We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
CTTours - Cinque Terre Private Tours and Shore Excursions
Save
Review Highlights
Private Full-Day Cinque Terre Five Villages Train Tour from La Spezia

This was by far the best day of our amazing 7 days of land excursions during our cruise. We... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Jae B
via mobile
Wonderful trip

Awesome tour! Eva and Dario our guides were both terrific. Very nice trip, lots of things to do... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Morena C
,
New York City, New York
Read all 314 reviews
  
Reviews (314)
Filter reviews
246 results
Traveller rating
213
19
4
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
213
19
4
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews umberto cattani great tour cinque terre day trip shore excursion ferry ride wonderful restaurant great knowledge food and wine ristorante belforte marble quarries via email avoid the crowds train station leaning tower of pisa would highly recommend this tour five towns
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 246 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This was by far the best day of our amazing 7 days of land excursions during our cruise. We received excellent communication from the company prior to the trip explaining in detail where to go and what to expect. Our guide, Luca, had grown up in the area and was very knowledgeable about it’s history. He arrived on time and talked to us about the many possibilities we could choose for the day. I love that we had the opportunity to customize the day to what interested us most and at what pace we were comfortable with. We decided to spend the day getting to know three of the five villages; Manarola, Monterosso and Vernaza, giving us time to enjoy a leisurely pace, have time for an amazing lunch and even get in a little shopping. We were blessed with a beautiful, sunny day for all the pictures we took and the unsurpassed beauty of the area, along with Luca’s friendly, upbeat demeanor and sense of humor, made for a day we will truly long remember! I would wholeheartedly recommend this trip (and Luca) to anyone. Well worth every penny!

Thank Jae B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Awesome tour!
Eva and Dario our guides were both terrific. Very nice trip, lots of things to do, the towns are small but full of life and things to do

Thank Morena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Thank you so much for making our trip memorable.
Our tour guide Constantine was fabulous.
He displayed great knowledge of the areas and was friendly.
Will definitely recommend doing the trip with Viator.

Thank Yamilka M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

Very fierce small towns. Cities are clean and pleasant to walk, because cities are not very big. Enables you to watch and enjoy your vacation

Thank susihunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2018 via mobile

With only one day to cover this amazing place, we are so glad to have had an amazing guide. Margherita (Maggie) gave us a terrific introduction to three of the five towns. As we walked through each city (and climbed a bit!), she gave us lots of information about the towns and the region — traditions, food, history, architecture and more. In addition to being incredibly knowledgeable, she was also a joy to spend time with. AND, she shared her husband’s “secret” recipe for Limoncino:-)

Thank Cliff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018

We had a fantastic day in Portovenere and the Cinque Terre. Our driver and guide Cristian was fantastic. He provided an excellent commentary from Livorno to La Spezia and beyond, even though my father and my son were fast asleep for much of the journey, we had a great chat about everything, not just the scenery.
We had plenty of time to explore the beautiful little towns and villages. We had booked a private boat tour to take us to Parnazza and this was well worth it. The proximity to the cliffs and stunning geological formations was incredible. Cristian booked us lunch at Belforte which was brilliant. The restaurant has a stunning view over the harbour and the seafood was incredible.
We managed to visit and have time for a walk around 4 of the 5 towns, but saw the fifth from several good vantage points. We managed to see the Leaning tour from the motorway which was an added bonus! as we did not specifically want to visit it.
Cristian had us back in Livorno in good time.
Great day can thoroughly recommend it!

Thank you Cristian!
Graeme

Thank Graeme1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2018

We are a group of 14, which includes 3 families with ages ranging from 6 to 67 years old. We booked our private tour independent of the Disney Magic and was able to accomplish so much more with our two drivers, Cristian and Luca, in two large vans. Our drivers were prompt and already waiting for us in Genoa and whisked us through the scenic and windy roads through the mountains and many tunnels. Some in our group had mobility challenges, so Umberto was able to plan an itinerary for us to visit 3 flat villages (Monterosso, Vernazza and Cornelia) plus Portovenere, while minimizing the walking. We were dropped off as close as possible and we able to independently explore the lovely towns and take in the breathtaking scenery. Cristian was very cognizant of the time and made sure that we got back to the ship on time too! There is no way we would have been able to accomplish so much had we booked something through the cruise ship. Grazie!

Thank princessminniemouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018

I took a tour from Florence to Cinque Terre, my experience was unforgettable and breathtaking when visiting the five colorful villages Riomaggiore, Manarola, Vernaza, Corniglia and Monterosso. The tour included a bus from Florence to La Spezia, then a train ride to Riomaggiore; a walking tour to Manarola, Monteroso, and Corniglia; and finally a boat ride to Vernazza. During the walking trails, you get to enjoy the ups and downs narrow trails, by overlooking cliffs and spectacular landscape and beaches. I liked all the towns because each one has something to offer to the tourist. The food is excellent, especially the pasta pesto, because they make their pesto sauce in the premises. Orange juice, lemonade and shakes are made of fresh fruits that the residents grow in their farms. I like the spectacular cliffs and mountain views, as well as the towns settled on the cliffs, the beaches. Vernazza is the prettiest of the villages for their extensive beaches, many restaurants and hotels. The people were nice and welcome you with a smile. The tour staff were very nice, helpful and knowledgeable of this place. . My best vacation was at Cinque Terre where I chose to celebrate my birthday. I have great memories of these picturesque villages located in the Mediterranean Sea. It's absolutely a must visit, and a place that you will like to re-visit.

Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018

Our family of 12 took a 9 hour tour to Cinque Terre. Our driver/guides were Christian and Luca. We had a wonderful day! Christian was such a knowledgeable and friendly guide. He thoroughly explained all of the details of the sights to us and answered all of our questions.
Christian even went above and beyond to take us to a local grocery store so that we could purchase some authentic Italian Olive Oil to bring home with us.
He took us to some excellent photo opportunities and even drove us by the Leaning Tower of Pisa on the way back for a picture.

Highly recommend! We had a wonderful experience!

Judy and Family from Alabama

1  Thank tongejudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

We sailed on the Symphony of the Seas in June 2018, and booked our group of 8 online through CT Tours several months in advance. I communicated with Umberto via email and he answered all my questions and arranged for us to have a wonderful day in Cinque Terre. Shuttle busses are provided in La Spezia from the cruise ship, and Umberto met us at the arrival station holding a sign with my name. His vehicle was late model, clean and in great condition. It was just the right size for our group of 8. Umberto is from the area and was able to provide us with a lot of history and information about La Spezie, Cinque Terre, and his home town of Carrara. He made a couple of stops along the way for photo ops. We combined our driving tour with a boat tour, which he arranged, and although we got onboard the boat in the 2nd town, the driver took the boat back to the first of the five towns and drove along the entire coastline. It was incredibly beautiful and relaxing! Umberto made a recommendation for a lunch spot - called ahead and made our reservations - and the view (and the food) was incredible! He made sure we were back at the cruise ship at the time we wanted - 5:30pm. We thoroughly enjoyed the day and highly recommend booking Umberto for a wonderful relaxing day seeing Cinque Terre.

3  Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews