We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, food, comfort - we'll be back”
Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Europa
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Rapallo
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Location, food, comfort - we'll be back”
Reviewed 28 December 2011

This hotel was booked as part of a Page & Moy holiday so we had no choice. No problem. The location is perfect, close to sea front, town and railway station and, as we were there at Christmas, convenient for the Christmas market along the sea front. The hotel is being renovated but even unrenovated rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. Meals were excellent (they didn't try to create an 'English' Christmas dinner just provided a wonderful variety of Italian dishes) and the waiters helpful. To be honest you may have to ask the dining staff to replenish food and clear tables but then they responded efficiently - overall a very satisfying stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterBeziers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

937 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    413
    133
    40
    17
See reviews for
160
547
9
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, Essex
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

My wife (69) and I (75) had booked a holiday at the Europa Hotel through Page & Moy in February this year and only looked up the TripAdvisor reviews some time afterwards. We were therefore slightly worried by some of the reviews - but need not have been! We realise that, in any hotel (4 star or otherwise) on any holiday, things can occasionally go wrong but the important thing is that they are rectified when brought to the attention of the hotel (as in fact happened in our case).

It is true (as an earlier reviewer has commented) that the Europa is situated near a busy roundabout but we found that the double glazing kept out most of the noise very efficiently. It is also true (as commented by another reviewer) that the church bells start at 7 a.m. - but not during the night and Italy is, after all, a Catholic country.

Our room was on the 2nd floor (our first room had been on the 1st floor but had a connecting door to another room, planned presumably for larger families -as mentioned above, this was rectified) so we cannot comment on the upper floors which are still awaiting refurbishment. Our room(s) were excellent, fully equipped for a couple on a 7 days stay and very clean, bed linen, towels etc being replaced frequently.

The breakfast buffet had a reasonable selection (though we would have appreciated at least one hot dish such as scrambled egg) but we do agree with a previous reviewer that the breakfast staff did not always notice items which need clearing or food items which needed replenishing.

On the other hand, we found all other staff to be most helpful and friendly, whether at reception, in the bar or in the restaurant. At reception, Matteo, William and the lady whose name we did not catch were all very friendly and we did not recognise other reviewer’s descriptions as unfriendly. Circulating speedily between bar and restaurant, Giovanni was marvellous, as were Alfredo in the restaurant and Marco at the bar. Regarding food, we suggest that you seriously consider the Table d‘Hote dinner at Euro 20, which represents excellent value (Rapallo is known as an expensive area) and, even more so, the lunch menu at Euro 12-50. During our stay, we ate every evening in the hotel and had lunch in the hotel on a couple of occasions when not out ‘touring’ - by definition, we cannot be certain but we feel that this was cheaper, and certainly better value, than eating out in Rapallo, as well as being in more ‘civilised’ conditions (decent cutlery and crockery, cloth serviettes etc) As regards bar prices, we felt that they were reasonable, particularly for a 4 star hotel - in fact, we had been charged higher prices in some bars, restaurants etc. elsewhere.

As commented on by others, the railway station is 7 - 10 minutes away on foot (return ticket to Genoa - marvellous buildings - Euro 6-00 per person, journey time 40 to 55 minutes, depending on the train) and the supermarket (on the way to the station) 5 minutes away.

Health permitting at our ages, we hope to return to Rapallo next year (it is a convenient base for excursions and it will be easier to travel to Genoa on a couple of days from there rather than taking a chance on unknown hotels in Genoa) and it will certainly be at the Europa.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Europhilecouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
176 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Rapallo is lovely and this hotel is nicely located near the waterfront with modern rooms. There was a history of the hotel in the room and apparently it used to be a stopping off point for pilgrims en route to Rome (other than this, its history seems unremarkable, though the building is nice). The lobby has a modern feel to it and we had dinner in the restaurant where the entertainment was a cheesily good piano player. Dinner was pretty good but the service was patchy (waiter bore a striking resemblance to Matt Lucas).

The staff at check in and check out were terrible, just clueless, paid in cash and they gave incorrect change but didn't seem to care a bit.

Best tip for staying in Rapallo - drive out to Portofino, it's absolutely gorgeous.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsWaterhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We have just returned from a week long stay.The hotel is partly refurbished and although we did not have one of these rooms, the room was OK and very clean.
The breakfast , buffet , was OK but the staff were extremely slow at cleaning and relaying tables , so you virtually had to clear the table yourself .The evening dining was a very hit and miss experience.Fine if not busy, but total chaos when there were any parties dining in.
We had a room at the back with horrible view and loud church bells.Cannot understand how
it rates 4 stars.

Room Tip: Ask for 1st or 2nd floor and sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Central location, 300 mt from station. Very nice clean room with sea view, helpfull staff. Particularly the restaurant staff under Barbara supervision made us feel at home. Excellent, innovative, well presented and generous food servings. Popular also for non residents. Enjoyable breakfast. Hope the planned pool has finally optained permission from municipality for our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Remo46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapallo hotels
1.1 km away
Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa
0.4 km away
Best Western Hotel Tigullio Royal
0.8 km away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 29 in Rapallo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel San Desiderio
Hotel San Desiderio
#4 of 29 in Rapallo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.3 km away
Vesuvio Hotel
Vesuvio Hotel
#7 of 29 in Rapallo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Property: Hotel Europa
Address: Via Milite Ignoto 2, 16035, Rapallo, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Rapallo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Rapallo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rapallo
#4 Business Hotel in Rapallo
#6 Family Hotel in Rapallo
#11 Romantic Hotel in Rapallo
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,952 - ₹ 16,511
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Europa 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Rapallo
Rapallo Europa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing