We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon at Portofino!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eight Hotel Portofino
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Portofino
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Honeymoon at Portofino!”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We went to Portofino for our honeymoon, we decided to stay at this Hotel and it was the best decision we made! We where in 5 diferent places for our honeymoon, but the stay at Eight Hotel at Portofino was the Best, the crew of the Hotel treat us very well and they made our stay unique and special.. Thanks to them this is going to be a place we will never forget!! Thank you Chistian, Manager of the Hotel, for everything!!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosama60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sleozappa, Manager at Eight Hotel Portofino, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.
It is a pleasure to read and share your nice comment with all the team. We are glad to have been able to offer you an unforgettable stay and we will obviously be looking forward to welcome you back on your next visit.
Thanks for making Eight Hotels part of your life on this special occasion.

Kindest Regards,

Christian Del Gatto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    61
    25
    6
    4
See reviews for
54
173
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

The room was nice but very small with a couch and chair between the bed and TV. Not much storage space for clothes etc. No views as far as I could tell, but very quiet at night, and right next to the bus stop. The staff was very helpful and polite. Breakfast was very nice with a formal setting. Room was made up twice a day plus bed turndown. A nice boutique hotel. I dont recommend more than 2 nights in Portofino, as there just is not that much to see. No fee for internet access. We visited in mid Oct, and we may have been the only guests staying, as the town pretty much shuts down at the end of Oct for the winter.

Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sleozappa, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Eight Hotel Portofino, responded to this review, 1 December 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Portofino and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Serafina Leozapp
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Beautiful if a little cold hotel. Modern and elegant. Lovely room with patio and lounge chairs and gorgeous breakfast area. Best was right in town, walking at night and early in the morning to feel like you "live" here..... Expensive, but got best rate and an upgrade through Small Luxury Hotels. Staff competent but less than warm/friendly except for the staff in the breakfast room who talked about the owner and the history of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sleozappa, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Eight Hotel Portofino, responded to this review, 1 December 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. Each member of our Staff has been individually selected from an elite pool in the hotel industry and you may find that some are more outgoing than others; however they are all polite and professional individuals who are eager to make your holidays at our hotel as enjoyable as possible. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Serafina Leozappa
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

The hotel is really nice and the staff was really helpful and friendly. The rooms are quite expensive but you are in Portofino and there are only 2 hotels walking distance from the harbour so I guess you have to pay for it ! But you also pay 14 euros for a beer so.....:) The room was made twice a day and was a good size though not as big as I was expecting.
All in all if a nice place to stay if you can afford it.

Room Tip: Be aware that there is a Eight Hotel next to Portofino called the Eight Hotel Paraggi and sometimes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

The only good feature about this hotel is that it in situated in Portofino. We had been booked into a room with a small terrace or balcony but while our room was nIce it did not have a balcony. This was written clearly on our printed itinerary by our travel agent and advertised on this hotels website. However I could not get anywhere with Reception and we realized that we just had to put up with this for the 3 nights we stayed. It was particularly annoying when I realised that the room next door was similar to ours but it had a balcony and there were one night stays in it while we were there. I cannot understand why we did not get this one.
The hotel website needs to be more accurate and informative and the staff more obliging! There is no view from the hotel and it is up the hill from this charming seaside village. The reception staff were not helpful and one member in particular had a very superior manner. There was no information in our room about hotel facilities or the points of interest in the area.
We were told when we arrived that breakfast was served in the rooftop garden everyday unless the weather was not fine. We had perfect weather each of our 3 mornings but not once during our stay was it there. Breakfast was indoors on the second floor with no explanation. It was basic in comparison to the other five hotels that we stayed in, in our 3 weeks in Italy.
I took photos of what was supposed to be the outdoor breakfast area ... It looked like it hadn't been used for a long time if ever! I wondered how 7 tables would be enough for 18 rooms. There is no bar or restaurant at the hotel.
We only had one pillow each and had to ask for another one as there were no extras in our room. During our stay we had to ask for soap and another towel because when our room was serviced they weren't replaced.
We paid 408 Euro ($570 AU) per night which was cheaper than most hotels in Portofino but still substantial and expected that our booking would have been honoured and for more genuine hospitality from Reception. It would have been better to stay in one on the nearby towns such as Santa Margarita where there are many more hotels and the private beaches are much more reasonably priced that the arrangement Eight Hotel had for its guests at 40 Euros ($56 AU) per person per day. There is an excellent ferry service hourly linking the 4 nearby towns of Rapello, Santa Margarita, Portofino and San Fruituoso. Don't bother to stay at Eight Hotel.

Room Tip: make sure before you arrive that you will get the room you actually booked
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annagram09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sleozappa, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Eight Hotel Portofino, responded to this review, 1 December 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We do apologize for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We regret that the staff at the Reception did not indicate to you that there was a Guest Directory in your room, providing information on hotel amenities and facilities as well as a list of excursions and activities in the area. Our comprehensive Guest Directory also states that if you need extra pillows, toiletries or have special requests, you are encouraged to contact the Concierge directly. One of the standards of Eight Hotel Portofino is to have a turndown service where used towels are replaced daily, however, as we also strive to be more environmentally conscious, only the towels on the floor are refreshed. During the spring and summer months we arrange outdoor breakfast service in our garden, however, we apologize that during your stay we underwent some maintenance issues which have been thankfully resolved. We regret that we were unable to make your stay in Portofino as enjoyable as possible and we would like to assure you that we have duly taken note of all the issues you mentioned and are presently working on improving the information on our website. At Eight Hotels we take great interest in your feedback and strive to continuously improve our services and ensure 120% customer satisfaction. Thank you and best regards from Portofino!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portofino
0.4 km away
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
#2 of 5 in Portofino
654 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#5 of 5 in Portofino
128 reviews
0.7 km away
Eight Hotel Paraggi
Eight Hotel Paraggi
#1 of 1 in Paraggi
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
888 reviews
4.6 km away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
3.5 km away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#5 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eight Hotel Portofino? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eight Hotel Portofino

Property: Eight Hotel Portofino
Address: Via del Fondaco 11, 16034 Portofino, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Portofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Portofino
Price range (per night): ₹ 37,344 - ₹ 75,143
Hotel Class:4 star — Eight Hotel Portofino 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style, liguria architecture and elegance are the key features of Eight Hotel Portofino, a wonderful example of the perfect combination of ancient tradition, modern technology and quality of service offered to our guests. Located just a few steps away from the world-wide famous “piazzetta”, the hotel offer its guests 18 uncommonly elegant and refined rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eight Hotel Portofino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
8 Hotel Portofino
San Giorgio Portofino
Hotel San Giorgio
San Giorgio Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing