We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Europa
Nearby Hotels
US$ 236
US$ 207
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 234/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Astoria(Rapallo)
US$ 246
US$ 233
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 265/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Stella(Rapallo)
US$ 192
US$ 182
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 394
US$ 354
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
L'Approdo(Rapallo)
US$ 189
US$ 179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Excelsior Palace Hotel(Rapallo)
US$ 455
US$ 356
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 142
US$ 137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 126
US$ 118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 131/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,070)
Filter reviews
1,070 results
Traveller rating
371
469
157
50
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
371
469
157
50
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdesign hoteltrain stationchurch bellscinque terrenice hotellocation is idealcable carbuffet breakfastroom was largeevery eveningcommon areasfive minute walkspaseaportofinomatteoboat
Filter
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 1,070 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We have just returned from a week long stay.The hotel is partly refurbished and although we did not have one of these rooms, the room was OK and very clean.
The breakfast , buffet , was OK but the staff were extremely slow at cleaning and relaying tables , so you virtually had to clear the table yourself .The evening dining was a very hit and miss experience.Fine if not busy, but total chaos when there were any parties dining in.
We had a room at the back with horrible view and loud church bells.Cannot understand how
it rates 4 stars.

Room Tip: Ask for 1st or 2nd floor and sea view.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Central location, 300 mt from station. Very nice clean room with sea view, helpfull staff. Particularly the restaurant staff under Barbara supervision made us feel at home. Excellent, innovative, well presented and generous food servings. Popular also for non residents. Enjoyable breakfast. Hope the planned pool has finally optained permission from municipality for our next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Remo46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We stayed here four nights.
The staff did exactly what was required, efficiently. They gave us timetables for ferry services and day trips, so we had a great time exploring all the little surrounding towns.

The decor is very modern and very high quality. I was even driven to take photos of it to show the fams when I got home. Decent size. Good TV, plenty of international channels. Comfortable bed, but I would have loved a feather duvet! Air con was fantastic.

Location was great, at the end of the main promenade. Very close to the beach, in particular close to the tiny patch of public beach beside the little castle.

The restaurant was a beautiful setting, with inside and outdoor tables. In the evening they had live singers. We only had the complimentary breakfast here, however. It was a typical Italian hotel array. Nothing to rave about. The coffee was ok.

No international adaptors (or not one for our needs anyway) at reception. Wifi was costly, I think about 23 euros for 24 hours.

In summary, we would definitely go back here if we ever returned to Rapallo (hopefully!).

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oknz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

In the main we enjoyed our stay here.
ideally located on the seafront and walk out of main door and you are in the town
Room was nice ,comfortable and had all one would need.
Well stocked bar with wonderful friendly bar staff and a very relaxing way to while away the evening outdoors.One outstanding young man from Roumania working in the bar ,really made our stay with his professionalism ,engagement and excellent nature.
Reception was a little stark and whilst attempting to be designer ,lacked something that would make one do what one does in lobbies ,ie sit and relax.
One of the things my wife and I always feel sets a hotel apart and tees itself up nicely with, is its first engagement with new customers.
First impressions last and after an often long drive it is nice to be greeted as paying customers whom you are glad to see.
In this regard I am afraid the hotel let itself down badly on day one.A non welcoming ,cold and austere interaction which left a lot to be desired.
A man behind reception was generally very helpful but it got to the stage when we saw his female colleagues we eventually decided not to bother asking them anything such was their unwelcome manner.

You know the truth is we really liked the hotel and all it had to offer.However the overlasting impression was greatly diminished by those ladies behind reception.

This is not a cheap hotel and really a four star hotel should have reception staff who are cheerful ,interactive and customer oriented.
Thus a less than satisfactory rating ,however balanced by great bar staff .

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

We had previously stayed at the Hotel Europa on two occasions pre-renovations. It is now trying to become a design hotel and whilst the rooms have been updated nicely, the overall feel of the hotel has totally changed. The common areas including the lobby, restaurant etc are now stark, cold and uninviting whereas before they were traditional and cosy.

The room was beautiful with a balcony looking out onto the street as well as the water. The bed was extremely comfortable and the rest of the furniture was ample. The bathroom was great with a lot of amenities available.

The buffet breakfast that was included was terrible. The pastries were not fresh, the yoghurt was not nice and overall there was a bad selection. So much so that our second day there we skipped it altogether and went to a fabulous bar/cafe nearby to have fresh croissants and amazing coffee!

There was meant to be free Wi-Fi available but it was not working so we had to use the computer in the lobby which would time out after a certain amount of time.

At check out there was an extremely rude woman who told us that our car had been moved from outside into the underground parking garage. She rushed us through the check-out process and completely ignored me once she discovered my partner spoke Italian and I didn't. After we had dragged out luggage all the way down there we could not find our car! So we had to drag our luggage all the way up again only to find that our car was exactly where we left it in the first place.

The location of the hotel is good for discovering local areas such as Rapallo, Santa Margherita Ligure and Portofino. We had a car which made it easier to get around but there are also bus services available.

Overall, I think we would give the hotel another chance if we were to return to Rapallo as the rooms were good. We just hope the service improves and the "design" hotel concept doesn't ruin the Italian charm it once had.

Room Tip: Rooms on level 1 and 2 are renovated. Ask for a room with balcony.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pg132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews