We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Astoria(Rapallo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Hotel Riviera(Rapallo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel Stella(Rapallo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Miro Hotel(Rapallo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Vesuvio(Rapallo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,616)
Filter reviews
1,616 results
Traveller rating
977
459
116
43
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
977
459
116
43
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach clubinfinity poolbyron restaurantstar hotelbeautiful hotellord byroneden rocksea viewcinque terreold world charmitalian rivieraligurian seaour honeymoonspectacular viewssanta margaritabuffet breakfastsuperb location
Filter
Updating list...
192 - 197 of 1,616 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2016

To be honest I am not used to this style of hotel although have stayed in some similar but smaller ones in Milan, but have been fortunate enough to spend a couple of nights in this beautiful located Classic in Rapallo.
It is a very big hotel but don't let that put you off, there are lots of meeting rooms, events, things going on, probably lots of weekend event, again don't let this put you off because it feels like a family run hotel, friendly and courteous staff, and a really nice open reception area, bar, terraces......
Rooms are nicely decorated, plenty of space, well equipped, modern technology including good air con, but still felt classic, old, really nice feel, I had a massive terrace and harbour views, I presume because of the location being high up on a hillside that there wouldn't be too many rooms without a nice view.
Breakfast was relaxed, plenty of tables with sea views, great choice, plenty of staff and calm, quiet, chilled.
Took lunch in the beach bar terrace which was fantastic and felt like a film set which wouldn't sunrise me if it has been at some point, sea views, beautiful infinite pool, spa and so on, go on the website end take a look, there is a lot to look at.
I am probably not able to give you a full review as I wasn't here long enough, however, I cannot imagine anyone looking to stay in a hotel in Italy that evokes memories of old films based around this beautiful Ligurian Sea coast, affluence and style, would not like it.
Highly recommend you'll love it!

Room Tip: Most rooms will have great views but may be worth checking other reviews
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smitty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2016

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review written on the occasion of your recent stay with us.

We are pleased to hear that you really appreciated the Hotel and its great views in addition to the breakfast overlooking the sea and the lunch at our Beach Club.

Thanking you again for your preference in choosing our property, we hope we’ll have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future and all the Excelsior Staff assure you of their personal assistance at all times.

Warmest regards from the Portofino Coast.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2016

Its a Typical classic hotel that is going through a make over . Classic style Reception, Classic lounges, Classic rooms. Its quite a walk to navigate this hotel. To reach the Sea side building there is two lifts and a walk way over the coast road.
When you get there , there is a heated pool and a few different levels , which to be honest are not particularly welcoming.
Yes the sea and rocks are very inviting but the chairs are close together with little room for manoeuvre. All in all a bit disappointing.
The buffet breakfast was a plus. Excellent staff , a good selection of food, a great view and of course the best coffee. !
One of the best points must be that it is in walking distance of the Centre of Rapallo. There you will find a good selection of bars and restaurants.
In addition you are just a few minutes from either Santa Margarita, Portofino or Zoagli all in need of exploring.
Finally , It should be said that the prices do reflect what you get.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Boris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment concerning your experience at the Excelsior Palace Hotel.

We are awfully sorry to hear about your disappointment concerning the Beach Club and we inform you that, as per our local law, it is officially open from June to September included, that’s why during your stay in May only the pool side area was available.

Furthermore, please be informed that in our area we don’t have sandy beaches but mainly rocks or terraces.

However, we would like to remind you that your comments are very precious to us in order to better understand our Clients’ needs.

Thanking you for your kind attention, we send you our warmest regards from the Portofino Coast.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2016

I was constantly exposed to a mediocre service by the front desk. An uninviting attitude that has no resemblance to a 5-star experience. I would strongly suggest you go straight to Portofino´s 4 and 5 star offering.

In the details: their first restaurant suggestion was their own (!), unable to hail a taxi to pick me up in Portofino (or offer an alternative), unwilling to facilitate hotel vespa rental and denied a cash payment because of 500 euronotes being marked.

5 star hotels shine on their incredible mattresses. This one felt cheap.

Breakfast was good though.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Juan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2016

Dear Guest,

First of all let us thank you for your comment.

We are deeply sorry about your remarks concerning the service offered by our Front Desk and we inform you that the two banknotes you wanted to use had a strange stamp on them, therefore the Receptionist found it wiser not to accept them.

Moreover, regarding the Vespa rental, please be informed that the information about the rental procedure you received are the standard ones and they are normally very well accepted by Guests.

With best regards,

Aldo Werdin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2016

From the moment we received a very warm welcome at Reception to the time when a gentleman at Reception offered to give us a lift to the station for our return journey, our needs were catered for in an unobtrusive but very friendly and helpful fashion. Our room (307), with views over the harbour and the sea, was spacious, comfortable and relaxing. We slept well. The welcoming bottle of Limocello was a nice touch and seemed to go down very well on the balcony. The food was of an exceptionally high standard; the Swordfish and tomatoes which we had in the Eden Roc restaurant ranks as one of the tastiest meals we have ever had. There was a splendid choice for breakfast and the dinners were excellent. One interesting "eccentricity" was that the dinner menu offered to me had prices whereas the one offered to my wife did not. The beach club proved to be a pleasant environment in which to relax and many other facilities were on offer. We took a bus to Portofino and a boat for the return journey. I have never witnessed so many people crammed into one bus, and would recommend the boat journey to visit this veritable jewel of the Italian Riviera. The coastal walk from the hotel was very enjoyable and Rapallo itself is worth a visit. Although the weather was disappointing at times, we came away feeling that we had had a wonderful experience and that everyone who works at the Excelsior Palace Hotel has the happiness of their guests as their number one priority.

Room Tip: Room 307 has a sea view on two sides and a balcony that takes a table and two chairs.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2016

Dear Mr. John,

We thank you for your detailed review on the occasion of your stay with us.

We are delighted to hear that you fully enjoyed the experience of being our Guest and that you have appreciated all our services, the food at our Eden Roc Lounge & Restaurant and the time spend at our Beach Club.

We hope we’ll have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon and all the Excelsior Staff assure you of their personal assistance at all times.

Warmest regards from the Portofino Coast,

Aldo Werdin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2016

This Hotel is paradise on earth- from the first moment you arrive you are heartly wellcome and feel at home. I had the pirivileg to have the same room as I stayed in 2 years ago- 6. floor with a huge terrace overlooking Rapallo. The room was very clean and also the cleaning ladies were very polite. The staff is always very friendly . The dinner at the Lord Byron Restaurant was very good - service and food was perfect. The beach is wonderful , very clean water and also perfekt service . It was very difficult to say farewell- I will go back soon for sure....

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Sahikovski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comment.

We are delighted to hear that you really appreciated the Hotel above all the room with view on Rapallo, the friendly Staff and our Restaurant.

Thanking for your preference and hoping to welcome you back soon, we send you our warmest regards.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews