We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa Gnocchi far surpassed our expectations!”
Review of Villa Gnocchi

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Margherita Ligure
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Gnocchi
Certificate of Excellence
Coralville, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Villa Gnocchi far surpassed our expectations!”
Reviewed 12 October 2010

We stayed at Villa Gnocchi from September 4 - 10, 2010 to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Our room (number 9 I believe - it was orange) was lovely, clean and comfortable. The private balcony off of our room was covered in flowers and had a spectacular view overlooking Santa Margherita and out to the sea. The first night, we slept with the windows open and could hear the roosters and dogs on the neighboring properties. However, our room did have air conditioning so we could close the windows if we wanted a quieter night.

Mr Gnocchi accommodated our arrival outside of their normal check-in time and was waiting to greet us when we arrived. He took note of our interests and gave us very useful tips and suggestions, which we used throughout our stay. We experienced beautiful walks, towns and villages we never would have seen without his recommendations.

The Villa is set high on a hill, on a property with an olive orchard, fig trees, orange and lemon trees and other produce. It is within easy walking distance of the small town of San Lorenzo, where there are a couple of good restaurants, a cheap and cheerful pizzeria and a corner shop. Breakfast at Villa Gnocchi was more substantial than typical Italian fare and was served on the lovely terrace overlooking Santa Margherita. There were pastries, hard rolls, cheese and ham, jams and honey, fruit and juices, cereal and yogurt, and different coffee options. Plus whatever produce they picked from their garden. Plenty of food to start the day.

This is a pretty rugged area and not necessarily advisable for people who have trouble getting around on foot. For example, there is a path from Villa Gnocchi that goes directly into Santa Margherita. The path is lovely, but it is pretty steep and not really for those who are not in good physical condition. The trip down hill is about 15 to 20 minutes, but the trip back up is easily 30 to 40.

However, there are convenient and cheap busses that go into Santa Margherita as well as to Rapallo and Portofino, on a regular basis. Bus service from Santa Margherita does end at 8:00pm after the summer season though. Mr Gnocchi was very helpful in helping us navigate the bus and train schedules as well. We were easily able to visit the area all around Santa Margherita and Portofino, as well as the Cinque Terre, during our 5 day stay using Villa Gnocchi as our home base. If you want 5 star luxury, total silence and room service, stay at a pricey hotel in town. But if you want to experience a bit of Italian home life in a breathtaking natural setting with gracious hosts and lots of privacy, stay here. I was truly sad to leave Villa Gnocchi and long to go back again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnyinia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    38
    12
    2
    7
See reviews for
19
72
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

High above the town. You need a car to reach it. great view, peaceful, lovely owner and staff very helpful. Nice breakfast. Can walk into town and used buses to get back. Went with 3 month baby and worked really well.

No swimming pool and evening meal - either steep 10 min walk to local restaraunts or car journey to Santa Margherita.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankieJLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2010

We have been touring France and Italy for the last 6 summers. We have stayed at Villa Gnocchi three times . There is a great bedroom with steps up to a loft room with two single beds, which the boys love. Roberto is a great host and always gives us great information. We love the walk down the hill to the town for a meal in the evening and a stagger up again, but we know it wouldn't appeal to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rebec_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2010

Dazzling view, beautiful setting. Highly recommended for visitors to Portofino or Cinqe terre--both are reachable be ferry from this quiet spot. Good hiking nearby, bus or footpath to town and ferry dock.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProfessorNewHavenCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2010

Hanging on a wall in our home in Michigan is a photograph taken from the terrace of Villa Gnocchi. This photgraph shows Santa Margherita, the Med and the Italian coastline all the way to Portovenere. From this hillside retreat, just over the mountain from Portofino one can best enjoy the sights and the sounds of the Italian Riveria. We have stayed here seven times in seven years. It's location away from the hustle and bustle of downtown is exactly our cup of tea (or glass of wine).

This B&B is perched on the hillside just below San Lorenzo and above Santa Margherita. It is not for everybody. When we stay there we use public bus transportation (1 Euro) for getting up the hill as well as the hillside walkway (Via Roma) to walk down the hill to the city. The walk is about 25 minutes. The sights, smells and sounds along the walkway are to us quite enjoyable. If you have a car this is not an issue, but if you take a car to downtown, then you will have the hassle of just where to park it.

The owner, Roberto Gnocchi is a most gracious host and now friend. Breakfast on the terrace is a treat that we savor.

Villa Gnocchi is a wonderful experience, but it is not the Ritz. It is clean, comfortable and located in one of the best coastline regions in all of Italy.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hollandgrandpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Margherita Ligure
1.8 km away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#5 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
604 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Villa Anita
Hotel Villa Anita
#1 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
622 reviews
2.2 km away
Metropole
Metropole
#4 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Hotel Laurin
Hotel Laurin
#14 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
315 reviews
2.4 km away
Best Western Regina Elena
Best Western Regina Elena
#8 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
493 reviews
2.5 km away
L'Approdo
L'Approdo
#9 of 29 in Rapallo
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Gnocchi? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Gnocchi

Property: Villa Gnocchi
Address: Via Romana 53, 16038, Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Santa Margherita Ligure
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,796
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Villa Gnocchi Hotel Santa Margherita Ligure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing