfortable and had air conditioning. But overall the place looks quite worn and weathered, especially given how much it costs, and it is clear that, even though the rooms have been renovated, they were done in the least expensive way possible.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank barrymdmsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

My wife, son(age9) and I stayed here for the first three days of our summer holiday....it was the perfect way to start a holiday!! We were welcomed and shown our room, as it is a family run hotel the two gents that you will see a lot of are Davide and Mario - they have both been at the hotel a while (Davids over 20yrs!) and yet they made us feel as welcome as if we were their first customer. This place really helps you chill, a drink on the terrace pre dinner is awesome, and our son loved the pool from diving board to the slides.
Dinner in the restaurant isn't cheap, but it is is good quality..I chose the menu mignon on one day and thought that was pretty good value. A nice wine list to go with the choice of food. We were in room 105 which was a nice room with some good views of the sea, and sheltered enough so the room didn't get to hot.
One watch out is location - perfect if you have your own car as you can drive away from the world and then look down on it - like you would a model railway...perfect!!! However if you don't....the hotel is located around ten minutes from the centre of Ventimiglia, as it says way up on the hill. This is a panoramic route and worth having a camera on route. We were doing a holiday without a car and so arrived at the train station expecting to find at least a couple of taxis...only to see the only one working that Friday disappearing into the distance and then had to wait 40mins for it to return. If you do opt to do it without a car then plan your taxi journeys ahead - wherever possible. We were so lucky to get a lift to the station to catch our train...thank you!!!

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

Nicely located on the hills over the city .. overlooking the city and sea, great place that seems to be from other times... i.e. It didn't age so well.. glorious times are past, at least for the hotel; i didn't try the restaurant, which looked really nice

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Stefano E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017

We first fell across this hotel in 1974, found it again in 2011. This year we promised ourselves we would drive from Dorset for a long deserved holiday. Having booked for a couple of nights we decided to stay another three. The staff, facilities, food and rooms were all we had hoped for. Next year we'll fly out, hire a car and stay for a fortnight.

Room tip: Beach view
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews