We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Rapallo
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Great Stay!”
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We stayed at the GHB end of August and had a great week.
We were on the 2nd floor. Room was spacious. View phenomenal!!
Bed seemed to be old at first sight but slept in it like a log, very comfortable.

Can't agree at all with people saying they were bothered with noise of the train as
with closed windows it's perfectly quiet. Bathroom is modern & spacious.

Breakfast was good although you would expect fresh orange juice in a 4-star hotel.

Staff, especially in the restaurant is extremely friendly & hospitable. Nothing was too much!
5-star class waiters!! Their dirty shirts however, we find unacceptable.

Walking distance from hotel to Rapallo-centre is fine. Walk on the path along the sea is beautiful & the timing of 15/20 min. is perfect to burn some calories before & after enjoying the great (however full of carbs) Italian food!

All and all impression of the hotel = super.

We will definitely return some day soon!

(Note to the General Manager: I find it remarkable to read that you 'doubt' guests complaints. A complaint = an experience. Working in the hospitality business myself, I've learned: Apologise, learn from it & take advantage of it!)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marielise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmgr_CM, General Manager at Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 October 2011
Dearest Guest,

thank You very much for sharing Your experience at the Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa.

We are delighted to read You will definitely return soon! We thank You in the name of our Staff as it is not easy to be defined 5 star service (in spite of the momentary shirts accident).

Thank you also for the last note...I always think, and I will always, we have to learn every day of our work life, accepting critique in order to grow; the person who wrote a false comment knows exactely the reason of my answer.

Our kindest regards from the marvellous Tigullio Gulf.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

902 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    354
    121
    51
    24
See reviews for
124
593
13
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
355 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Nice all around hotel, big rooms well furnished, great clean and big bathrooms.

Common parts are lovely big area, high ceilings, well decorated.

Spa is ok, not so big, but nice anc lean. Gym is very small. Staff at the spa are good, exellent massages.

The roof terrace restaurant has an amazing view, cosy atmosphere, and the food is really good quality, well presented.

You have to walk 10 minute to get to Rapallo town center.

Nice to stay even in spring time.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

apallo was recommended by a friend of mine. I was looking for a 5 star hotel and had to choose between Excelsior and Bristol. We decided to pick cheaper option. Summing up:
1.Arrival: We were driving from Milan and it surprisingly took only 2 hours drive. On arrival there was some confusion as reception was triing to persuade me that the room was not prepaid, however it took only 5 minutes to fix the problem. Probably that was the only slightly unpleasant t experience during all the stay.
2. Room: Room was spacious, with nice see view, comfortable bed and pillows. Bathroom is comfortable and modern.
3. Location: Hotel is 1,5 km from city center or 25 minutes walk.
4. Meals: Breakfast is testy but probably can be more variable. Lunch is served near the pool, choice is rather limited however service and taste of food is excellent. Restaurant le Coupole on the roof is highly recommended for delicious food and perfect service.
5. Facilities: Gym is very small but still gives you some opportunity to work out. Swimming pool is big and pool area is never overcrowded. If you want to bathe at the sea you have to walk around 15 minutes to a private beach.

Overall stay was extremely pleasant. Reviews i read were sometimes negative, but we personally can say only positive about this place and will recommend it to everybody.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ksenia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmgr_CM, General Manager at Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 September 2011
Dearest Guests,

we feel to be very lucky we have been choosen instead of another Hotel.

I want to personally apologize about the mistake at the check-in, as it was an avoidable misanderstanding!

Delighted You had appreciated the room, the bathroom and sleeping quality and You consider excellent, delicious the food in our Restaurants with a perfect the service.

One of our characteristic is to be a very peaceful place even if completely booked.

Thanks for being considered a place to recommend to everybody.

Wishing You all the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
308 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Rather luxury. Located far from the sea shore, but got an opened swimming pool decorated with natural wood - available free of charge. Breakfast is expensive but plentiful and tasty. Lobby is decorated with high quality materials. Small parking space. Rooms are big enough. Bath and shower gel, soap supplied by Etro - smell is perfect, wanted to buy it but not available. All in all this hotel seems to be a nice place to stay for couple of days.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DmitryStPetersburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmgr_CM, General Manager at Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 September 2011
Kindest Guests,

we thank You very much for sharing Your experience at the Grand Hotel Bristol.

Special shampoo and bath foam is not sellable, as it is Etro for Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa, but if You do not mind in keeping in touch directly with me, I would like to send You some samples.

We hope You did not have problems in parking Your car, as we are frequently completely booked, but we should have enough space for everybody as parking spaces are around 140.

We are happy You had appreciated our Buffet breakfast, which is actually always included.

Kindest regards from a sunny and beautiful Tigullio Gulf,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

This was a lovely hotel, just on the edge of Rapallo and a short walk along the sea front into the town.

The rooms were very spacious and the view from the balcony was beautiful taking in the whole bay across to Portofino. The same view was there from the terrace having dinner alfresco - superb.

All the staff were friendly and helpful, speaking a range of languages and nothing was too much for them. The restaurant food was very good and prepared to a high standard.

The pool was absolutely excellent and 25m long, just the right temperature to cool off in with a bar beyond the poolside decking for drinks and delicious food.

The only slight issue was the electrics in one of our rooms. The cutoff went off most nights causing a loss of power and the hotel did not do much to stop it happening. In the end I ended up switching the trip off myself to get the air conditioning back.

All in all, an excellent hotel!

Room Tip: Book a sea view room, the view is not to be missed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WindsurferAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmgr_CM, General Manager at Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 September 2011
Dearest Guests,

thank You for spending time in reviewing our House.

We are very happy Yours has been an unforgettable experience. Pleased You had appreciated the rooms and its view, Le Cupole Restaurant and the alfresco dinner.

We are willing to Keep on improving and working to put together "the Staff" , so we are delighted to learn we are on the right way.

The pool is the largest in the area and we are more then meticolous to keep it sanitized and clean and the outlet Bistro with high food level is a good idea to give a complete comfort.

We apologize for the eletric matter, due to a fuse block problem.

Wishing You an happy end of summer, we hope to welcome You again at the Grand Hotel Bristol,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapallo
1.2 km away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
1.4 km away
Best Western Hotel Tigullio Royal
1.4 km away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 29 in Rapallo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#4 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
2.9 km away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#5 of 29 in Rapallo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa
Address: Via Aurelia Orientale, 369, 16035, Rapallo, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Rapallo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Rapallo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rapallo
#5 Business Hotel in Rapallo
#12 Romantic Hotel in Rapallo
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,548 - ₹ 28,466
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning views, amazing service in one of the most beautiful corner in the world, Tigullio Gulf.In a 1908 Belle Epoque Hotel, completely refurbished, the atmosphere is always happy, colours are light, Staff is smiling.Perfect spot to visit Cinque Terre, Forte dei Marmi, Portofino, Genova and the entire Riviera Ligure.Amazing food, local and international, Staff attentive and pleased to be useful. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rapallo
Nh Hotels Rapallo
Grand Hotel Bristol Rapallo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing