We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Park Hotel Suisse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park Hotel Suisse
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

I would agree with other reviews that the hotel is due a spruce up ,certainly externally it looks a bit jaded. Inside, again the room was a little dated but our large family room had direct access to a huge sun deck with a spiral external staircase down to the pool, so great for the kids to access the pool without having to go through the hotel. Pool is very warm , deep and extremely salty to the point of being unpleasant. Short walk to the sea front and beautifull views.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mady g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    101
    96
    100
    82
See reviews for
104
148
25
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manly, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

We had a great time in the town and the hotel is very centerally located. We do not understand the poor comments made by many of the reviews posted by previous past guests, guess they do not have a sense of humour. We found our rooms to be clean and well maintained. The staff were very friendly and, to us, very very funny in their attempts to present a 4 star appearance, expecially in the dining room. Would we go again, most certainly as it was an experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WEDDINGTRIPSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Margherita Ligure hotels

Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

We arrived to the hotel on July 1 and planned to stay 5 nights. They checked us into the room with small ground floor window, high voltage wires hanging around the very dated mirror and night stand. Room furniture and fixtures looked like they were from bombed out Berlin in 1945.
Bathroom was somewhat better but dark with half of the lighting fixtures not working.
Hotel elevator would not pass any safety inspection anywhere in the western world.
Breakfast -- small, unappetizing selection of pastries and pathetic push button cafeteria style coffee machine. Asked to see the manager but was told that he is out for the next two days. Needless to say, we checked out the next morning.
I still can’t believe that they have 4 stars rating. What a disgrace.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank onstep57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texarkana, Texas
Level Contributor
590 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2011

I spent two nights here as part of a group tour of Italy, and the Park Hotel Suisse was one of the more memorable of the hotels we stayed at. First of all Santa Margherita is a great town to visit, with a lot of charm and atmosphere, close to the famous seaside town of Portofino. The Park Hotel Suisse is not right in the heart of town, but is close enough to be within walking distance of the center, and even the train station. I've read reviews that said it was built 50 years ago, and there has been no effort to remodel it since then, but I found it to have character, more than you would find in a modern hotel. In other words, it had a bit of soul. I liked how the staff went out of their way to serve delicious meals in the large dining room. Some in our group had great views of the sea from their rooms, and loved it. I wasn't so fortunate, but even my little balcony in the back had a nice, quiet, feel to it, with trees, shrubs and walkways leading to private gardens, and sedate rear entrances. It was one of the few hotels we stayed at with a swimming pool, and even though it was in the 70's in early May, the pool was heated, and one could go swimming. It didn't expect that. Bottom line, the hotel could have been a bit newer, but overall I found myself liking the hotel the way it is, I liked the friendliness of the staff, and I liked Santa Margherita.

Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank TallTexWally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armagh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2011

We chose here to be close to Portofino but were shocked to see the state of this hotel.... it needs an immediate revamp. Plastic flowers hanging out of a crumbling oasis is not what you expect from a four star hotel bedroom. Italy is a beautiful country with gorgeous food and particularly fresh produce....... its a shame we were offered "tinned"fruit and hard bread from the buffet breakfast. Reception staff weren't friendly and didn't even bother to ask if we had a nice stay or was everything satisfactory.

Room Tip: if possible view the room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oonagh55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Margherita Ligure hotels
0.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Regina Elena
BEST WESTERN Hotel Regina Elena
#7 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Laurin
Hotel Laurin
#12 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.9 km away
Metropole
Metropole
#5 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#4 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Villa Anita
Hotel Villa Anita
#2 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
5.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
0.6 km away
Lido Palace Hotel
Lido Palace Hotel
#11 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel Suisse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Suisse

Property: Park Hotel Suisse
Address: Via Favale 31, 16038, Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,522 - ₹ 18,418
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel Suisse 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Hotel Suisse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Santa Margherita Ligure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing