We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Basic but friendly and clean” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albergo Fasce

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Margherita Ligure
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Albergo Fasce
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Basic but friendly and clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in May, meeting up with friends who had been here two nights already. The rooms are small but perfectly clean, and the bathroom is basic but does the job. The location is excellent, walking to town, easy to get to Portofino, Rapallo, the waterfront and th Cinque Terra, and close to some excellent restaurants. Breakfast was simple, and Rossano, the waiter, is friendly and sweet. I know there a some complaints about this place but for the price I don't think you can go wrong. For my first trip to this part of town I was very happy, although perhaps for a longer stay I would consider paying more for something more upmarket. Still, highly recommended.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Phairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    44
    15
    13
    25
See reviews for
14
46
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Forster, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

This hotel is very central and very clean. Friendly and helpful host. The breakfast was also very good.

Room Tip: We stayed at the back which adjoined the courtyard which we had to ourselves. Very quiet also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank normam854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

My wife and I selected this to be the first stop in the fourth country of our four country tour of Europe, Italy being our favorite in Europe. We had previously stayed at Albergo Fasce, and the warm memories of that visit prompted our return. Orignally booked for three nights, we extended our stay to five nights, as we again found the hotel to be an excellent point from which to explore Santa Margheriat Ligure and Cinque Terre as well. The owner and staff are very hospitable and accommodating, the full breakfast is excellent, and the hotel is convenient to the very walkable attractions of Santa Margherita, and an easy walk to the train station as well. The room was very airy, comfortable and cleanly maintained. We received excellent support from the proprietor and staff in selecting itineraries for our side trips to the Cinque Terre, as well as local sites and walking tours.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alh065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

The proprietor tried to be friendly but in the end, it was clear he didn't enjoy his position, nor was he very tolerant of a family of Americans who spoke no Italian and had two young children in tow.
I travel a lot and have spent a lot of time in hotels and in cities where I don't know the language. It was disappointing to feel unwelcome. In fairness, another young man who worked in reception was very helpful and friendly. The car park area is near and convenient, though quite pricey---hard to get around that though in a crowded city area. As for the rooms, well, you get what you pay for! Ours was clean enough but as another reviewer stated, there was no reason to hurry back there till it was actually time to climb into bed. Breakfast was not special, though adequate for a light eater. We were served warm eggs on the day of our departure---I don't know why. We were grateful for it though!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kilmere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carterton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

We stayed here for two nights after visiting Levanto/Cinque Terre. I almost cancelled my booking at the last minute (but was past the cancellation period) after reading the reviews and from the map was under the impression it was not as central as it turned out to be. Had walking directions so found it very easily from the train station and first impressions were good with the warm greeting and quick overview on the location. For some reason we always seem to get the top room up the steep staircases but my husband along with one of the staff managed the big bags. Yes as mentioned in other reviews a basic room with tiny bathroom and shower box, fortunately we are not big people. It was an easy walk down to the waterfront, Santa Margherita is a pretty town with the palm trees and marina which reminded me of Nice. There are regular buses and ferries to Portofino but we decided to walk (1 hour each way) which was a better option as we enjoyed the coastline and looking at the vast number of superb boats on the water. On the walk back we stopped for lunch at a small bay called Paraggi which was a cheaper option than Portofino and afterwards my husband joined a group of people who were swimming on the point remarking "that it was one of the best swims he had enjoyed" in the crystal clear water. Santa Margherita is not a cheap place to stay so this choice served the purpose.

Room Tip: There are no lifts so request a lower room if you do not like steep stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jazzcazznz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Margherita Ligure hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#4 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Sant'Andrea
Hotel Sant'Andrea
#3 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Minerva
Hotel Minerva
#18 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Regina Elena
BEST WESTERN Hotel Regina Elena
#7 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.8 km away
Metropole
Metropole
#5 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Laurin
Hotel Laurin
#13 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Fasce? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Fasce

Property: Albergo Fasce
Address: Via Privata Luigi Bozzo 3, 16038, Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Santa Margherita Ligure
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Albergo Fasce Hotel Santa Margherita Ligure
Albergo Fasce Santa Margherita Ligure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing