We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nicely renovated but staff were terrible”
Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Europa
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Rapallo
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great location, nicely renovated but staff were terrible”
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Rapallo is lovely and this hotel is nicely located near the waterfront with modern rooms. There was a history of the hotel in the room and apparently it used to be a stopping off point for pilgrims en route to Rome (other than this, its history seems unremarkable, though the building is nice). The lobby has a modern feel to it and we had dinner in the restaurant where the entertainment was a cheesily good piano player. Dinner was pretty good but the service was patchy (waiter bore a striking resemblance to Matt Lucas).

The staff at check in and check out were terrible, just clueless, paid in cash and they gave incorrect change but didn't seem to care a bit.

Best tip for staying in Rapallo - drive out to Portofino, it's absolutely gorgeous.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsWaterhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

976 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    425
    142
    43
    18
See reviews for
170
568
10
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We have just returned from a week long stay.The hotel is partly refurbished and although we did not have one of these rooms, the room was OK and very clean.
The breakfast , buffet , was OK but the staff were extremely slow at cleaning and relaying tables , so you virtually had to clear the table yourself .The evening dining was a very hit and miss experience.Fine if not busy, but total chaos when there were any parties dining in.
We had a room at the back with horrible view and loud church bells.Cannot understand how
it rates 4 stars.

Room Tip: Ask for 1st or 2nd floor and sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Central location, 300 mt from station. Very nice clean room with sea view, helpfull staff. Particularly the restaurant staff under Barbara supervision made us feel at home. Excellent, innovative, well presented and generous food servings. Popular also for non residents. Enjoyable breakfast. Hope the planned pool has finally optained permission from municipality for our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Remo46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We stayed here four nights.
The staff did exactly what was required, efficiently. They gave us timetables for ferry services and day trips, so we had a great time exploring all the little surrounding towns.

The decor is very modern and very high quality. I was even driven to take photos of it to show the fams when I got home. Decent size. Good TV, plenty of international channels. Comfortable bed, but I would have loved a feather duvet! Air con was fantastic.

Location was great, at the end of the main promenade. Very close to the beach, in particular close to the tiny patch of public beach beside the little castle.

The restaurant was a beautiful setting, with inside and outdoor tables. In the evening they had live singers. We only had the complimentary breakfast here, however. It was a typical Italian hotel array. Nothing to rave about. The coffee was ok.

No international adaptors (or not one for our needs anyway) at reception. Wifi was costly, I think about 23 euros for 24 hours.

In summary, we would definitely go back here if we ever returned to Rapallo (hopefully!).

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oknz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin-Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

In the main we enjoyed our stay here.
ideally located on the seafront and walk out of main door and you are in the town
Room was nice ,comfortable and had all one would need.
Well stocked bar with wonderful friendly bar staff and a very relaxing way to while away the evening outdoors.One outstanding young man from Roumania working in the bar ,really made our stay with his professionalism ,engagement and excellent nature.
Reception was a little stark and whilst attempting to be designer ,lacked something that would make one do what one does in lobbies ,ie sit and relax.
One of the things my wife and I always feel sets a hotel apart and tees itself up nicely with, is its first engagement with new customers.
First impressions last and after an often long drive it is nice to be greeted as paying customers whom you are glad to see.
In this regard I am afraid the hotel let itself down badly on day one.A non welcoming ,cold and austere interaction which left a lot to be desired.
A man behind reception was generally very helpful but it got to the stage when we saw his female colleagues we eventually decided not to bother asking them anything such was their unwelcome manner.

You know the truth is we really liked the hotel and all it had to offer.However the overlasting impression was greatly diminished by those ladies behind reception.

This is not a cheap hotel and really a four star hotel should have reception staff who are cheerful ,interactive and customer oriented.
Thus a less than satisfactory rating ,however balanced by great bar staff .

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapallo hotels
1.1 km away
Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa
0.4 km away
Best Western Hotel Tigullio Royal
0.8 km away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Canali
Hotel Canali
#12 of 29 in Rapallo
339 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 29 in Rapallo
626 reviews
1.5 km away
L'Approdo
L'Approdo
#8 of 29 in Rapallo
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Property: Hotel Europa
Address: Via Milite Ignoto 2, 16035, Rapallo, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Rapallo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Rapallo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rapallo
#4 Business Hotel in Rapallo
#6 Family Hotel in Rapallo
#11 Romantic Hotel in Rapallo
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,067 - ₹ 20,356
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Europa 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Rapallo
Rapallo Europa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing