We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great pool, rocky beach, mouldy breakfast bread & overpriced rooms...” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Helios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Helios
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great pool, rocky beach, mouldy breakfast bread & overpriced rooms...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2009

Chose the hotel based on previous trip advisor reviews and very nice photographs on the hotel website. We had 3 rooms for 4 adults & 2 children. 2 of the rooms were sort of interconnected and had sea views. Total stay of 5 nights.

Pros:
- Excellent location, short 5 minute walk from train station and right there on the ocean
- Clean rooms
- Very nice pool (saltwater) which is pretty much the highlight of the hotel
- All sea facing rooms have huge balconies, in fact terraces that are bigger than the rooms themselves! Great place to kick back and relax with a book. So is the poolside. Rooms 12,11,10,9 seemed to enjoy these balconies.
- Short walk from restaurants & shopping

Cons:
- Small rooms somewhere around 10 x 12 feet size with even smaller bathrooms - and i'm talking off the suites!
- Rear facing (non sea view) rooms open on to the town's main street which is noisy & busy.
- Antiquated interiors... and while the Italians may think its charming, frankly its bad!
- Aircon just about works, remotes don't and in one of our rooms the hotel staff insisted we keep it at 22 degrees (celsius) even if it was too warm!! What???
- Sheets did not get changed once during our 5 day stay. They came in, reorganized the furniture, took out the trash, put the covers back on and left... towels were regularly changed however.
- TV is functional with a SKY STB. Mostly Italian. Kids wanted English but staff had no idea how to configure the unit for English. Eventually and Italian friend came to the rescue. By the way, movies have to be paid for.
- Disaster breakfast! Expect cold Crossiants, packaged rye, old corn flakes, expired cookies and believe it or not we saw mouldy sliced bread on the buffet! Complaint to the lone ranger waiter who shrugged his shoulders and said "but the packet said its not expired yet".
- Overall, pathetic service, something you get used to in most small Italian hotels - they think they are doing YOU a favour!
- WiFi is available with range only at the reception and is extra $$; hotel website seems misleading.
- Private beach claims are rubbish. The hotel is located next to a popular public beach and there is a small gate from the hotel leading into the same. Besides, the beach is rock, rock and more rocks... no sand to be seen anywhere. (Nice ones on the way to Portofino though Euro 20/head for the day. )
- Fitness equipment is a couple of bicycle machines by the pool side... no center here.

VERDICT : Avoid. This hotel is a complete rip off for the Euro 200/ room night that they charged us. In fact, I wouldn't stay here for any price! There is no old hotel charm, no Italian hospitality, no great food, just expensive rooms with antiquated facilities.

Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank supermehra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    54
    23
    14
    11
See reviews for
30
88
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2008

Stayed in a superior double which had a balcony almost as large as the room looking out to sea - a spectacular position. Room 10 was adequate but the en suite so small when using the toilet your knees were under the wash basin. Toiletries were only replaced on request.. New swim pool and sunbathing facilities were second to none, both well maintained and guarded.

Lovely to eat breakfast with open windows looking out to sea, lovely and fresh and the selection continually restocked. Evening meal in the attached restaurant was good value, good choice and served by attentive helpful friendly waiters.

Staff at reception showed little interest in us. Disappointed to find on the day my daughter's departure by train (station nearby) she found there was a national railway strike. On returning to the hotel the receptionist said he was always at his desk and had no idea, but the friendly waiters were aware of the situation. Luckily I was staying another night so there was room for her to stay in my room.

Given the choice prefer the Metropole if you are lucky enough to get in because all the staff are so good there and they have lovely shady gardens to sit in during hot weather and it is next door.

  • Liked — Balcony looking out to sea
  • Disliked — Small room bedroom and bathroom
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2006

HELIOS hotel had the only availability when we planned to visit the riviera but it is the place I will go back to for sure. We had read all reviews and I have to admit that I was skeptical a bit but everything dissipated the second I stepped out on the terrace of their superior double room and witnessed a spectacular view of the sea, the port and the mountains. You practically can spend an eternity on that terrace....Moreso, sparkling wine and some strawberry were waiting for us graciously offered by the Hotel staff being that we were on our honeymoon trip. The staff was nice and helpful. The restaurant excellent and the breakfeast very good in italian standards with the nicest waiter "Mario".The train station is very close, a walking distance. Beware of Taxi's from the station as it could be a very expensive trip for less than one minute in the car. Santa Margherita location is ideal to visit Portofino, Rapallo....A memorable stay for a memorable occasion.Ciao

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Miramare for our wedding anniversary in August of 05.....What can I say it felt like walking out of Cary grant movie...we booked the hotel through The leading Hotels of the world group and honestly this is where you will get the most value...upgraded to an ocean view suite which was breathtaking,breakfast included which was amazing ,sitting on the terrace drinking the best coffee in the world and eating scrumptious pastries and fruit.Our sunlounges and towels where included in the price.
Our experience at this truly fine hotel was worth every penny if you dont want to spend the money then dont bother coming here.If your after a true Riveria experience then this is the place. We were treated like Royalty from the moment we stepped inside.The staff where outstanding and we will certainly be coming back.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rexi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oquawka, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2005

This is a dump. Rated as a 4 star hotel. We stayed here for fifteen minutes using our cellphone looking for another hotel after we saw the room. Booked on Italyby for 250 euro a night..Dark dingy room, bathroom was so small had to turn side ways to get into it. TV was 10 inches so bad all you could see is shadows.bed was u shaped. smelly room they tried to mask the smell with some type of strong perfume.Would not return our money. A total nightmare.Don"t ever stay here and don't ever book on Italyby

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank marvel321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Margherita Ligure hotels
0.2 km away
Metropole
Metropole
#5 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
0.9 km away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#2 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
0.2 km away
Lido Palace Hotel
Lido Palace Hotel
#12 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#6 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#4 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Villa Anita
Hotel Villa Anita
#1 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
5.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helios? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helios

Property: Hotel Helios
Address: Via Antonio Gramsci 6, 16038, Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#11 Luxury Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#12 Family Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,005 - ₹ 13,363
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Helios 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Helios Hotel Santa Margherita Ligure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing