We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good service, friendly owners.”
Review of Hotel Mediterraneo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Mediterraneo
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, good service, friendly owners.”
Reviewed 22 July 2010

I stayed at Hotel Mediterraneo for three nights in mid July. It is very well located, close to the station but also in the centre of Santa Margherita and over looking Villa Ducazzo on the back side. I found the owners to be very friendly, jolly and helpful. Initially they put me in a spacious room overlooking the front but it was very noisy and a few things in the room were broken or didnt work. However, after mentioning this to the reception, they quickly agreed to move me to a new room without any hassles and I got to choose out of two. The hotel also has free bikes which is convenient and the breakfast is a large spread. Overall, I enjoyed my stay here and would probably come back. I think it was a little expensive for what I got (no aircon as well) but it is peak holiday season.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claudcrause
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    55
    15
    3
    2
See reviews for
21
58
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2010

We chose the Mediterraneo because of its location, the reviews and the price. It's not cheap but you do get a big room and comfortable, if not luxurious, accommodation. One plus is the free parking, which is unusual in Liguria, unfortunately this is mostly in the garden, which is a pity as otherwise it's very pretty.
The location is excellent, very close to the sea with no steps which is great if you have a pushchair. There are lots of cafes and restaurants close by and the station is only 10 mins walk. The staff we very friendly.
The hotel is quite old and the bathrooms have been added to the original rooms which is a bit old fashioned but not unpleasant in a quirky way. It was hot when we were there so, unusually for us, we missed air conditioning, but there are big windows with Italian blinds.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingFoxes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moss, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2010

Our stay in hotel Mediterraneo was a perfect starting point for various excursions in the area. The hotel has a very service minded and helpful owner who gave us a lot of god advice and tips on what we should see. The hotel has a special charm and can be described as a home on the journey. Food, service and location gave as full value for the stay. We can really recommend this hotel as good place to stay while visiting St.Margherita Ligure.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arvidw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2009

We stayed here for 4 nights. Our room was large and faced the gardens of the villa Durazzo. It didn't have air-con, but did have a fan. The owner, a finnish lady, was really friendly and very helpful. We dined in the restaurant twice and the food was excellent, they were also very accommodating with my wife being a vegetarian. Compared with other hotels in this town we found this hotel a lot cheaper.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_rorz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2009

If you are touring the area, particularly he Cinque Terre, this is the ideal location to stay. You can take the nearby train into all the Cinque Terre and return to lovely Santa Margherita at night. The staf at the hotelf was extremely helpful, the room large, pleasant and comfortable, the food excellent. A happy and satisfactory stay.

  • Liked — the friendly and helpful staff
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindashirer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Margherita Ligure hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Villa Anita
Hotel Villa Anita
#1 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
641 reviews
0.2 km away
Lido Palace Hotel
Lido Palace Hotel
#12 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
404 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#5 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
887 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Laurin
Hotel Laurin
#13 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
333 reviews
0.6 km away
Metropole
Metropole
#4 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mediterraneo

Property: Hotel Mediterraneo
Address: Via della vittoria 18/a, Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Santa Margherita Ligure
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,426 - ₹ 10,282
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mediterraneo 3*
Number of rooms: 30

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing