We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Regina Elena
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Minerva(Santa Margherita Ligure)
US$ 270
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Continental(Santa Margherita Ligure)
US$ 333
US$ 317
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 368/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Sant'Andrea(Santa Margherita Ligure)
US$ 209
US$ 199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
MA Hotel(Santa Margherita Ligure)
US$ 209
US$ 203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Lido Palace Hotel(Santa Margherita Ligure)
US$ 232
US$ 215
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace(Santa Margherita Ligure)
US$ 378
US$ 319
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Metropole(Santa Margherita Ligure)
US$ 374
US$ 339
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villa Anita(Santa Margherita Ligure)
US$ 260
US$ 181
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Blu di Te(Santa Margherita Ligure)
US$ 381
US$ 363
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Imperiale Palace Hotel(Santa Margherita Ligure)
US$ 943
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (635)
Filter reviews
635 results
Traveller rating
240
255
91
32
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
240
255
91
32
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolprivate beachunderground tunnellarge tour groupsinsight tourgreat hotelexcellent roombeach barreception staffsea viewtop floormediterranean seareasonable sizeother hotelsbreakfast roommain buildingbeautiful area
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 635 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

We recently stayed at this hotel for 3 nights.

The location is great, opposite a bus stop that you can take the bus into town that runs quite regularly.

The room itself was small with quite dated amenities. The hairdryer broke when I used it so we needed to try to fix it ourself.

Probably the biggest advantage of this hotel is access to their private beach via an underground tunnel directly from the hotel. The daybeds were expensive however this is Italy in high season, something to be expected. The lunch at the restaurant at the beach was one of the nicest lunches we had.

The breakfast was plentiful with many options - you could even boil your own eggs with their timer - perhaps an idea however is a sign to advise children not to use this facility as they cannot count and took the eggs that I had cooking!!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank PrincessCatherine77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pciana, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Regina Elena, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Thank you very much dear Mrs. PrincessCatherine77, for your nice feedback.
We’ve been glad to read that you enjoyed our large private beach with its easy access, our beautiful and convenient location and the wide choice of top quality food served at breakfast.
Above all, we are enthusiast and proud to know that you found our meal at our Restaurant La Conchiglia one of the best during your holidays, thanks to the delicious dishes created every day by our Chef Giuseppe’s professionalism and fantasy.
Regarding the amenities in every room, they are regularly checked and updated. Sorry about the hairdryer breaking down: our maintenance staff is here on purpose to solve problems like this that may occur.
Looking forward to welcoming you again to Regina Elena, kind regards.
Francesca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

Ask for a sea view room at the front on floors 1-4 as the 5th floor is disappointing.
Breakfast is the same every day, there is no variety, freshly squeezed orange juice is available at a supplement.
The front desk staff are very helpful and obliging.
We found beach beds expensive at €32 euro per day and our lunch at the beach club was the most disappointing meal of our week in the whole resort.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nix0n2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pciana, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Regina Elena, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Dear Nix0n2017,
We are sorry you were not completely satisfied with your stay at our hotel. If you did not like the 5th floor, you could have asked for a room on a different floor and we would have been happy to please you, as exceeding your needs is absolutely our main aim. Anyway, there are many clients who choose especially the 5th floor, just because it’s different from other floors, but naturally people’s opinions are different.
Luckily, as you can read on many other comments, Regina Elena is special and a lot more than “just ok” for hundreds of guests and the exquisite food of our meals is highly appreciated, but, again, taste is something subjective.
Best regards.
Francesca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

Hotel Regina Elena, is a an absolut pearl. The staff is beyond sweet and agreeable. This was my second time staying at the venue, during the high season. As a guest, the staff was always helpful to me. The environment and room, is kept tidy and clean. Breakfast buffet has a wide selection and can be enjoyed in or outside. One can walk to the center and back. The bus or ferry to Portofino is only 6/700 m walk.
A suggestion would be to leave pool towels in the room, since they are no longer displayed by the pool.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pciana, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Regina Elena, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Thank you ever so much, dear Neel, for your very kind feedback and for your special words about our staff. They make us really happy, because we think the friendliness and warmth of our hospitality is something, which makes our guests’ holiday even lovelier and unforgettable!
It is a great pleasure to understand you had a wonderful stay and you enjoyed thoroughly our facilities and service. By the way, pool towels are provided 24 hours on 24 at the reception, (while the beach ones are provided on the beach).
We hope you will plan to come and visit us again soon, with our kindest regards.
Francesca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

We stayed at the Best Western Regina Elena with our 8 month old baby. We couldn't be happier with everything the hotel provided and the excellent service we received. We had a room with a view of the water which was absolutely breathtaking. Our room also had a balcony which included a table and two reclining chairs. The rooftop pool was immaculate and included a good amount of lounge chairs for guests. In addition, the beach across the street from the pool was very family friendly and had a kiddie pool and games for children to play. The breakfast in the morning offered a variety of options and the staff was always so helpful in providing our baby a high chair, cup, and even utensils. The only thing that was a little difficult for us were the hotel's elevators. They were on the small side to squeeze a stroller in, but I thought they added character to the hotel and really didn't mind! The location of the hotel is a bit of a walk from restaurants and stores but who doesn't want to take a leisurely stroll along the water? I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling with a baby or children.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NYC_8389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pciana, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Regina Elena, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Dear NYC_8389, we cannot say how grateful we are for such a wonderful review!
We are delighted to know that you spent an extraordinary and special holiday with us!
It’s nice to see you have enjoyed the enchanting views from the rooftop and from the balcony of your room, as well as the top quality and wide variety of food at breakfast; but, particularly, we are extremely happy you thought your lovely baby received the best attention from the whole staff. We deeply love babies and children and we are happy to stay with them and make them feel cuddled!
Thanking you once more and looking forward to your next visit, with our kindest regards.
Francesca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

Yes it's one of the cheaper places here but I would probably have stayed in a different area instead rather than stay at a run-down, overpriced, hotel. We checked in at 5pm and we're told we could use the pool and beach - they neglected to tell us the beach closed at 730 and tbe pool at 8, so by the time we settled in and grabbed food they were both closed. What a waste of a night! Went diving nearby and then finally used the beach, except the beds were 15 euro EACH to use so we just sat on the ground (after being told to move over by the lifeguard!). Now, I don't know if it's an Italy thing or specific to this hotel but I thought the closure times and the price to rent a bed were ridiculous.

The room and hotel were outdated, the elevators were tiny and slow, and the balcony had a modest view. There is no shade on the rooftop pool area.

As for breakfast - it has nothing that suited our diets - it was all pastries and the juice and coffee came in machines. I think they could have done way better with the food - it was not what I'd expect in such an expensive hotel.

Really was not a fan of this place at all, one of the worst Best Westerns I've ever stayed at. I have no idea how this hotel got rated 4 stars!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank JessicainCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pciana, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Regina Elena, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Dear Mrs. Jessica,
We are sorry to read your comments and to realize we did not come up to your expectations completely.
We regret you did not have enough time to use the swimming pool (open all day long from 9 am to 8 pm) or the beach (open again all day long from 8am to 7pm): their closing times are clearly indicated in a notice; moreover the times of our private beach are according to our town regulations.
Concerning the rooftop, let us explain that every single sunbed there has its own shade over the head, as parasols are not obviously allowed for safety reasons.
At breakfast, it is a shame you did not ask for an expresso coffee served from the bar, which can be prepared with pleasure for you, by our staff, upon request. It is also a pity you missed all the vegetables, fresh and dried fruits, vegetable pies, anchovies, Ligurian focaccia, cheese, cold meats, eggs, cereals and lots and lots more, which are exposed every morning on our buffet, together with several kinds of pastries.
Best regards.
Francesca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews